We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just right for us!”
Review of El Pacifico Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
El Pacifico Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We really enjoyed this place, and its off-the-beaten-track location. It was affordable,simply decorated, yet charming and homey. With a pool, garden, and comfy restaurant. Wireless, of course. For us, nothing was lacking here, and the ten minute walk into town over the mini-golden-gate pedestrian bridge was just the right amount of exercise before dinner. Bring a flashlight for the walk back.

Room Tip: They all seemed fine to us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peach-Melber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2011

easy to access local night life and safely get back home. Beautiful room and amazing views from the balcony. Balcony is set back to allow privacy too. Had a great time!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xtremeSurfNica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We found this place by accident and decided to stay here because of their price, swimming pool and comfortable rooms. Breakfast is included but they also offer a variety of other options. It's nice because it is a calm place to stay outside San Juan but close enough. We also really enjoyed the pool after spending the day at the beach!

Our hosts were very nice and we would most definitely stay there once again when in San Juan.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatSM12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2011

June 18-July 3

We didn't stay at the hotel this trip, we rented a home in SJDS. We met Kerstin who was the property manager of the home we rented and her husband Clemens picked us up at the airport. We used Clemens as our driver for around town and sightseeing. We highly recommend using him as a guide/driver.; he is very knowledgeable about the area. He took us on several trips to Granada, Lake Nicaragua, Monboncho (the rainforest) and the old market in Masaya. Living in SJDS for 20 years makes Clemens an excellent guide.

Have dinner at the El Pacifico; there was four of us and each meal was excellent. Great caipirinha's! We caught fish and Kerstin made it several ways and was most enjoyable.

We will return to visit Kerstin and Clemens and the friends we made during our trip.
Debbie & Pete Pawlowski

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank awayfromhome12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2011

The owners of this hotel are German and very solid. They built the hotel and have been there for many years. Their knowledge of Nicaragua is incredible.

The hotel is a short, easy walk to the beach and town. The rooms are simple, clean and have all the comforts you need.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dibblee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2011

My wife and I have been to San Juan Del Sur many times and would not consider staying anywhere else than the El Pacifico Hotel. It is located right outside of town, close enough to walk to town and back within 10min. In town at night can be a little nosiey at times, especially late at night. Its quiet at the hotel for a good nights rest.There is always someone on the grounds and safe enough to leave your door unlocked if you were to forget to lock up. The German couple that runs it, have been there 20yrs. and have a wealth of knowledge of the area. The food is excellent and they have a pick up service and return service from the airport so that you are not driving in the traffic of Managa.

Room Tip: The west side rooms have early morning sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ghoffa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2011

When we stayed here we felt like we were part of the family. It is a nice quiet hotel off the beaten path but close enough to the town "Center" that you can walk easily there on the beach. The morning coffee hour/breakfast could have lasted all day starting the day right with good conversation and information. The owners are originally from Germany but have been in Nicaragua since the early 1990's and are definitely the go to people for info and advice about this country. We will be returning to San Juan and will stay nowhere else but Hotel Pacifico.
The rates are reasonable, the food is good, the drinks are cheap, the rooms are newly renovated and clean, and the staff is very friendly and accommodating. What more could you want.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davedeak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
2.2 mi away
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
#4 of 4 in Playa Marsella
152 reviews
2.6 mi away
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
#23 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
302 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel & Resort Palermo
Hotel & Resort Palermo
#11 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Barrio Cafe Hotel
Barrio Cafe Hotel
#6 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
236 reviews
8.7 mi away
Parque Maritimo el Coco
Parque Maritimo el Coco
#1 of 1 in Playa El Coco
124 reviews
0.8 mi away
HC Blau Mar Hostel & Hotel
HC Blau Mar Hostel & Hotel
#16 of 55 in San Juan del Sur
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Pacifico Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Pacifico Hotel

Address: Bario La Talanguera, San Juan del Sur 06667, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan del Sur
Price Range: £25 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — El Pacifico Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UNDER NEW OWNERSHIP, the El Pacifico Hotel has a long history of quiet comfort in San Juan del Sur. Located 3 min from the beach and an easy 15 min walk along the bay to town, the El Pacifico Hotel offers easy access to all the restaurants, bars, surf shops, market, and shopping, without the noise that comes with being in town. Gated compound with a night guard, a pool, a/c, hot water, and cable TV are available, as well as a "by request" lunch and dinner menu. Continental breakfast is included with your room, and larger breakfast dishes are available for purchase. Hang out at the rancho with a cold beer and meet people from all over the world! We have 2 rooms at hostel rates (no ac, hot water or tv), and weekly and monthly discounts for all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your El Pacifico Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing