We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Non Stop Fun”
Review of Casa De Olas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa De Olas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I worked at this hostel for about 4 months from november onwards, never did i get home sick, it felt like family and old friends always, Fred and Carla were great and put up with most of our shananigans lol. Everything was convenient, the food was great, the alcohol was cheap and made so many life long friends. Will be going back one day for sure. Top 3 hostels i have ever been to.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MickyT2551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (425)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 425 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2014

Spent 3 nights at Casa De Olas and loved every minute of it!! The rooms are so clean and beds are comfy. The pool is great, the staff are great, the owners are great .. It's all great. Regular shuttles to town and the beach. Cooked breakfast each morning and always something yummy for family dinners. Had the best time here, was sad to leave! Is a party hostel but the bar closes at a reasonable hour so you can always sleep at night. Would definitely stay again!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Henelope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

The good stuff:
Good view, good pool and hangout spots.
Friendly staff (with a touch of "im the coolest guy in the world attitude"), and friendly owners.
If you want to party, this seems like a better place to stay than the naked tiger,
but i´d rather stay in town and go up there for drinks, its in the middle of nowhere, and i will never ever recommend anyone to stay here.

Why it was our worst stay in 3 months:
Bedbugs:
When we arrived we met a guy who got bedbugs in the dorm the night before.
We asked the owner what that was about, and they said they didnt know about
it and was going to "fix it". The claimed someone had recently brought it from Ometepe.
They claim that the plastic sheets on the matresses keeps the bedbugs away, and then they
spray the bedframes with toxins. But they dont do anything with the pillows, or the dorm itself which is crowded with bedbugs. We confirmed 6 out of 8/9 beds had bedbugs in our dorm.
They didnt shut down the dorm, because a lot of people dont care about the bugs because they are so drunk when they go to sleep. But people from our dorm found free beds in other dorms, meaning it must have spread around by now. After about a 100 bites we moved out and slept outside instead. After staying here we cleaned all our clothes and found bedbugs in our bags. Its really a hassle to get rid of, i wish i had never stayed here. We didnt pay for the beds
the night we stayed.

Lying owners
They are probably nice if you dont cross them, but they will lie straight in your face if you ask anything which they dont like answering. About the bedbugs, well, its a big problem, and other reviewers here claim it has been for a time. Also one guy said he got bitten the weekend before. The owner will pretend its not a problem.
In "the casa" they have rules about no music after 10/11p.m. Rules dont matter to the staff or the owners, they partied with full music and kept everyone in the dorm up til 2.am. Which is sort of expected for a party hostel on Sunday Funday. But when Fred (male owner) the next day get confronted about the music from one of the other guest and claim "we shut down around 10",
it really pisses you of.

They only serve breakfast (not great either), meaning you have to go to town to get food.
Or, you can order the worst chewiest empanadas you have ever tasted, only 50c..

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eirik R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casa-De-Olas, Owner at Casa De Olas, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Hi Eirik, thanks for your candid review and sorry it has taken so long to respond. you mentioned a couple of things that I can now provide you with an update one. The bed your referred to that had bedbugs was a top priority for us, the day after you brought this to our attention and you left the entire room was shut down, gutted and we are now int he process of installing 2 new windows to improve the natural light along with 3 brand new wooden and sealed beds along. we are confident this along with the spray and powder has solved the problem. in addition we are screening guests who have come fro the known trouble spots so reduce the chance that bed bugs are reintroduced. We have been open for 3 years and this was the first incident and hopefully the last.

The night you stayed there was a little extra noise and this has been addressed wight he staff, for clarity for all our guests last drinks are at 9:30pm and the bar closes at 10pm.

We have been trying to work out the best solution for lunch, as you know on most days everyone heads to town or beaches and its rare that we have a large contingent requiring lunch. We will continue to evaluate this as it does differ depending on who we have staying during any given week. We are always open to ideas and we will take your recommendation onboard.

Safe Travels,

CDO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Casa de Olas is just too much fun! From the moment we stepped in we were welcomed with open arms by the owners Carla and Fred, and the fantastic staff. Josh, Kirsti, Rich, Shae and Jazz are the best staff you can ask for. The view is incredible and the vibe is like no other. With big "family" dinners every night, its easy to meet friends for life. Cant wait to go back!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LudvigH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

If you don't mind having a drink and a bit of a party, definitely stay here! Everyone is super friendly, it's very secure and has guards at night. Prices are reasonable and I've had some of the most fun times ever whilst there! The view is absolutely amazing! Highly recommended.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank ThePiratesLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Great dinner served every night in exchange for a reasonable sum.

Beautiful view, located in the mountains outside the city.

Amazing owners and the rooms/beds are decent.

You got a crazy party place just next door, just head over there and return to your own bed when you've had enough.

Even if you stay at a hostel in town, you have to get on a transport to get to the beaches that surrounds the city.. so the location is not a problem here. They arrange several transports every day that goes to the city aswell.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

Absolutely loved this hostel! One of our favourites from the past three months of travelling. The setting is absolutely beautiful, and all the staff are super friendly ensuring they get to know all of the guests names etc. The owners Fred and Carla are amazing and so funny! It felt like you were part of the family we didn't want to leave!
Make sure to be there on a weekend for Sunday funday!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kersey17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
1.4 mi away
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
#23 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
299 reviews
5.2 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
1.4 mi away
Hostel Pachamama
Hostel Pachamama
#28 of 71 in San Juan del Sur
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
46.6 mi away
Hostel Esperanza
Hostel Esperanza
#16 of 71 in San Juan del Sur
152 reviews
1.6 mi away
Casa Oro Eco Hostel
Casa Oro Eco Hostel
#20 of 71 in San Juan del Sur
298 reviews
2.2 mi away
Casa Del Soul
Casa Del Soul
#7 of 71 in San Juan del Sur
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa De Olas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa De Olas

Address: Lot 6 Las Escaleras, San Juan del Sur 0000, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 71 Speciality Lodging in San Juan del Sur
Price Range: £8 - £34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa De Olas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa de Olas, is a unique place to stay, blending the best of Bed & Breakfast, hotel and hostel together to create the Casa de Olas experience. We are situated on a hilltop over-looking the town and bay of San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua. Our location provides endless views over the Pacific ocean with spectacular sunsets nightly. Casa De Olas is designed for the more discerning backpacker and budget travelers who are looking to find an oasis of luxury at affordable prices. In total we have 10 rooms and can accommodate a maximum of 75 guests at any one time. We have dorm rooms that can accommodate from 4-6 people with one room housing 14. Casa de Olas is designed for those traveling on a budget or in groups. All rooms are spacious with en-suites. We think staying a little out of town is the best way to experience all that San Juan del Sur and the surrounding area has to offer. Australian couple Fred and Carla are your hosts bringing a wealth of knowledge from their native land with a long resume in the hotel and restaurant industry. Fred and Carla are warm and always ready to give a recommendation. Take a look at our website, TripAdvisor and Facebook pages to find out more and we look forward to having you stay with us soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Casa De Olas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Olas Hotel San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing