We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location and value.”
Review of La Estacion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Estacion
Ranked #27 of 27 Hotels in San Juan del Sur
Piedmont North Carolina
Level Contributor
166 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Location and value.”
Reviewed 26 November 2011

I know I swore that I would never go back to San Juan del Sur, but I accompanied a friend who assured me some things had changed since my last visit about 5 years ago. The road from Rivas is now paved, so travel time is cut in half. The town is much cleaner. There are some new restaurants that are quite good (Meson Espanol, for example). It is still not a place I would choose to visit. "Vibrant street life"? Really? If you like beer joints, old hippies (and young hippie wannabes), backpackers, etc., then I suppose you will find this perfect. It's just not my "scene".
As for this hotel, I have no complaints and it is far superior to the one I stayed in previously and actually priced lower. The reviews here are also accurate with regards to location, views, comfort, staff, breakfast, price, air-conditioning, hot water, etc.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have two balconies (or wrap-around) if you like to watch what's going on in the str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank phil2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    16
    12
    7
    4
See reviews for
8
21
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 October 2011

I did my reservation online and it was very safe and easy to do! they have shuttle service to the airport for a low cost so that was a plus, once I got there, I found a very nice service from the front desk clerk and the personnel, the rooms are very clean and they have a very good breakfast in the restaurant that it's already included on the rate! I pretty much like the place, it;s just in the middle of the main attractions!

Room Tip: Rooms on the ocean front have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2011

This place has excellent value. Breakfast is included at a restaurant across the road. our room was huge and with a double balcony overlooking the sunsets, beach and vibrant SJDS strip. The room is super clean - the cleaner actually moves the bed to sweep and mop under it. There's hot water. There is a tv with loads of chanels. The bed is big and comfy. They will do laundry. The staff is super friendly and helpful. We enjoyed ourselves very much!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvonnkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2011

We got this hotel after selecting a bad hotel the first night. We stayed here 4 nights as we enjoyed it so much. We felt spoiled with the top floor, corner unit with wrap around balcony overlooking the beach!

Air conditioning worked well, but the ocean breeze through both balconies was great as well! Bed was a Kingsize and super comfortable. It was super clean which was very nice. The lady who cleaned went out of her way to do a great job!

The staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was included at a restaurant in the beach across the street which was also good. You get your choice of meals.

The location is perfect! Right in the centre of everything across the street from the beach!! We have nothing negative to say about our room and experience.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellingHerbalist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Encanto del Sur
Hotel Encanto del Sur
#26 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
3.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Dolce Vita
Hotel La Dolce Vita
#20 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barrio Cafe Hotel
Barrio Cafe Hotel
#4 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Victoriano
Hotel Victoriano
#12 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rositas Hotel
Rositas Hotel
#9 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alcazar
Hotel Alcazar
#11 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Estacion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Estacion

Property: La Estacion
Address: Calle Costera | Ave. Central, Zona Costera, San Juan del Sur, San Juan del Sur 2568-2304, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 27 Hotels in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — La Estacion 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your La Estacion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing