We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pefect in all aspects!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Maracuya

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Juan del Sur
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Maracuya
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pefect in all aspects!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

This nice little hostel/hotel is simply charming, with great views to the bay and kind staff, we enjoyed dpending a week there. We stayed in the two-room house next to the big house and loved it, the room was spacious and clean, the kitchen was equipet and the lounging area was nice. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Klroni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    25
    11
    6
    3
See reviews for
6
41
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

The view on the top patio is pretty cool, as it overlooks the city, and it is a nice common area for people to socialize and drink in the evenings. I would label this as the signature of this hotel. The hotel is located at the top of a hill so you may feel tired if you're out of shape, case in which it's good for you anyway, It's about 300 yards from the sea, and it's in the city close to everything else. The people working there always smile and treat customers really nice. They have a fridge full with drinks for which you can pay at the end of your stay, kind of credit based, making it convenient if you don't always wanna carry money with you around the premises. Water is always the same temperature (their "cold", which is almost "warm") which for me worked perfect. This has the feel of a backpacker's hostel, with a few hammocks and chill areas. Liked it a lot.

Room Tip: All rooms are more or less the same, I couldn't say one would be better than the other... The ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mihai C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
salt lake city
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013

I found this place last time I was in SJdS and is a great option if you are looking for a step above basic accomodation. I've stayed at my fair share of hostels and am slowly growing up and beginning to look for a quieter, more comfortable, albeit more expensive, option for a roof over my head. It is slightly more pricey than some other private rooms in the town (as with hostels), but the price is easily justified by the views, secure feelings, welcoming staff, well above average landscaping, and free breakfast. Three of us stayed in a private foom and paid $15 each which included free breakfast, daily housekeeping (somewhat of a rarity in SJdS), and they allow you to use their kitchen as long as you keep it clean. The top story deck offers great views of both the town and bay, and I'll gladly spend a few extra dollars a night to truly enjoy the grounds and common areain which I stay. Offers A/C at an additional charge, but we stuck to the fans.

Room Tip: I travel with a UV water filter made for camping so I never have to buy bottled water while abroad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 0n_the_road_again62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

Me and my friend actually wanted to stay 3 nights but decided to stay 5. the hotel is perfectly located. you have a great view on the ocean but its so close to the beach. the staff was very helpful and friendly, the rooms clean and nice, the breakfast included and very good and it changed from day to day. we had a perfect time and will definitly stay here again when we come back!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EsaLo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights. We had a nice view from the roof over the sea. The included breakfast was good and the rooms were nice. However, there were parties on the beach both Friday and Saturday, which made it difficult to sleep... Also, the water disappeared at least twice during our stay.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fie85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at hotel Maracuya. It is a small and well up-kept bed and breakfast tucked away from the hubbub of the main street. Located on top of a hill, hotel provides breath-taking view of San Juan and the bay. Hotel staff are easy to reach via email, they are also exceptionally accommodating and super friendly. Each room is brightly decorated and staff clean them every day. Breakfast is provided every morning and kitchen is available for guest use. In addition, the reception area is well-stocked with ice-cold Tona beer and wine for purchase (prices are very reasonable!). I was surprised to find a TV in our room with multiple channels in English and Spanish and there were no issues accessing wifi. The hotel is also guarded at night.

This is an excellent hotel to stay if you are traveling on a budget but are looking for a place that is not a hostel for college-aged backpackers. Similarly to many hotels in Nicaragua, there is no hot water, but since it's hot outside, a cool shower is refreshing!

Room Tip: We stayed in 2 rooms, first night near the terrace (due to a miscommunication in number of people) a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pirksts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013 via mobile

We loved our large room right outside the communal patio. There's a lot of space to chill out and relax and a great view of the town and water.

The girls who work there are all incredibly accommodating and gave us stellar recommendations for food and surf board rentals!

Do a day trip to hermosa beach it's absolutely stunning and great surfing!

The rooms were spotless and spacious at maracuya and the breakfast was also great! It changed daily so it was great to try something new each day!

Stay at maracuya if your looking for a great location and safe place to stay!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meg_Vancity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alcazar
Hotel Alcazar
#11 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barrio Cafe Hotel
Barrio Cafe Hotel
#5 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rositas Hotel
Rositas Hotel
#8 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
#4 of 4 in Playa Marsella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Victoriano
Hotel Victoriano
#12 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa
#7 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maracuya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maracuya

Property: Hotel Maracuya
Address: | Negro Cafe, 1 block North, 1 block East, San Juan del Sur 505, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 74 Speciality Lodging in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Maracuya is located just steps from the beautiful beach of San Juan del Sur Nicaragua, If you are looking for the perfect beach hotel in Nicaragua at affordable prices and you found it! We have a comfortable hotel with eight rooms where you can relax and enjoy the hospitality of our staff. We have privates rooms and Mixed dorms, all rooms have private bath, FAN, wifi and you have the choice to PAY a little more if you want air conditioning. The hotel has 24 hrs security and parking, We also have a nice terrace with a nice pergola, here we served breakfast to our guests and also you can enjoy a cold beer or a bottle of wine watching the sunset. Hotel Maracuya is located on a hill, which is why from the hotel you can enjoy one of the best views of the village and watch the sunset from our terrace.other commodities:• Free WIFI• Breakfast included• Terrace Bar overlooking the sea and the village• Free use of DVD and DVD movie collection updated• Deckchairs and garden to relax and chat• Beer cold, wine, soft drinks and purified water available for purchase• Free use of our information guide books• Book Exchange• 24-hour Security. More Amenities ...• Located just 1 1/2 block from the beach• 5 minutes walking distance to the market• 5 minutes walking distance to the bus station• General information on what to do, where to go, etc..• Times of buses to the border, Ometepe and Managua.• Information on Ometepe Island and ferry schedules• Information on shuttle service to surf beaches and other beaches• Information and contacts for rent a surfboard and surf lessons• Information on activities and tours• Private Transport Service• shuttle service We also have a hotel maracuya in managua in case you need to sleep in managua to catch your flight to corn island or back home! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing