We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Matilda's
Nearby Hotels
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa(San Juan del Sur)
US$257
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$220
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel & Resort Palermo(San Juan del Sur)(Great Value!)
US$136
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$123
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$469
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$394
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Victoriano(San Juan del Sur)(Great Value!)
US$123
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort(San Juan del Sur)
US$42
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$39
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
El Jardin Hotel and Restaurant(San Juan del Sur)(Great Value!)
US$76
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$53
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Bahia Hotel(Playa Marsella)(Great Value!)
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Costa Dulce(San Juan del Sur)(Great Value!)
US$172
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Alcazar(San Juan del Sur)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (36)
Filter reviews
36 results
Traveller rating
11
12
6
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
11
12
6
4
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 36 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

Matilda's is a great spot as it is far enough away from the main surf spot. It is quiet, clean, and run by a nice enough family. The rooms are priced in accordance with other beach front accommodation. The doghouses, or casitas, are the best bang for your buck as they are essentially private rooms with a double bed, private fan, and reading light. At this time it was $8 a night. There is an open, spacious kitchen but limited access to the fridge! Lots of comfy hammocks and an almost private beach! Will be back!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Jocelyne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Matilda's would be a great hostel with it's cute garden-like atmosphere and the great location but the owner managed to ruin completely our stay there. We have never experienced such an unfriendly "service". Every time we asked something she just answered in one or two words and we felt all the time like she didn't really want us there. The hostel has also some very weird rules. E.g. 1) We weren't allowed to use the communal kitchen though they had one and clearly some other people (maybe staying for a longer time) used it. 2) They had two locked bookshelves full of books that looked like travelers had left them there. Normally in a hostel it's possible to change books if you have one of your own to leave in exchange. Well here it wasn't possible, so it looked like the books were just collecting dust there. 3) When you have checked out you are not allowed on the property anymore. Starting sharp at 10 o'clock. 4) if you bring a friend to the property who isn't staying there he or she must pay $20. OK, these rules weren't making the atmosphere better but we could live with them. What really ruined our stay was this: After we checked out we left our bags at the luggage storage and understood that it was OK if we picked them up the next day in the afternoon (we were planning to stay over at friends place near by). Well we were wrong. When we came to pick up our backpacks she was really angry and started to yell at us because we had left them there overnight. We also made the BIG mistake of using the toilet and this pissed her of even more. When we tried to reason with here she just repeated (in Spanish) "this is not a public toilet". We had to pay extra money for the toilet and to get our backpacks back. My girlfriend ended up crying because of her behavior and we left the hostel feeling very sad. It is really amazing how a person like this can run a hostel.. Can't really recommend this place to anyone unless the owner changes or she takes a long look in the mirror..

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

You can't beat the secluded location of Matilda's, right on the beach about 10 mins by foot north of Playa Maderas. The property has a number of different accommodation options - camping, perms-tents (little low rise huts like doghouses), dorms and private rooms.

We stayed in a private room with ensuite and paid $25 per night. The place is a bit tired and the knick-knacks and air fresheners are a bit much. But it's clean and the owners are reasonably friendly. Aside from the lovely stretch of beach out front and one beach over, there are multiple places to sit and relax at Matilda's. There is a very basic communal kitchen (not very clean though - especially the mini-fridge) and there is also a little snack hut run by Matilda's sisters just next to the property. Great coffee and beans/rice/plantano!

Our only caution would be that reservations are not guaranteed. We called ahead a week before our arrival and made a reservation (knowing that the festive season would likely be very busy) for two dorm beds (the only option available) for 4 nights. Upon arrival, we were told that they could not honour our reservation as the previous night's occupants in the dorm had decided to extend their stay. Our only option was to wait a couple of hours until noon to see if the reservation being held for a private room would arrive. Fortunately, the guests did not arrive, and we were able to secure the room for our stay.

Since options are limited at this end of the beach, it would have been very difficult to find somewhere else to stay. There are a few higher-end resorts as well as campgrounds in the area, but neither were options for us due to budget and gear limitations. Be prepared to make the trek back to San Juan del Sur if you arrive to find Matilda's fully booked!

We'd also recommend that you stock up on any supplies that you wish to enjoy at the beach, as there is no grocery store once you leave San Juan del Sur. The snack hut sells water, beer, soft drinks and candy, but with a healthy mark-up. Better to buy everything in town if you're on a tight budget.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank eatrunsee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Fantastic place to relax and enjoy that fabulous beach. Rooms are nice and fairly clean. Matilda is friendly and helpful.. and they do help protect the turtles that nest on the beach. Don't forget to explore around as well..

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fabrizio P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

This lovely hostel and camping area is located one a spectacular beach, Majagual, and abutting two others - the first is Playa Maderas which is more of a party/surfing spot. and the second is hidden and unmarked (walk down the street away from the beach and take a left, you'll find it). The second beach is perfect for sunsets. The hostel itself is run by a lovely family and is clean, kitchy and comfortable (I stayed in a private with private bath) and has lovely hammocks on the private porch. Divine! The area is hard to reach (around US $18 for a cab from san juan del sur) but it's worth it - bring supplies like cigarettes and water from san juan del sur. this area is so remote the prices are $$$$! Dinner options are limited but walkable and good.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank International_Mel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews