We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good facilities but deserted when we were there.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Surfing Donkey
Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

Surfing donkey was a bit weird . We were the only people staying there for he 2 nights apart from 2 or 3 complete wasters. Can imagine when there are other people staying there that there is a good atmosphere as it has a good pool and nice roof terrace to look out across San juan.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights in April with my boyfriend, people told me it was a "party hostel" so I was wary as I need my 8hrs of sleep. What a great place it turned out to be. The staff is so relaxed you think they are just travelers like you. You can swim in the pool, drink a $1.25 beer, read in the hammocks, watch TV... really easy to relax and meet people. Felt really safe since to get in you have to go through a gate and enter the courtyard before finding any rooms. We stayed in a private room, $20 w/ fan, bathroom, no AC. Thin hostel mattress but we slept fine. The hostel is tidy but not spik and span so if you're super anal go spend more money and stay in a hotel. It's a hostel- lots of young people or "young at heart" people. Very friendly. Fruit available in the morning. Music plays at night in the courtyard so why not go have a beer and meet some people around the pool. Highly recommend; hard to leave. We got hugs from the staff when we left.

Room Tip: Bring your own lock when traveling; you can lock up valuables in your room (private room).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MargBr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

I was a little apprehensive when I first learned of the size of the dorms here, but the old saying is true "Dont judge a book by its cover"! I was only going to spend two days in San Juan Del Sur but my stay here turned into a week due to me not wanting to leave. The staff are super friendly and helpful with any and all travel informations. They where eager to help with restaurant recommendations, setting up surf shuttles, and organizing nightly outings with fellow travelers and neighboring hostels. The hostel it's self is pretty basic but has EVERYTHING you may need. It was always clean and has nice lockers with outlets in some of them. Some of the highlights are the POOL/Garden, daily breakfast, in house BAR, and upstairs "lookout" lounge area. The beds had firm mattresses, it stayed nice and cool at night in the dorm, the mornings are a bit noisey due to the hostel being near the schools and church, but perfect for early risers.... I highly suggest taking your fruit and coffee up stairs in the mornings and watch the town come alive.

Extra tip, they also give you a pass to the local gym with your daily room fee.

So for $7.00 bucks a night you get WIFI, TV/Movie Lounge, Swimming POOL, Breakfast, Gym Membership, Friendly Staff, Comfortable Bed, and the basic amenities. :)

Room Tip: Make sure to find a locker with an outlet to charge your devices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Onemindspinning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013

Surfing Donkey is a great place to stay on a surfers budget!

It has a great pool to cool off in, the staff are awesome and the bar serves up some of the cheapest beer in town!!!!!!

The rooms are adequate, as is the kitchen.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TommasC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013 via mobile

I just stayed here and loved everybody I met. The staff was wonderful, fun, funny, helpful, etc. The mattresses were not ideal but I napped many times on hammocks as well. The pub crawl was a crazy fun experience and the pool is a great place to chill. The bar was great and the prices are unbeatable. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mca4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013 via mobile

I've been traveling through hostel after hostel for 6 months now all over Europe, Canada, and Central America. I've met more people then I can count. So many beautiful people. The surfing donkey has been my favorite hotel experience to date. I meant to stay 2 nights and stayed 16. The vibe is wonderful. As soon as you walk through the door you're friends with everyone. It has a homey feel to it and is small enough to get to know everyone staying there. It's hard to distinguish who works there or not because the staff get involved with the guest to make sure they have a good time. The lounge for watching movies upstairs is amazing, especially for Rainy days. The bar is cheap, and they shut the bar down around 11 pm so people can sleep. It does get very loud in the mornings from cars driving by and animals. It is definitely a party hostel... But the kind of party that is hanging out around the pool with 15 of your best friends, laughing. I highly recommend for independent travelers who want to meet people. Everyone at the surfing donkey became my family away from family.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Courtneyleerunyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

I stayed at Surfing Donkey for a couple of nights with 3 friends and we really enjoyed the place. It has a great common space with a bar, hammocks to relax in and a pool!! also, it is really cheap but excellent value!
the 2 managers Mark and Troy are really friendly and give good advice

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chagui14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
0.4 mi away
Hostel Pachamama
Hostel Pachamama
#31 of 77 in San Juan del Sur
158 reviews
0 mi away
Hostel Esperanza
Hostel Esperanza
#18 of 77 in San Juan del Sur
153 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coconut Surf Hostel
Coconut Surf Hostel
#17 of 54 in San Juan del Sur
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Casa De Olas
Casa De Olas
#9 of 77 in San Juan del Sur
426 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Oro Eco Hostel
Casa Oro Eco Hostel
#29 of 77 in San Juan del Sur
311 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostel Tadeo San Juan del Sur
Hostel Tadeo San Juan del Sur
#33 of 77 in San Juan del Sur
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Surfing Donkey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Surfing Donkey

Address: One block south of Central Park and church, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 77 Speciality Lodging in San Juan del Sur
Price Range: £9 - £23 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Surfing Donkey is the best new social hostel in San Juan del Sur, only two blocks away from the city center with a large pool, cheap bar, full kitchen, yoga, and events like group BBQs and pool parties. We balance our social activities with a strict quiet policy before 9am and after 10pm, so guests can have fun and sleep well on the new premium mattresses. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing