We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do yourself a favor and stay here”
Review of Casa Del Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa Del Mar
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Clean rooms - excellent friendly staff - perfect location by the beach.
Tremendous bar with great drink specials and if you order in advance the best paella you can ever imagine. What a great stay we had so we stayed an extra 2 days!!!!
You can't go wrong and you have to tell all your friends to stay here too.
A very nice kitchen and the breakfast was included.
All the other places in town should study this place to figure out to treat people right.

Room Tip: We stayed in the dorms but the privates are nice if you can get one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2012

Myself and three friends spent three nights in Casa Del Mar in July. Its a small hotel that's more like a hostel in many ways! It had some good and bad points but over all we enjoyed our stay.
The main pros were the location and the mojitos! Its located right opposite the beach, there is also a quirky bar full of ex-pats right opposite where we spent our evenings! and the mojitos! they were unreal, i honestly don't think Ive ever had nicer! Nothing better than relaxing out the front of the hotel watching the sunset with one of these. The spanish owner cooks paella each evening for a reasonable price which also looked lovely.

The main negative here were the beds. We stayed in a 6 bed dorm between four of us. The matresses were so hard I wouldn't have been able to stay much longer than 3-4 days, on our last night one of us even chose to sleep outside on a hammock! Another day we 'got in trouble!' for having our own food which was bought for a boat trip that day. Not really a problem for us ...and i suppose it's a policy that most hotels have... just something for budget travelers to be aware of if they are looking for a more hostel type place where they can make their own snacks and bring their own drinks.

Overall I think the cheap price, the mojitos and the location won me over and would recommend this hotel/hostel!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sorcha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

A month in San Juan Del Sur, and three hostals later I finnaly found my home away from home. What drew me into this place at first was its prime location next to the beach. My friend broke her flip flop and we needed to sit down for a bit because the pavement was way to hot to walk, so we went to Casa del Mar for the 2 X 1 Mojito deal. Two mojitos later the owner, an amazing woman from Spain, gave my friend a pair of shoes so she could walk back to our hostal safely. After this act of kindness we moved from Casa Oro, where we were crammed into dorms like sardines, to Casa del Mar. This was my first real sleep since I had been in Nicaragua. No waking up from sweats or noisy neighbors. This place is a great price, tranquil enviornment, sublime energy, and the best mojitos in Nicaragua. I highly recomend this beach front hostal to any backpacker traveling to San Juan del Sur.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anna p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank Juan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
Thank cocobiuer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chu A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Florencia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
0.0 mi away
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa
#7 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
747 reviews
0.0 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
0.0 mi away
Hotel & Resort Palermo
Hotel & Resort Palermo
#10 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Parque Maritimo el Coco
Parque Maritimo el Coco
#1 of 1 in Playa El Coco
123 reviews
0.0 mi away
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
#4 of 4 in Playa Marsella
152 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rancho Chilamate Off-Grid Guest Ranch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Del Mar

Address: Paseo Del Ray Frente La Playa 150 Mtrs Norte Iguanas, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan del Sur
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa del Mar is located on the beach road in San Juan del Sur with beautiful views of the Pacific Ocean. Enjoy the nightlife close by or simply relax in our bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers so you can book your Casa Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing