We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cockroach breeding centre”
Review of Casa Del Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa Del Mar
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
“Cockroach breeding centre”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

In short this place was unhygienic, warm and unfriendly.
it sounded funny, but actually we have never seen so many cockroaches as here. Furthermore we had many bites on our limbs, which made us suspicious for bedbugs.
But worst of all was the female owner. When we didn't pay 10$ because a friend took a shower, she started yelling and made us move. Really uncomfortable and awkward. Although we travelled a lot through India and Central America we never experienced this before!
Our advice: skip this place!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilse3562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    7
    5
    4
    26
See reviews for
1
7
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

The female owner was really rude, let us pay more than we agreed and when we said we didn't agree se forced us to go and even yelled at us! It gave us a horrible feeling and I would say: never go here! Besides this the rooms were hot, smelly and the showers didn't work. Don't go here!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jorike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Juan del Sur hotels

1 review
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We stayed 3 night on this hostel really uncomfortable. The rooms were small and the mattress was the worst I've never sleep. I felt like sleeping on the flor.
The free breakfast is really light, only coffee and toast with butter.
The owner is really unsympathique, she came to us every time to pay the night more and couldn't wait.
We rent 2 towels with 200 deposit but when we gave her back she said that one of it was not hers and she gave us back only 100.
10$ a night is really expensive for this place.
The only good thing is the emplacement near the beach, restaurant and party.
I don't recomend it !!


  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LudivineCh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 24 July 2013

i traveled all south america.
and this hostel is the most unconfortable i ever seen.
the bed are not even beds.
all the staff are nice except infortunately the lady owner.
she made us pay for the towel that wasnt even white saying it wasnt hers.
ask to pay every morning for the next day instead to get a final bill.
im not usual to do post.
but really i couldnt even sleep.
the matress is a pain.
the owner is just a money maker.
but still thz emplacement is gret.
but definitely not worth it

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maxxxx78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights whilst on our way to Costa Rica. We had a great time! The place is a little uncomfortable but the owner is lovely. It's close to all local bars/shops etc. which is cool but most importantly for us its close to the beach! If you're passing through I'd recommend this place!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BranieBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013 via mobile

First impressions upon arrival were not great. Despite having booked online the guy at reception didn't even ask our names and despite there obviously being 5 of us showed us to a 3 bed room. Once he learnt how to count we were shown to our dorm. For some reason he couldn't explain to us for the first few hours of our stay why there was no running water. The mattresses were probably the most uncomfortable I've ever slept on, very hard and lumpy. It was a bit like lying on the inside of an egg carton. Also the sheets seemed to have been on the beds for at least a week before we came.
We were woken by the sounds of a building site which seemed to be coming from next door and although completely out of control of the hostel was still annoying.
Furthermore the breakfast was pretty poor. Coffee and toast.
That said I wouldn't have been too disposed to staying another night here as the majority of the staff were very friendly as were the other guests. However on the Sunday when we moved to another hostel (Iguana) as planned, to stay with the rest of our group I realised that it was possible to find a decent hostel in Nicaragua and wouldn't have gone back to Casa del Mar.
Positives of the hostel however were its good location and the hammocks, plus the kitten. All in all a fairly average hostel with a nice owner but uncomfortable beds and hot rooms.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElJamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for a couple days when I 1st came to San Juan Del Sur. The Hostel is adorable, beach housey in look & feel. There were times mid-day without water & electricity, but I view that just as Hostel living. Also La Jeffa (the owner) doesn't speak a lick of English, but I loved her. I saw her out at the Black Whale one night & we danced our booties off. You don't have to speak the same language for that.
On the weekend she had a big buy out & I had to leave, but I enjoyed my time there.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
0.0 mi away
Hostel Pachamama
Hostel Pachamama
#26 of 65 in San Juan del Sur
155 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa
#7 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
728 reviews
0.0 mi away
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
#3 of 4 in Playa Marsella
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
0.0 mi away
Parque Maritimo el Coco
Parque Maritimo el Coco
#1 of 1 in Playa El Coco
121 reviews
0.0 mi away
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
#22 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Del Mar

Property: Casa Del Mar
Address: Paseo Del Ray Frente La Playa 150 Mtrs Norte Iguanas, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan del Sur
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa del Mar is located on the beach road in San Juan del Sur with beautiful views of the Pacific Ocean. Enjoy the nightlife close by or simply relax in our bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Casa Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing