We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Survivor Nicaragua”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa Ariki

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa Ariki
Rockland, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
“Survivor Nicaragua”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

Baldo and Sarah were absolutely wonderful, and fun to talk with. Clean rooms with air-condition and a shared bathroom make for a great place to stay, and all that within walking distance from everywhere.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tatarataa, Owner at Casa Ariki, responded to this review, 21 October 2014
Thanks for staying with us and for the review! We hope to host you again someday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    20
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
6
38
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Two Rivers, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Sarah and Baldo are some of the best people we've met and they've made Casa Ariki welcoming/clean/quiet/comfortable, in an ideal location walkable to everything, and made for a perfect first week in SJdS. Feel lucky to have found them and their place.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JWPRU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liberia, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Friendly and helpful owners, nice and clean rooms, peaceful location. Fan and shared bathroom with double bad was $25. Definitely a good value at peak season in SJDS - a night before we stayed in a loud dump on the main street where we paid $20

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natanos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puyallup, WA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

Baldo & Sarah were friendly & helpful. 'Good ideas on what to do ('Lined up a pickup, to take us to Playa Hermosa for the afternoon & sunset). Our room was small, bath was shared. Balcony with view of surrounding mountains was a great place to watch the sunrise.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oaxaca, Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

I had the great joy of staying at Casa Ariki for a month at the very start of my travels, in May 2013. It was absolutely the perfect place to stay in SJDS! Quiet and clean and warm, I felt very well looked after and yet had lots of my own space. It is the perfect location within close walking distance to the beach and town, but far enough away to have peace and quiet to enjoy the summer rainstorms and a good night's sleep. For any fellow yogis, it is also just around the corner from Zen Yoga so it's easy to get to the early classes there (also highly recommended!)
Sarah and Baldo are two of the sweetest people you would ever like to meet, and Baldo's repelling trip and surfing lessons are not to be missed.
I can't recommend it highly enough, I only hope one day I get a chance to go back and spend more time there.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nomadnaturopath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SurferNica, Owner at Casa Ariki, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Thanks for your great review! We appreciate you picked Casa Ariki for your long stay in San Juan del Sur.
We also hope one day you will come back and visit us again.

Welcome To The Tribe!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Great place to stay in San Juan del Sur. The staff, Sarah, Baldo, and Mateo are very friendly, nice people and very knowledgeable about the best beaches to visit in the area and restaurants/bars to hit up. The room and bathroom was very clean. Room comes with option of AC or ceiling fan and Free WiFi. Within walking distance to all the best restaurants/surf shops/ and bars in town. Very Affordable. Safe. Highly recommend. Gracias for enjoyable experience in San Juan!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlos V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

THE PLACE to stay in San Juan.
Artfully arranged by a young professional couple. These two will give you the real scoop about where to go and what activities to plan with out the gimmicks! Pay a visit to Jesus on the cliffs at the rim of the bay and repel down with the owner of Casa Aiki. You will be in good hands and also learn some of the history about San Juan Del Sur. Rather be in the water catching a wave?

They got that covered also, the owners are up to date on the best breaks and have been instrumental in hosting the central america surf competition here in NIcaragua.
Great comfort and value, friendly staff and night watchman.
Must see the bonsai plants and enjoy a cold beverage on the upper balcony!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skyblue333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Victoriano
Hotel Victoriano
#12 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barrio Cafe Hotel
Barrio Cafe Hotel
#3 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alcazar
Hotel Alcazar
#11 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rositas Hotel
Rositas Hotel
#8 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.7 mi away
HC Liri Hotel
HC Liri Hotel
#1 of 54 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostel Pachamama
Hostel Pachamama
#26 of 73 in San Juan del Sur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Ariki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Ariki

Property: Casa Ariki
Address: From the Municipal Market, 2.5 blocks South | Del Mercado Municipal, 2.5 cuadras al Sur, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only two and a half blocks from the municipal market of San Juan del Sur and only three blocks from the bay, Casa Ariki is a home away from home. With five private rooms and beds for up to 17 people, we offer a laid-back environment to relax and enjoy your time in San Juan del Sur to the fullest! In addition to comfortable accommodations, Casa Ariki has free Wi-Fi, a guest kitchen, a common area with boardgames, books and magazines to borrow, a balcony on the second floor with an incredible view of the town's rooftops, free coffee from Matagalpa and friendly staff. Want to rappel down a cliff, surf, ride horses or view the ocean from the tree tops? No problem! Our staff can set up rappelling tours, surf lessons, beach transport, horseback riding, canopy (zip line) tours, fishing and much more! We're sure that when the time comes to check out, you will leave Casa Ariki reluctantly, wanting to come back again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Casa Ariki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing