We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent option for San Juan del Sur”
Review of Casa Romano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Romano
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Casa Romano is very well located, less than a block away from the sea-front, has good clean rooms at an acceptable price (a double room, private bathroom) for $25, in August 2013.

For me, travelling as a couple, the hotel was perfect, as was nice and quiet, had a very good kitchen and access to computers, and a good selection of books.

This is certainly not the most communal hostal I have ever stayed at, and the design and rules of the hotel means for limited interaction between guests. But, if, however, you are with a partner or friends, and want to be close to the action, but in nice, clean and quiet accomodation, then Casa Romano makes for a very good option.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon_M_Walters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for one night with two friends in a triple room. We paid 45 dollars. The rooms was clean, with fresh sheets and towels. It had a private bathroom and plenty of space.

We really liked the vibe of the place, with its little garden and rocking chairs and the sweet lady at the front desk.

Location is right around the corner from the two main streets - quiet but convenient.

I'd highly recommend Casa Romano over the louder more mainstream hostels and budget hotels nearby.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Pros:

The hotel is located just off the center of town. Very good location as it is close to everything but farther away from the noisy hotspots.

The layout is good, nice siting area, computers for guest use, kitchen for guest use. and a back yard with comfortable hammocks.

Rooms are of reasonable size, and everything is very clean.

The hotel is very quiet. and if you are looking for early nights and complete peace and quiet this is the perfect place for you.

The staff of sons and daughters are extremely pleasant.

Cons:
The hotel is run by a family. The vibe was very ridged and almost militaristic.
I felt as if I was intruding rather than as a guest. I felt more like I was staying in a Catholic boarding school. Some very pleasant guests had been warned that talking after 9:30 was not allowed. I brought a friend over to use the restroom at 9:30 and was told that visiting hours ended at 9pm.
There was some communication about visitors which was made possible by my poor spanish and the owners seeming indignant regarding speaking English. Sadly we engaged in a very verbal argument much to my discomfort and embarrassment. Luckily the sons and daughters helped smooth out the issue so as to reduce the amount of offence given and taken. I did not face these problems anywhere else during my stay in SJDS. And in their defense some of the hostels are far too "loose" regarding policies that can protect guests from security issues or annoyance of disrespectful guests- I just think they took it way too far.
Last but not least- no coffee in the morning I count as a human right abuse.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2GETLOST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

A very pleasant quiet hotel in the center of town only a block from the beach. Very clean and tranquil atmosphere with traditional latin american style feel. The family owners are around all day and helpful when you need something. Nice rooms, hight ceilings, fans, confortable beds, clean bathrooms, all you need for the right price. Great experience, highly reccomended!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

After being left in the city by Chely of Yajure Surf Hostel I came across Casa Romano. I was pleasantly surprised and thankful. The rooms were basic and clean, all that I was looking for. Their daughter spoke English, which I needed at that point. While there was no hot water, it wasn't freezing and this wasn't the issue I thought it would be. They were super helpful in connecting me with the flying frog and arranging a ride in the morning out to the zip lines. This place is also located a few blocks off the beach and made walking all of SJDS very easy. This isn't the loud and crazy youth hostel, but rather a very affordable basic, clean hostel/hotel

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TryppAdams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013 via mobile

Not a B & B, this is more of a hotel/hostel.

Room was super clean, exc mattress. Nice bathroom and shelves to store backpacks. Ceiling fan and great floor fan as well. Use of frig and kitchen was fine. Hotel is very clean and the cleaning woman was always around sweeping and mopping - a big plus compared to many inexpensive hotels where attention to cleanliness is often neglected.

True that customer service was lacking and for the most part the owners and their family were pleasant enough, but it was obvious they did not want to interact much with guests.

Price for private dbl of $25 was right on the money and location was great - close to dwtn and a block from the beach.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mochilero22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

Its a very nice and clean hotel. Very nice location close to the beach with a friendly owner. The garden is beautiful and relaxing! We payed 20 dollar per night for a double bedroom!!One of the best hotels we stayed in Nicaragua! You should definitely stay here while visiting San Juan del Sur!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anastasia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
0.4 mi away
Barrio Cafe Hotel
Barrio Cafe Hotel
#5 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
231 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rositas Hotel
Rositas Hotel
#8 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
165 reviews
1.9 mi away
El Jardin Hotel
El Jardin Hotel
#9 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
#23 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
297 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Dolce Vita
Hotel La Dolce Vita
#21 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
66 reviews
0.9 mi away
HC Liri Hotel
HC Liri Hotel
#1 of 53 in San Juan del Sur
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Romano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Romano

Address: Del Banco Bdf 1/2 Cuadra Al Este, Avenida Del Parque, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan del Sur
Price Range: £26 - £30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Romano offers you in a safe environment: Private bathroom in each room. Towels included. Confi, individuals bed and doubles. Fans available in every room. Rest area with hamacs. Internet access, wi-fi. Use of community kitchen and freezer. Smokers can indulge themselves in the backyard ;-) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Casa Romano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing