We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing culture!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of HC Liri Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
HC Liri Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
San Salvador, El Salvador
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing culture!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

All the treatment that we received from this small but complete and clean hotel was amazing. We expected a lot, but they exceed it!

It was clean and safe, they have good rooms spaces and pool. we stayed for 3 days on December 2013 and be sure that if we go back to San Juan del Sur, we'll stay there again. The food was great and personalized,

The hosts were always suggesting the best options for us to enjoy restaurants and beach and trips.

I definitely recommend staying there!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ulises R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hector A, Propietario at HC Liri Hotel, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Google Translation
Hola Ulises :

Os voy a decir que el placer ha sido nuestro porque ya lo sabéis y ademas suena a canción.

Fue genial veros disfrutar de San Juan del sur y esperamos volver a veros pronto por aquí.

Gracias por esta critica formidable y viva El Salvador!!!

Maria, Romina y German
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    281
    101
    20
    9
    6
See reviews for
87
158
30
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salmon Arm, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed with Herman, Maria, and family for 1 week (Jan. 12-19, 2014), and then stayed at another hotel for the second week. We regretted moving to the next hotel almost from the moment we left! We found the H. C. Liri to be very clean, and the hotel is well managed. We loved their breakfast tacos, the pool is clean, and our room was well looked after. We would definitely recommend staying here!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cathy U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hector A, Propietario at HC Liri Hotel, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Thank you very much for staying with us these days in HC liri and especially for sharing it with other future travelers. Learn and get better every day thanks to the opinions of our customers.
We hope to see you around here sometime.

German, Maria y Romina.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

The view from the pool or upper terrace are to die for. You're looking out on the surf and sand steps away. Could be the best view in town unless you are up on the hill way away from the beach. The family owners are helpful and caring. The breakfasts are hearty. The pool is excellently maintained, and the hotel has shuttles to many other nearby beaches. As one reviewer mentioned only a few rooms have hot water, so check and see which if that is very important to you. If you are allergic to dogs, be forewarned that 2 dogs are on site.
We really enjoyed meeting the owners and our stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ugene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hector A, Propietario at HC Liri Hotel, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Really a lovely critique. Thank you very much, Dady and Gini, our dogs are part of the family of this hotel. It is a pleasure to be a good souvenir of your vacations in Nicaragua . We want to improve and we will succeed it because we really like our work. We hope to see you some day for San Juan del Sur.

Maria, German, Romina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehorse, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

Our family, incl. 2 teenagers stayed here for 11 nights.. We loved it. Maria, Herman and Romina are wonderful, very welcoming and friendly people. -All the staff is great. They go all the way to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Everything is kept very clean.
The breakfast is incl. and is plentiful! Great WIFI connection. Cold drinks for reasonable purchase price.
Most of all we loved that it is a small "house-like" hotel, which really gives it the personal touch! We enjoyed talking to the family a lot, as well as other guests.
The rooms are not very big, but how much room do you need for sleeping? We spend most of our time at and in the very nice and clean pool, the upstairs patio or the main floor patio, which also offers a little bar.
The location is perfect! One of the few hotels right at the beach and within easy walking distance to SJDS.
On weekends the loud music from the dance club across the bridge reaches the hotel. -I hear some people complaining about it, but we really didn't mind it at all. (And its not the hotels fault).
The water for the showers are "Nicaraguan style". Cooler in the mornings and a little warmer at night. -I did not like that, but every hotel we stayed in Nicaragua had the same "funky" set up.
Overall we were very happy with our stay at the HC Liri Hotel and would definatly stay there again!
PS: Hugs from all of us!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mom1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hector A, Propietario at HC Liri Hotel, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Hello,

Thank you very much for choosing us, for allowing us to enjoy your holiday with you and of course for this great review. We hope to meet you someday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

My wife and I stayed for tree nights. Although the room was basic, it was very comfortable and very clean. We didn't need the a/c as we opened the windows in the room and the bathroom and had a great breeze keeping things cool and comfortable. The breakfasts were great. The staff were so helpful and caring. The owner provided excellent recommendations for restaurants in town - he was never wrong! The hotel is close to town and safe to walk in the dark. If you run, the road to town and back is a nice 4.5 mile run. The shower could have been hot/cold, but water was saved by not soaking too long! We enjoyed the quiet areas on the grounds including the pool. When we return San Juan del Sur, we will stay at the HC Liri Hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gottatravelguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hector A, Propietario at HC Liri Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Thank you for the review, we feel glad to hear our guest felt confortable and had a great time with us cause thats means that we are doing it well in this aspect.

For us the confort of our guest and have good atention of their needs are very important. We always put our selves in the clients shoes and we give all the best for them

Greetings

Romina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastopol, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

I debated long and hard over this review because there are so many good things to say, but just a few things that keep it short of five stars for me. On the plus side the people are wonderful. Friendly, helpful and accommodating. They are really so nice. The location is also sweet, right on the beach and a short walk across the funky and cool swinging bridge to town. The common areas are comfortable and the breakfast was delicious. But for the price there a few small things that would help so much. Hot water, for example. The simple "suicide showers" are inexpensive, and I have seen them at other local hotels. It would be nice waking up the morning to not have to brave a cold shower. Drinking water would also be a nice courtesy. Just a big jug in the hall and a couple of glasses in the room. A lamp near the bed. A rug on the floor. A mat in the bathroom. Like I said, just a few small things, but they would make a big difference, and would certainly have upped this from a four-star to a five-star experience for me. Overall though it was a very nice place.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank doronamiran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hector A, Propietario at HC Liri Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Tank you for your review, with our gest reviews we learn more and grow up every day.
We apreciate your point of view and we will keep it in mind.
Our hotel is young and there are a lot of things to add ,change and correct and step by step we do it.

Thank you again for the review

Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

Very basic hotel with WiFi and breakfast included.
The room was very basic, we had the upgrade room so it came with TV. The shower has hot water, but because is an electric shower you actually need to know how it works, so I will advise you to ask the staff because at least the one we had, it had to be in low pressure. Nice balcony and very nice view of the bay, and it is walking distance.
The bad thing about the hotel is that there are not smoking designated areas, and the hotel is small so if you care about this I will just said that at a times it can be very bad since it is very common to get the smoke, even during breakfast.
The second thing that can be a trouble is the noise that comes from a bar that is located across the river during the weekend, fortunately it was not such a bad thing for us.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iguanavoladora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hector A, Propietario at HC Liri Hotel, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Thanks for your review in try advisor about HC liri, it is true, our hotel is a very basic hotel in a dream location and service with constant attention to our customers. The rooms are simple and clean.

Is a problem very worrying the cigars and we will designate the terraces and garden as unique places where smoking will be allowed now.


We learn a lot from you, our customers.


Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
4.3 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alcazar
Hotel Alcazar
#11 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
2.4 mi away
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
#4 of 4 in Playa Marsella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
El Jardin Hotel
El Jardin Hotel
#9 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
2.4 mi away
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
#22 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
0.6 mi away
Barrio Cafe Hotel
Barrio Cafe Hotel
#3 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HC Liri Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HC Liri Hotel

Property: HC Liri Hotel
Address: Playa San Juan Del Sur | Contiguo Al Yahure, San Juan del Sur 505, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — HC Liri Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to HC liri HotelHC liri Hotel is a small hotel on the beach of San Juan del Sur, with wonderfull views of the Pacific Ocean. We also have swimming pool in front of the sea. We offer daily transport to the different beaches in the area. In our hotel,we offer a personalized service to our guests because we want you to feel at home.Our breakfast is made with great quality and variety. We offer to our customers products fresh and different every day, because we want that you know the Nicaraguan gastronomy.!!We want only the enjoyment of our guests!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your HC Liri Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing