We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great experience”
Review of Yajure Surf Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Juan del Sur
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Yajure Surf Hostel
Rochester, New York
1 review
“great experience”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

A bunch of friends and I stayed here for a weekend, and we couldn't have been more pleased. The service was outstanding, the hostel was clean and well-maintained, and the amenities were awesome. The location is awesome - right on the beach, so the view was spectacular, and not too far from the night life in town. I would highly recommend giving this place a visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnY5487DR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    25
    7
    11
    25
See reviews for
7
33
31
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

Beautiful location, chill atmosphere, clean rooms and good prices. Met tons of awesome people here and would recommend it if you want to meet nice, welcoming people and have fun and party with, but also chill out during the day or at night. I partied there a couple times but it definitely isn't a "party" hostel, which is ok by me. The next few things are tough to word, because all in all, it was a good experience.

Like the previous reviewer stated, I would beware of the way the owner, Chely, immediately takes a liking to young female guests. Its great to be friendly with your guests, and he was very helpful, but the way he acts around certain girls tends to make many people uncomfortable. The moodiness and immaturity he displayed was also a bit much to handle. Also, keep an eye on your tab! Drinks tend to add up quickly, even when you don't ask for them. We got this all sorted out, though. He will definitely make you feel welcome; just hope he respects your boundaries! Also had several of our friends who were storing food in the kitchen have it go missing; kind of disheartening for backpackers on a budget.
Stay here if you want a great atmosphere; just a heads up on the few items mentioned above!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gcm417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

I've been really debating the best way to write this review.

There are many great things about this hostel: the price is great, I loved the location across the bridge from town and the owner is really friendly and helpful. The rooms are small and most have a shared bathroom. They provide a/c at night which is a big plus. I also really liked the vibe of the place - lots of people get together to cook dinner and everyone was respectful. There are hammocks, a slack line, a swimming pool and a ping pong table to pass away the time.

There are two definite down sides to this hotel, in my opinion: there is a disco directly across the bridge from this hostel. Even at 2:30am, we could hear the thumping base through the walls of our room. The other things is the cause of my dilemma: the owner is clearly overly friendly with the attractive young women, and sometimes made me (a complete bystander) feel uncomfortable at the way he was freely touching them minutes after they arrived. I personally only had positive interactions with him, but I did overhear other young ladies talk about their experiences that left me feeling like I needed to mention this in my review.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

This was the highlight of Central America for me.

I only planned to stay for 3 days, but each day I couldn't justify leaving as I was having such a fun time! I only left because I had to make flights further north.

Chely the guy who owns the place is super relaxed and it feels like he is just one of the boys hanging out rather than the owner. This creates a homely atmosphere where you feel free to do whatever you like (within reason of course).

The crowd staying here was really fun. Each night there'd be a general discussion about where people wanted to go surfing and the next morning we'd all jump into taxis and surf at one of the local beaches all day.

The surf in terms of quality to crowds was better than anywhere I have surfed before. It wasn't uncommon to get 20-30 decent waves in a 2 hour session. I was never sharing a peak with more than 6 other people, which meant plenty of waves for everyone! If that wasn't good enough the wind was off-shore 98% of the time I was in the water!

I'll be back for sure.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrismck84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbotsford, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Best hostel I've ever been to. Great staff, a mellow atmosphere and the friendliest owner who made it impossible to leave! There's a great quality kitchen for everyone to make their own meals, as a group or individuals and I was even impressed by a authentic Argentina meal provided by one of the amazing chefs/employees at the hostel. I awoke to the sound of waves crashing on the shore. Absolute paradise! Definitely coming back here. Chely, you're awesome!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bxl
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Backpackers going through Nicaragua I would highly recommend Yajure hostel in San Juan del Suer. I didn't know a single thing about the the town nor about the hostel and actually the location is amazing and (Chely) the owner is a really good guy 'Super Pana' as we used to call him. If you are crossing from Costa Rica and you plan to go to San Juan del Sur, you tell the driver or ask in the street to guide you to the bridge (the only one in town).

Enjoy your stay!!!
Nicaragua es tuani

Room Tip: You can Sleep wherever you want even at the living room while you have an amazing view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arnaldo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2013

I went to San Juan del Sur with friends and stayed at Yajure for one night. It was a really nice experience: the location is beeeautiful, the rooms were clean and the hosts were super friendly. My friends and I had a great time, and Chely was very helpful in arranging a trip to a nearby beach for us. I definitely recommend this hostel if you're looking for an affordable place that does a good job offering you the basics for a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vmilost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alcazar
Hotel Alcazar
#11 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
169 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostel Pachamama
Hostel Pachamama
#27 of 65 in San Juan del Sur
155 reviews
0.4 mi away
Moke Huhu Guesthouse
Moke Huhu Guesthouse
#19 of 65 in San Juan del Sur
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Saltwater Hostel
Saltwater Hostel
#36 of 65 in San Juan del Sur
13 reviews
0.2 mi away
HC Liri Hotel
HC Liri Hotel
#1 of 53 in San Juan del Sur
424 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chale's House
Chale's House
#30 of 65 in San Juan del Sur
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yajure Surf Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yajure Surf Hostel

Property: Yajure Surf Hostel
Address: Barrio la Talangera, San Juan del Sur 87206, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 65 Speciality Lodging in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yajure Surf Hostel is located on the beachfront in San Juan Del Sur, Nicaragua. Our hostel can arrange surf trips, boat adventures and much more. We have a great pool, kitchen for guests, fun family dinners, hammocks, TV room, wifi, A/C and more. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing