We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location / basic accommodation”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Matilda's

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Juan del Sur
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Matilda's
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great location / basic accommodation”
Reviewed 17 January 2014

You can't beat the secluded location of Matilda's, right on the beach about 10 mins by foot north of Playa Maderas. The property has a number of different accommodation options - camping, perms-tents (little low rise huts like doghouses), dorms and private rooms.

We stayed in a private room with ensuite and paid $25 per night. The place is a bit tired and the knick-knacks and air fresheners are a bit much. But it's clean and the owners are reasonably friendly. Aside from the lovely stretch of beach out front and one beach over, there are multiple places to sit and relax at Matilda's. There is a very basic communal kitchen (not very clean though - especially the mini-fridge) and there is also a little snack hut run by Matilda's sisters just next to the property. Great coffee and beans/rice/plantano!

Our only caution would be that reservations are not guaranteed. We called ahead a week before our arrival and made a reservation (knowing that the festive season would likely be very busy) for two dorm beds (the only option available) for 4 nights. Upon arrival, we were told that they could not honour our reservation as the previous night's occupants in the dorm had decided to extend their stay. Our only option was to wait a couple of hours until noon to see if the reservation being held for a private room would arrive. Fortunately, the guests did not arrive, and we were able to secure the room for our stay.

Since options are limited at this end of the beach, it would have been very difficult to find somewhere else to stay. There are a few higher-end resorts as well as campgrounds in the area, but neither were options for us due to budget and gear limitations. Be prepared to make the trek back to San Juan del Sur if you arrive to find Matilda's fully booked!

We'd also recommend that you stock up on any supplies that you wish to enjoy at the beach, as there is no grocery store once you leave San Juan del Sur. The snack hut sells water, beer, soft drinks and candy, but with a healthy mark-up. Better to buy everything in town if you're on a tight budget.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank eatrunsee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    12
    6
    4
    3
See reviews for
2
14
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Fantastic place to relax and enjoy that fabulous beach. Rooms are nice and fairly clean. Matilda is friendly and helpful.. and they do help protect the turtles that nest on the beach. Don't forget to explore around as well..

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fabrizio P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leon, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
83 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

This lovely hostel and camping area is located one a spectacular beach, Majagual, and abutting two others - the first is Playa Maderas which is more of a party/surfing spot. and the second is hidden and unmarked (walk down the street away from the beach and take a left, you'll find it). The second beach is perfect for sunsets. The hostel itself is run by a lovely family and is clean, kitchy and comfortable (I stayed in a private with private bath) and has lovely hammocks on the private porch. Divine! The area is hard to reach (around US $18 for a cab from san juan del sur) but it's worth it - bring supplies like cigarettes and water from san juan del sur. this area is so remote the prices are $$$$! Dinner options are limited but walkable and good.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank International_Mel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynnwood, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
134 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Lucky me there is Camping Matilda’s right on the light brown sandy beach and run by an extremely lovely lady. I paid100 Córdoba’s or $4US per night for me and my tent. She has a wide variety of basic accommodation. Guest also has the use of a basic kitchen with a gas stove; small refrigerators are available for a little extra charge. There is an extremely agreeable family run restaurant just up the street they also rent surfboards. You can park an RV (no hookups) in the secure parking lot but with the road being exceedingly narrow and what it is I would not try a long one. It has a beautiful surfing and swimming beach. I highly recommend this place. There is a five unit Castaways place next door as well. I will be staying here for a while. The only internet is in down the beach and in San Juan.
I get to hear the constant soothing rhythm of the ocean waves washing up on the shore; the salty taste to the sea breeze as it blows, watching the sea birds diving for their dinner, lizards scurrying about the sand and up the trees, the hurried scamper of the hermit crabs by the hundreds. I hear the chiming of the seashells that have been strung together and decorate the palapa’s along the beach. I have seen an assortment of different colored butterflies that flit and dart about, hear the laughter and screams of enjoyment from the people playing in the waves, watching sandcastles being washed away, children discovering treasures in the sand, white puffy clouds that dance across the sharply contrasting vivid blue sky. I hear birds all over but have not been able to photograph very many and then there are even monkeys darting about the trees, all of this in the rhythm of a day at the beach here at Playa Majagual.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managua
1 review
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We planned to stay 2 night at Matilda's. We found the bathroom dirty with hairs in the shower. She clean it after we complain. The day after we asked for a change of linen BUT she said, NO we don't change linen if you don't stay at least 4 nights. WHAT??? I asked if we can check out and check in again and she replied she could help us to find a new hotel where are clean linen.

I don't know how can survive such kind of buisness nowadays.

ByeBye Matilda, no more at your place.

Room Tip: CASTAWAY ... the one before Matilda.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaoloManagua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Juan del Sur hotels

Granada, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

I love Matilda's and have stayed 4 times now. Once camping $5, once in one of their small $7 'dog houses' and once in a $9 dorm. I have never been disappointed. Majagual is by far one of my favorite beaches, with not a lot of people (if any at all) and a beautiful cliff with caves to explore. The rooms are clean and the camping area is incredible, with access to facilities and is very secure and a great view of the beach (Im not sure where the last reviewer stayed, but it doesnt sound like this spot). The hostel is owned by Nicaraguan's, which is a nice change and I like supporting local businesses. It is true that they may not speak a lot of english, but the service was incredible nevertheless. It is a peaceful place with a homey atmosphere and a nice place to get away. It is a great change from other party driven hostels, but you can also have a good time. We had a bonfire and brought a cooler of beer and had a great night. During the high season they open a small restaurant on the beach where I had the best lobster I have ever had, at a super reasonable price. The last time I went (2 days ago) they werent open because there isn't enough traffic going through. I was disappointed, but I will be back in the high season for some more!

Room Tip: The $7 room are very short and they kind of look like big dog houses. They are good for the price, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lnmckaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2013

I had the pleasure of spending three great nights out at Matilda's recently and want to thank them for creating a super sweet spot to chill and get away from it all. If you are looking for a cool getaway that is affordable ($9 a night with private bath!), clean and comfy (no bugs,clean sheets, good fans), and right on the beach (killer body surfing right out front) then this is the place.
Yeah, the beer is ice cold and cheap and the food is homemade and local. What more do you want? Oh, waves lapping on the beach and monkeys in the trees...got that here too.
If you want to stay near Maderas and get out of SJSD this is a great choice for a relaxing, romantic getaway. Walk 10 minutes and you are surfing Playa Maderas and having apres beers with the fun crew at Revolucion an 3 Hermanos (both friendly, cool spots).
Have a good time! Thank me later:)

Room Tip: Learn to speak at least passable espanol. the dormitorio rooms are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Troy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
0.0 mi away
Rancho Cecilia Nicaragua
Rancho Cecilia Nicaragua
#3 of 3 in Playa Maderas
142 reviews
0.7 mi away
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
#4 of 4 in Playa Marsella
142 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Bahia Hotel
Casa Bahia Hotel
#3 of 4 in Playa Marsella
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Casa Maderas Ecolodge
Casa Maderas Ecolodge
#1 of 7 in Playa Maderas
284 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hostal Villa Mar
Hostal Villa Mar
#1 of 1 in Playa Marsella
34 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hostel Pachamama
Hostel Pachamama
#26 of 73 in San Juan del Sur
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matilda's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matilda's

Property: Matilda's
Address: Playa Maderas, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 73 Speciality Lodging in San Juan del Sur
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Matilda`s Hotel San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing