We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best <3”
Review of Casa De Olas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa De Olas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We meant to stay 3 days and ended up staying 10. It was one of the most amazing weeks (and a half) of our lives. I have a severe allergy and they were always quick to accommodate. The place becomes home and the people become family. Every day was a new adventure and Fred and Carla are the most amazing people and were always quick to care for their wild pseudo children. I will definitely be going back sooner than later!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marielaileen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (425)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 425 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2014

If the crowd is right this place is amazing. Great staff, great breakfast, great dinners (altho you have to pay a premium for them), and great owners. Stayed here twice and never regretted it. Tries very hard not to be a super party hostel, and the owners put a lot of effort into making sure that is the case. The bar closes at 9:30pm and everyone who wants to party is urged to go elsewhere so the older folk can relax. Gret pool (altho one wishes it was a tad more blue than green). The Monday Night Roast is a delight for the long term travelers who are a bit home sick. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Pick a room towards the back if you can, away from the pool for maximum privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JustaPack2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Casa de Olas is a nice place. The owners and staff are friendly and helpful, the breakfast is pretty good, and the infinity pool is great. Nice place to relax. Bar closes around 11 so you can actually get some sleep. Found the rooms to be hot and muggy though -- they could use more fans and ventilation. Also didn't seem to be enough bathrooms for everyone. The hostel is a little outside of town, but their free shuttle service helps.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

The rating I want to give this place is amongst some of the best rated places that I have ever had the pleasure of staying at anywhere in the world.

Fred and Carla (Aussies) who own and run Casa De Olas are as friendly as they are professional and run the place with a family feel and nothing, truly nothing is too much of a problem. The feel is chilled and calmness running through every single person that arrives who just gets welcomed in the place with open arms and a cold beer.

The drinks are cheap and the food is great. The dorms (which I never normally stay in) are just exactly what you need with new fresh sheets every day and a wonderful decor and mighty fine mattresses.

The staff are superbly attentive and remember your name within seconds and even go as far as knowing when you need a top up. That for me gets this place part of its 100% rating.

The view is stunning down to the town about 2 km away and the internal services offered such as wifi and beach taxis and general helpfulness is spot on. Security is enough that at night you have no fear walkins who might "borrow" your stuff. That just does not happen here.

The day I arrived the place exploded into a Pool Party Tour and I saw it, frankly at its worst but it was still stunning. The vibe was fantastic with, well, um, semi naked cute girls in bikinis everywhere laughing, smiling and drinking. I was the oldest guy in the place by probably double but that didnt stop me from being smiled at and making new friends within minutes such was the vibe, albeit somewhat drunken.

After they left I saw in 15 minutes the place be cleaned and return to the chilled awesomeness that it is as I sit here by the pool and write this to you all with the recommendation to say 100% to stay here.

TIP - Get a cab here from the border for $25 and do not attempt to walk up the hill as it will kill you. Yes its out of town but the hostel next door Naked Tiger offers hard core party stuff if you want it.

Cab to town is $5 and I always stay at the beach but this place, wow, hell Im going to struggle to leave.

Dorms only but that makes not one jot of difference as everyone here is lovely. $14 across the board and fee huge breakfast. Also a Monday Roast at $7 is hugely wonderful.

In short, if you headed north south home or down , STAY HERE and you get to see the Monkey who was rescued as an baby.

Room Tip: Taxi up the hill from boarder for $24
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lazyblueskies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I worked at this hostel for about 4 months from november onwards, never did i get home sick, it felt like family and old friends always, Fred and Carla were great and put up with most of our shananigans lol. Everything was convenient, the food was great, the alcohol was cheap and made so many life long friends. Will be going back one day for sure. Top 3 hostels i have ever been to.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MickyT2551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Spent 3 nights at Casa De Olas and loved every minute of it!! The rooms are so clean and beds are comfy. The pool is great, the staff are great, the owners are great .. It's all great. Regular shuttles to town and the beach. Cooked breakfast each morning and always something yummy for family dinners. Had the best time here, was sad to leave! Is a party hostel but the bar closes at a reasonable hour so you can always sleep at night. Would definitely stay again!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Henelope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

The good stuff:
Good view, good pool and hangout spots.
Friendly staff (with a touch of "im the coolest guy in the world attitude"), and friendly owners.
If you want to party, this seems like a better place to stay than the naked tiger,
but i´d rather stay in town and go up there for drinks, its in the middle of nowhere, and i will never ever recommend anyone to stay here.

Why it was our worst stay in 3 months:
Bedbugs:
When we arrived we met a guy who got bedbugs in the dorm the night before.
We asked the owner what that was about, and they said they didnt know about
it and was going to "fix it". The claimed someone had recently brought it from Ometepe.
They claim that the plastic sheets on the matresses keeps the bedbugs away, and then they
spray the bedframes with toxins. But they dont do anything with the pillows, or the dorm itself which is crowded with bedbugs. We confirmed 6 out of 8/9 beds had bedbugs in our dorm.
They didnt shut down the dorm, because a lot of people dont care about the bugs because they are so drunk when they go to sleep. But people from our dorm found free beds in other dorms, meaning it must have spread around by now. After about a 100 bites we moved out and slept outside instead. After staying here we cleaned all our clothes and found bedbugs in our bags. Its really a hassle to get rid of, i wish i had never stayed here. We didnt pay for the beds
the night we stayed.

Lying owners
They are probably nice if you dont cross them, but they will lie straight in your face if you ask anything which they dont like answering. About the bedbugs, well, its a big problem, and other reviewers here claim it has been for a time. Also one guy said he got bitten the weekend before. The owner will pretend its not a problem.
In "the casa" they have rules about no music after 10/11p.m. Rules dont matter to the staff or the owners, they partied with full music and kept everyone in the dorm up til 2.am. Which is sort of expected for a party hostel on Sunday Funday. But when Fred (male owner) the next day get confronted about the music from one of the other guest and claim "we shut down around 10",
it really pisses you of.

They only serve breakfast (not great either), meaning you have to go to town to get food.
Or, you can order the worst chewiest empanadas you have ever tasted, only 50c..

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eirik R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casa-De-Olas, Owner at Casa De Olas, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Hi Eirik, thanks for your candid review and sorry it has taken so long to respond. you mentioned a couple of things that I can now provide you with an update one. The bed your referred to that had bedbugs was a top priority for us, the day after you brought this to our attention and you left the entire room was shut down, gutted and we are now int he process of installing 2 new windows to improve the natural light along with 3 brand new wooden and sealed beds along. we are confident this along with the spray and powder has solved the problem. in addition we are screening guests who have come fro the known trouble spots so reduce the chance that bed bugs are reintroduced. We have been open for 3 years and this was the first incident and hopefully the last.

The night you stayed there was a little extra noise and this has been addressed wight he staff, for clarity for all our guests last drinks are at 9:30pm and the bar closes at 10pm.

We have been trying to work out the best solution for lunch, as you know on most days everyone heads to town or beaches and its rare that we have a large contingent requiring lunch. We will continue to evaluate this as it does differ depending on who we have staying during any given week. We are always open to ideas and we will take your recommendation onboard.

Safe Travels,

CDO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
1.4 mi away
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
#23 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
299 reviews
5.2 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
1.4 mi away
Hostel Pachamama
Hostel Pachamama
#28 of 71 in San Juan del Sur
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
46.6 mi away
Hostel Esperanza
Hostel Esperanza
#16 of 71 in San Juan del Sur
152 reviews
1.6 mi away
Casa Oro Eco Hostel
Casa Oro Eco Hostel
#20 of 71 in San Juan del Sur
299 reviews
2.2 mi away
Casa Del Soul
Casa Del Soul
#6 of 71 in San Juan del Sur
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa De Olas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa De Olas

Address: Lot 6 Las Escaleras, San Juan del Sur 0000, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 71 Speciality Lodging in San Juan del Sur
Price Range: £8 - £34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa De Olas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa de Olas, is a unique place to stay, blending the best of Bed & Breakfast, hotel and hostel together to create the Casa de Olas experience. We are situated on a hilltop over-looking the town and bay of San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua. Our location provides endless views over the Pacific ocean with spectacular sunsets nightly. Casa De Olas is designed for the more discerning backpacker and budget travelers who are looking to find an oasis of luxury at affordable prices. In total we have 10 rooms and can accommodate a maximum of 75 guests at any one time. We have dorm rooms that can accommodate from 4-6 people with one room housing 14. Casa de Olas is designed for those traveling on a budget or in groups. All rooms are spacious with en-suites. We think staying a little out of town is the best way to experience all that San Juan del Sur and the surrounding area has to offer. Australian couple Fred and Carla are your hosts bringing a wealth of knowledge from their native land with a long resume in the hotel and restaurant industry. Fred and Carla are warm and always ready to give a recommendation. Take a look at our website, TripAdvisor and Facebook pages to find out more and we look forward to having you stay with us soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Casa De Olas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Olas Hotel San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing