We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Buena Onda Backpackers
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Hotel & Resort Palermo(San Juan del Sur)(Great Value!)
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Victoriano(San Juan del Sur)(Great Value!)
US$123
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
El Jardin Hotel and Restaurant(San Juan del Sur)(Great Value!)
US$74
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Chateau Hotel(San Juan del Sur)(Great Value!)
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort(San Juan del Sur)
US$49
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Barrio Cafe Hotel(San Juan del Sur)(Great Value!)
US$74
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$469
US$420
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa(San Juan del Sur)
US$357
HotelQuickly
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Alcazar(San Juan del Sur)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (227)
Filter reviews
227 results
Traveller rating
206
17
4
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
206
17
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfrench ownerteak woodrooftop kitchencomfortable big bedfree coffee in the morningprivate bathroomin townhammocks and rocking chairshelpful ownertop floorhostel dogplace is spotlessbeautiful hostelan amazing hostlaid backrooms are beautifulstayed longer
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
106 - 111 of 227 reviews
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Buena Onda Backpackers is a great place to stay in San Juan del Sur. The views are incredible and the owner, Baba, is a fantastic host. For the money I don't think you'll find a better option in SJdS with a private room and private bath.

Keep in mind that there is no air conditioning as the place was designed to take advantage of the breezes coming in over the hill. If the air isn't moving it can get rather hot and the bugs will certainly settle in with you. Also, the local roosters seem to love to call out to each other at all hours of the day and night which can easily interrupt your sleep. That's not an indictment of Buena Onda, just a reality of being in town in SJdS.

I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to my friends heading to Nicaragua.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clinton B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

My husband an I stayed in Buena Onda Backpackers for three nights and we loved the place! The atmosphere is great with amazing views to the beach and great chill out areas! Although we have to say that there are some little things that could better.

POSITIVE
- Baba the owner! He is really kind and helpful at all times!
- Amazing views!!
- Great chill out areas with comfortable couches, wooden chairs and hammocks
- Clean and complete kitchen to use
- Huge and clean room (we stayed downstairs in a private with bathroom)
- Free cofffee and free water

NEGATIVE
- No mosquito net in the windows, which is not good. The place is located in a little jungle, so there are many insects of all kinds. We couldn't open the window any time and it was pretty hot even with the fan. The bathroom doesn't have a window, so insects are free to get in! We left the door shut all the time to avoid them get into the room
- The water from shower is really weak, so its is hard to have a good and refreshing shower

Even with these points we definitely recommend this place! However be aware of the insects situation if you are not really comfortable with that. We found a way to avoid it and we would stay here again for sure!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabriela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

this hostel is beautiful, great view and lay out of the common area, super king size beds tastefully done ensuite, good coffee with milk in the morning, groovy sounds on the system, 4 hammocks over looking the bay, ice cold beers on demand and only 7 rooms so its really super chill. run by an awesome french guy thats has defiantly changed my opinion on the french
and its new!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank typingtuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We have been here twice now and love every minute at Buena Onda. I don't know where to start. The beds are large and very comfortable. The rooms, kitchen and even the refrigerator and hangout area upstairs are spotless. Rooms are large and very comfy. Views from upstairs are outstanding, really the signature of Buena Onda. But the best of Buena Onda is the famous Baba. Baba is very eager to facilitate his guests stay with just about any reasonable need his visitors may have. He has hooked us up with the best places to eat being gourmet evening meals or quality budget breakfast at the market for less than $2. He has arranged taxi service with his driver(Miguel) to Costa Rica, only 20 bucks, wow, fishing or the drink as many Tonias as you want afternoon cruise with Captain Dario, I even saw him arrange laundry service for another guest. Baba is the best host ever! He is a complete natural for the travel industry.

The walk from town is very short, just a few minutes from the Cathedral and about six minutes to the waterfront through a neighborhood full of friendly locals. Baba serves coffee in the morning and offers his guests use of the kitchen and stove, nice for having some drinks or appetizers before heading out for fun.

Buena Onda is a quality place and a tremendous value. My best advise for staying at Buena Onda is to book all the nights you have planned at SJDS at once up front. Don't book a couple of nights as a trial and then love the place and have to leave because he is always booked....Buena Honda is just that good of a place!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Russsports
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This impeccably clean and comfortable budget hotel, with its gentle ashram vibe (saffron walls, touch of Zen, lovely Baba the manager: always ready with advice and a chat) is a great place to stay in San Juan. Go to the docks and buy a bag of lobster tails: Baba will show you how to split and sear them on the griddle. It will be the best thing you ate this year. Lovely open porch overlooking the city and the bay, hammocks, wifi, good company, cool and comfortable rooms. Unbeatable.

Room Tip: The larger, cooler rooms are lower down. Go upstairs for the company and the kitchen but stay low for the temperature and the silence.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steerpike66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews