We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location.....good view of beach”
Review of La Estacion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Estacion
Ranked #26 of 27 Hotels in San Juan del Sur
central america
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“great location.....good view of beach”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

I had a 3rd floor room with a good view of the beach. However, the balcony was shared by all other 3rd floor guests and the stairs were narrow and steep. The service was average at best and the main desk was often left unattended permitting anyone to enter and walk up to the rooms

Room Tip: Always ask to see the rooms before checking in
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CentralAmericaRover2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    16
    12
    7
    4
See reviews for
8
21
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Stayed 3 nights at this hotel. Besides its location, nothing else is good.
In particular, the windows (as well as the door) provide NO sound insulation at all, so every sound (and I mean EVERY sound) of the street, including the steps of people walking, will be distinctly heard in the room, making it impossible to rest, let alone to sleep... and believe me, that area of San Juan del Sur is really noisy during almost the whole night...

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luisito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Juan del Sur hotels

Galway, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

It seemed kind of appropriate that this hotel was named in honour of a railway that no longer exists, because it certainly seemed to be living on past glories when I stayed there for three nights this month.

Granted, the location is superb. It's right in the heart of San Juan Del Sur, with a restaurant fronting onto the beach, but I thought it was way too expensive, considering
a/ my Nicaraguan breakfast included raw / uncooked rice
b/ the pool was filthy, tiny, and closed for 'renovations'
c/ the wi-fi was the worst I've experienced in Central America
d/ the toilet did not flush
e/ the shower was erratic.

I know SJDS can be more expensive than other locations in Nicaragua, but La Estacion was not worth the price.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ciaran77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granada, Nicaragua
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

My girlfriend and I enjoyed the stay and the balcony and sea view for two nights was perfect, super clean and all good except for the attention of chubby girl at the reception was a bit arrogant but other than that the hotel in general was excellent.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hostalentreamigos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williams Lake
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2012

A decent hotel right on the main strip, which fronts the beach, and where most of the vendors and pricier restaurants are located.

The rooms are not exquisite but large, clean and comfortable.

Breakfast is included in the room price and is served in the associated beachfront restaurant across the street. Breakfast is a-la-carte, a nice treat, and the choices are good.

Thoroughness of daily room service was hit-and-miss in regards to toiletries and towels but the sunshine girl with the big smile at the front desk (Yorleny) cheerfully corrected any deficiencies.

Bernie

Room Tip: If you don't mind the bit of extra noise from the happenings on the main drag, book a beach fron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xenalook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012 via mobile

Undoubtedly, good location: next to delicious Italian ice cream shakes, with the beach front, restaurants, bars and much more, but maybe fault for certain people who we like to rest in silence, because after a few days, noise "around a bit," stunning. that does not mean it's bad choice to stay, otherwise, I recommend only rooms away from the balconies. Of course if the noise bothers you, if not, then I recommend the room 2 ... "(202)" beautiful views. say no more a place that would return choice.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ailynne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012 via mobile

This hotel is located on the main strip! Room is big with a balcony over looking the street and view of the beach.

The breakfast is included and is across the street in the resturant. Great views of the ocean while enjoying breakfast! For the price and location this is unbeatable!

I really enjoyed this hotel and it's location walking to everything! San Juan del sur and it's surrounding beaches Madera, mujual and mesilla are awesome! Also The mirador with San Juan had amazing views of the whole town and coast! Beautiful special place here in nicuaraga! Safe travels !!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trading2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
0.0 mi away
Barrio Cafe Hotel
Barrio Cafe Hotel
#5 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
224 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Alcazar
Hotel Alcazar
#11 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
170 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Victoriano
Hotel Victoriano
#12 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Dolce Vita
Hotel La Dolce Vita
#20 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
65 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Encanto del Sur
0.0 mi away
Rositas Hotel
Rositas Hotel
#9 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Estacion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Estacion

Property: La Estacion
Address: Calle Costera | Ave. Central, Zona Costera, San Juan del Sur, San Juan del Sur 2568-2304, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 27 Hotels in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — La Estacion 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your La Estacion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing