We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“bedbugs”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Juan del Sur
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Villa Isabella
Aachen, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“bedbugs”
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We stayed at Villa Isabella just for one night, cause on the next day my girlfriend get bit by bit more bites on both legs. First we thought it were just normal mosquito bites but then my girlfriend found a bedbug in the bathroom, then we started to find more indicates for those bugs and we found the bugs poo and an old shell of a bug. now to the rest of the hotel we paid even in low season overpried price the breakfast was okay. the staff was helpfull and friendly. the chef didnt gave money back cause of the bugs, thats the resaon for this review now.

Room Tip: dont take room 8 if u going there
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank wanze86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    37
    10
    3
    6
See reviews for
39
37
17
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Forget anything negative you've read about Mike being a jerk, because for us, that certainly was not the case. We loved him, just like the hotel. After a crappy night in another highly ranked "hotel" (who shall remain nameless), this was just what the doctor ordered. Great, clean rooms, nice refreshing pool, delicious breakfast and way friendly staff, we almost didn't want to leave! Paid $70 per night, and would've gladly paid more (but not really..lol). I could not recommend this place any more!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bjk127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We stayed at Villa Isabella for the entire month. It was clean, had friendly and helpful staff, and tasty breakfast. My whole family also enjoyed the pool, relaxed atmosphere, and delicious coffee. It is perfectly located for walking down to all the shops, restaurants, and of course, amazing San Juan sunsets. We felt well taken care and the staff was more than willing to meet any random need that came up. Both Mike and Jane were hands on and went above and beyond to make our long stay a memorable one!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ftpiercefl
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

I just returned home 3/18/2012. What a nice surprise and such warm hospitality, clean rooms, wonderful breakfast. An over all pleasant experience, the owner/manager a real hands on person, in total control of this delightful place. You may call him Mr. Mike. Thank you Sir for everything, your establiment shows your dedication.

Martha

Room Tip: need to specify upstairs or down
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marthaeverett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

We just visited San Juan del Sur as a family of 7. We stayed at the Hotel Villa Isabella and had an amazing stay. The staff bent over backyards to accomodate us and the made to order breakfasts were fantastico! Our 5 kids loved the small pool - just perfect for cooling off during the afternoon and the variety of hammocks and rockers were fun and functional for hanging out on in the evenings. The whole town is right outside - just an easy couple of block walk to the beach. When in San Juan del Sur again we will definately stay here. 2 Thumbs up! :-)

Room Tip: MANY Options!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kianemikala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maple Grove, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Very nice B&B. Excellent breakfast choices. 24/7 coffee. Clean, good-sized rooms, comfy beds, hot water, AC, small refrigerator, quiet location. Close to the beach and restaurant/bar row. Mike, the owner, is energetic and goes out of his way to be sure his guests are well taken care of. Jane was very helpful in booking our next hotel and guide (Willmore Rueda) on Ometepe Island -- thank you, Jane! Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aileen2266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Stayed here 2/5 & 2/6. Walked in without reservation and got lucky - beautiful triple room for cheap. A/C worked fanstastic, place looked well cared for, toilets flushed paper, plenty of high power, hot water in shower. The also had coffee going 24/7, which I find as a big perk at 5am when I get up and otherwise can't easily find at that hour. Spend some time talking with Mike and his ex-pat circle and it's a cool scene. Certainly not the cheapest digs in town - this is not for hostel/backpacker crowd. But I'd definetely stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 6 is a triple, on second level. I got it for standard price out of luck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TJKNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
0.0 mi away
El Jardin Hotel
El Jardin Hotel
#9 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Chateau Hotel
Royal Chateau Hotel
#18 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
0.0 mi away
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
#22 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort
Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort
#10 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Posada Azul
La Posada Azul
#3 of 58 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa
#7 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Isabella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Isabella

Property: Hotel Villa Isabella
Address: Diagonal Norte Iglesias Catolica San Juan del Sur Rivas, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 74 Speciality Lodging in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa Isabella, an intimate hotel, is dedicated to your full enjoyment of San Juan del Sur and the surrounding Pacific Coast paradise. Our attention to detail and personal service frees you to focus on your stay, either for business or pleasure. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing