We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great massage!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Zen Yoga

Zen Yoga
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Zen Yoga Studio is a stunning two story yoga studio and institute featuring daily yoga classes, hosted Luxury Yoga Retreats, 200Hr Teacher Trainings, and Raw Food Cafe.
San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great massage!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

It took me the whole day to get back out off my state of total relaxation after a massage here. We booked in advance with 3 friends to get a massage at the same time. We all chose different styles and intensities...It was great!!! Only thing to suggest: a curtain might add to privacy.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fishing-Nicaragua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vinyasavanessa, Owner at Zen Yoga, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about us! Glad you ladies had a great experience. We aim to provide a special experience for couples and friends massage! The group massages take place in the open air studio for couples and friends but we do have a private room for those seeking privacy. I will make sure to tell future massage guests of that option. Hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    6
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Navarre, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely place to practice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

Zen Yoga Nicaragua is a wonderful little studio. While visiting SJDS I took several classes, all of which were great. Each teacher had their own style of teaching and gave clear instruction. The studio is open air with a nice breeze and has screen to keep the bugs away. I love to visit local yoga studios when traveling and this one was a real treat. Definitely worth a visit if you are in town.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank shanti_seeker8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vinyasavanessa, Owner at Zen Yoga, responded to this review, 6 July 2013
Thank you for your review of Zen! It means a lot for you to take the time to write this positive review. We were delighted to have you with us for a few classes and hope to see you in the future on your mat.

Many blessings~
Vanessa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Great Instruction”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

I've passed through SJDS twice and both times made a point to make Zen Yoga part of my morning routine.

I took 4 classes and had 4 different instructors, all were attentive and grounded and helped me with my practice. I've always taken the AM class but their schedule offers classes throughout the day. They have free mats, blocks and straps and offer massage.

The street noise of a Central American town in the background can be distracting but is part of the charm/reality of their convenient location and beautiful open air studio.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank HansKPaap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vinyasavanessa, Owner at Zen Yoga, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Hey there! Thanks for taking the time to write this review. We are glad that you came back again to Zen yoga! If you come back a third time we will try to make your visit a 5 star rating! Many blessings along your way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camrose, Canada
Level Contributor
155 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“What a great place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013 via mobile

Thank you Vanessa for everything. You have an incredible business and are so good with everyone. Our last week in SJDS was made by Zen Yoga!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chadphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vinyasavanessa, Owner at Zen Yoga, responded to this review, 19 May 2013
Thank you! Loved to meet you and lead you in a class. It really is a blessing for me to do what I do and share it with other's. All the teachers at Zen are dedicated to sharing yoga and making your experience in SJDS even more amazing. Until we meet again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great place for vinyasa flow in the mornings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2013

I thought I'd do yoga once or twice while I was in SJDS for a week. I ended up going every day I was there. It was so cool to do yoga in an open studio with the wind blowing through. Every now and then, a cat would come in and join the class too.
The teachers were some of the best I've had anywhere. They were very clear and patient. I was certainly challenged at every class.
There's a small bathroom downstairs if you need it.
There's fresh made fruit juice for sale right after class.
You have to climb a spiral staircase to get to the studio. If you have mobility issues, it might be a problem.
The studio is beautiful though. Hard wood floors and a great view. They have mats there for you to use. Even though there's a cool breeze usually, the morning vinyasa flow classes were very challenging. You work up a sweat so bring a towel or two if you think you'll need them.
The staff were friendly and helpful. I hung out for a few minutes after classes. They had some great suggestions for things to do in and around SJDS as well as around Nicaragua.
Thanks Zen Yoga! I'll be back!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank brandx5150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vinyasavanessa, Owner at Zen Yoga, responded to this review, 26 March 2013
Thanks for your message! We were very happy to have you practice with us and we hope you return soon! Keep up your practice and be well! Namaste
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Zen Yoga also viewed

San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
 
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
 

Been to Zen Yoga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing