We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fresh fish, ocean side dining”
Review of Restaurante Vivian

Restaurante Vivian
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Bar Scene, Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Open since 1980, Vivian Restaurant offers visitors the port of San Juan del Sur a selected menu of seafood cuisine of good taste and quality. Mrs. Vivian and her son, are the soul that guarantee customers good service and attention that Vivian Restaurant offers.
Golden, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fresh fish, ocean side dining”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

So far this has been the friendliest place to eat. The staff are friendly, smiling, smartly dressed and the service is very professional. I loved the fresh breaded fish, it was melt in the mouth good. You can't get closer to the ocean than sitting on the sand. Great value.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jo-Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    77
    29
    14
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rialto, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“They have one price and charge a different one”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Me and my husband went to eat at "Vivian RESTAURANT" and they have a "special Menu" at the front door. The manager convinced us to enter by giving us an special deal. But when we got the bill, he charged us for two dishes in one plate, when he offered us one plate with two dishes. The cake was like a rock and the food was bad AND DRY. The service from the waiter was nice. The manager is like a dictatorship, the employees are not aloud to contradict his words. The boy who served us knew that he offered one thing and charged for something else, but he could not say anything. Latin America looks bad thanks to people like this one in this restaurant. PLEASE DO NOT SUPPORT DICTAROTSHIPS

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sonia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managua, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Incredible noisy”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We were a big group drive by recomendation. Most of us are locals, so we get first hand recomendation. On August 27th, 2013 the restaurant have a keyboard and a singer playin music. It was so loud that I wasn't able to tell if they were any good. They were so loud that my cochlear bones hurted. I said that I can't stand that noise, but some of my group were already sitted and they wanted to see if he recomendations about food were true or not. So I decided to break the group and took my wife somewhere else for lunch. After leaving the place my ears were ringing.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Atmosphere
Helpful?
Thank Neville_A_Cross_V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“On the beach dining!”
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed eating on the beach overlooking the ocean. Appreciated the fact that Nicas filled the Nica owned restaurant unlike most tourist-filled places run by foreigners. The pescado entero was intriguing although a lot of work. It was quite warm as there was no wind tunnel. The waiters were very friendly and attentive.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GoldenBlue3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth
Level Contributor
717 reviews
292 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“Vivian”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

I fell in love with Vivian, the restaurant, immediately. It is a charming open-air restaurant on the beach. The staff is very attentive and friendly. During the week, there are few people dining and the staff take time to chat at length. They can do wonderful things with plantain and have a large menu of shrimp dishes and of course, ceviche that is out of this world.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurante Vivian also viewed

San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
 
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
 

Been to Restaurante Vivian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing