We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Buena Onda Backpackers
Nearby Hotels
Hotel & Resort Palermo(San Juan del Sur)(Great Value!)
US$128
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$123
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Victoriano(San Juan del Sur)(Great Value!)
US$123
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort(San Juan del Sur)
US$49
US$48
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
El Jardin Hotel and Restaurant(San Juan del Sur)(Great Value!)
US$74
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Alcazar(San Juan del Sur)(Great Value!)
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$469
US$420
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Bahia Hotel(Playa Marsella)
US$74
US$70
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Costa Dulce(San Juan del Sur)(Great Value!)
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa(San Juan del Sur)
US$360
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (227)
Filter reviews
227 results
Traveller rating
206
17
4
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
206
17
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfrench ownerteak woodrooftop kitchencomfortable big bedfree coffee in the morningprivate bathroomin townhammocks and rocking chairshelpful ownertop floorhostel dogplace is spotlessbeautiful hostelan amazing hostlaid backrooms are beautifulstayed longer
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
82 - 87 of 227 reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I was looking for the contact information for this place but don't seem find it. I'm traveling to SJDS in June by myself but I want to know if it'll be an issue getting a room for just one since I'll by arriving on my own. Is there a policy for that?

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
Thank luisr0d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Buena Onda is one of the best places I have stayed while traveling. The location is excellent and the views are unbelievable. Baba, the owner is very cool, very accomodating, and will help you out with anything you need.while you are staying there. We actually ended up staying longer than planned because we liked it so much.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bconopask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Buena Onda was amazing! Despite our flight being 3 hours late and getting to San Juan pretty late, Baba was more then happy to welcome us with a smile. In the morning he sat my friends and I down to tell us all about the city. All of his recommendations were fantastic! After a few days meeting other people in the city is was very clear the we had grabbed the best place in the city. It was really nice to be able to escape the party vibe that San Juan has and spend the afternoon in a hammock with a great view and a cold Toña.
Also, don't miss out on the coffee in the morning!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Justthej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Great views of the city, relaxed atmosphere, great host and serve your own beer. This was an awesome place to start our vacation. 5-7 minute walk from the main strip in town. The hill is totally manageable.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights and wished we had taken the advice of other reviews as we wanted to stay longer but it was fully booked.You will have to pay a lot more to get a place of this standard in San Jaun. Totally chilled in lovely friendly neighbourhood, a short walk from the centre and great views.Baba the owner is a great guy who will readily offer advice.He was particulary helpful with us sending us a link to another accommodation some days after our stay.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank chris l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews