We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful quiet property”
Review of El Pacifico Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
El Pacifico Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Seaforth, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful quiet property”
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Our family of 4 stayed here for 3 nights in Nov/Dec 2012. We specifically asked for rooms without a/c and got 2 nice rooms with good fans and a nice breeze for a great price! The rooms were large and nicely decorated. We enjoyed being a little outside of the hustle and bustle of San Juan del Sur for the peacefulness of it. It was a nice 15 min walk into the main part of town, which we did multiple times throughout the day, either down tree-lined quiet residential streets or along the beach. We often enjoyed the beach just a couple of blocks from the hotel, instead of going to the main area near the restaurants. We enjoyed the home-cooked meals at the hotel restaurant the two times we ate there (once for breakfast and once for supper). There was a nice, clean and well-maintained pool that the kids really enjoyed, as well. When we go back to San Juan del Sur we will stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank familyof4adventurers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    21
    6
    4
    5
See reviews for
14
37
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woodstock, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013 via mobile

This was an excellent and comfortable hotel. We spent 2 weeks there and really enjoyed our stay it is about 20 to 25 minutes walk into the centre of SJDS across the pedestrian bridge which we did twice a day - once into classes at noon and again for the evening. We felt safe walking at all times. This was an ideal spot for us and we enjoyed talking to our hosts. Great meals!

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Woodstock_CanadaLand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managua
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2013

The rooms are clean and they have fans and an ac unit, and hot showers. The owners are on site and are friendly and helpful. They know San Juan very well. The restaurant has simple home cooking. The food is good. There is a small clean pool. You can walk into town about in 15 minutes. Its much quieter than staying in the town especially for the big local holidays. It has a relaxing atmosphere. When coming to Nicaragua a tourist should consider how crowded this town is on national holidays. It depends if you like crowds and loud music or not. I think this hotel is always peaceful because of its location.

Room Tip: First floor gets better water pressure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansing, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
491 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2013

More like a motelish place, El Pacifico fit the bill. Inexpensive place that is just out of town.You have to walk a ways to get into town across the ped. bridge. That is just fine because you wont get the noise and you get exercise on the walk. Beach is close by also.I choose not to swim here at the beach because of the prox to the out flowing dirty river.There are much better beaches elsewhere. We used the mostly empty pool which was really nice. You can hang out on the nice grounds they have.We chose the basic room w/o air.tv/hot water.The fans were fine but it can get a liitle stuffy at the heat of the day. We are not in the room much at that time.Breakfast is free basic juice, great coffee or tea,and toast/jam. You can upgrade to better breakfasts which we did on a day or two. Priced good and cooked well.The owners are usually around to help you with info.They have a book exchange library and coolers to borrow.Water and beers to buy if needed.The construction on a place next door is quite annoying but the hotel cannot control that.Hike to Jesus is just up the hill.They have security at nite and the walk through the area late could cause some people to be nervous, we really never felt that safety was any concern at anytime.We would stay here again.

Room Tip: basic rooms do not have hot water..so know that.We didnt need air. even got a little cool at night a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Ga
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2013

I am a general fan of Nicaragua. I have been going regularly since 2009. I go there to work at a children's home and have started a tradition of taking the college kids of the home on a little vacation. Last time we went to Ometepe but this year we decided on SDS. I had 3 college kids, my interpreter and his wife and 3 N Americans. My interpreter suggested El Pacifico Hotel. Kerstin and Clemens are such great hosts. They were helpful in every way. Kerstin serves an amazing curry, and everything is very clean. The location is great and just a very short walk to the beach and town. We will definitely return. I hope they can handle us next year. There will be about 5 college kids.....

Room Tip: All the rooms are great but the ones without the AC and hot water have the most charm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iloove2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Costa Rica
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2012

we just saw this place coming back down from the jesus statue and thought we woud chance it coz it looked like it was out of our budget but luckily and unbelievable it was´nt.

friendly staff. lovely affordable rooms. nice swimming pool area and also close to the beach. its ideal!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaron F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Great people nice food you will enjoy your stay. We will return often? Beach is within walking distance as so is the town. Taxi service to local towns at a reasonable price. The owners also offer pick up service as well as return service to the Airport for a reasonable fee.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicadennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
2.2 mi away
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
#3 of 4 in Playa Marsella
148 reviews
0.8 mi away
El Jardin Hotel
El Jardin Hotel
#8 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
232 reviews
1.3 mi away
Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort
Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort
#10 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
#22 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
284 reviews
0.8 mi away
Barrio Cafe Hotel
Barrio Cafe Hotel
#5 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
224 reviews
0.3 mi away
HC Liri Hotel
HC Liri Hotel
#1 of 52 in San Juan del Sur
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Pacifico Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Pacifico Hotel

Property: El Pacifico Hotel
Address: Bario La Talanguera, San Juan del Sur 06667, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — El Pacifico Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UNDER NEW OWNERSHIP, the El Pacifico Hotel has a long history of quiet comfort in San Juan del Sur. Located 3 min from the beach and an easy 15 min walk along the bay to town, the El Pacifico Hotel offers easy access to all the restaurants, bars, surf shops, market, and shopping, without the noise that comes with being in town. Gated compound with a night guard, a pool, a/c, hot water, and cable TV are available, as well as a "by request" lunch and dinner menu. Continental breakfast is included with your room, and larger breakfast dishes are available for purchase. Hang out at the rancho with a cold beer and meet people from all over the world! We have 2 rooms at hostel rates (no ac, hot water or tv), and weekly and monthly discounts for all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your El Pacifico Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing