We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Almost perfect”
Review of Pan De Vida

Pan De Vida
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Takeout
Description: Pan De Vida is your brick oven bakery! We offer a fine selection of hand crafted artisan breads and sweets. Make your own pizza at the Saturday night pizza party, order a special occasion cake and don't forget the famous chocolate chip cookies!
montpellier
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Almost perfect”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

The bread and the bakeries are excellent, the only bad point is the service. The only man working there doesn t know how to say hello, thank you and goodbye, even in spanish ! We went there few times and we really feel like bothering him ! Otherwise the cinamon rolls, the garlic bread and the carrot cake were delicious. Try that as soon as posible !

  • Visited June 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hola108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    42
    18
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good bread bad service”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I live in San Juan del sur and only come to pan de vida for the occasional loaf of bread. I would come more often if the staff were a more pleasant to deal with. The bread is good, but the service is not.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mommabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
101 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“It is actually that good...”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I read about Pan de Vida in Lonely Planet and then stumbled upon it while wandering through town. My friend and I decided that we should sample some goodies, and picked out a cinnamon roll, apple cake, and banana bread. And every bite of it was delicious.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoTravelingNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
158 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“What a find!”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

A wood fired oven to bake bread?! Who would have thought you would find it in a surfer town in Nicaragua. But indeed it does exist. And the bread is wonderful. Everything from banana bread, to French bread, to cinnamon rolls. Stop in for coffee and a roll before you start your day!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MelissaDaveSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Köln, Deutschland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing banana/chocolate bread”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

We had to try this bakery after reading all the great comments about it.
The banana/chocolate bread was definitely amazing, especially as it was still warm. But the chocolate muffin wasn't good at all! It tasted like nothing, which was pretty disappointing...
Prices are high for local standards.

Helpful?
Thank Tine903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pan De Vida also viewed

San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
 
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
 

Been to Pan De Vida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing