We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel In San Juan del Sur”
Review of Hotel Alcazar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Alcazar
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in San Juan del Sur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Great spot with great staff. Right on the beach with a nice pool in the back to hang out at. Rooms were cleaned promptly without disruption.

Things to know: Located right next to a club that stays open late one night a week. Earplugs provided by the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Allan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (174)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 174 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2013

Hotel Alcazar is a beautiful hotel in the heart of San Juan with an incredible ocean view, excellent staff and wonderful design. I had planned to stay in the hotel for one night but ended up staying two as it provided the perfect escape from the heat and bussle of the town. Yet, at the same time, everything you want or need is right outside your door. As a resident in San Juan I plan on escaping to this hotel at least once a month to get a good solid rest and the luxury of air conditioning. I especially love the details in the design - things like the light switch at the head of the bed, or full length mirror, or super comfy solid beds and heavy curtains to keep out the bright morning light. It is obvious that attention to detail is very important to Hotel Alcazar as their staff is also extremely attentive and just genuinely nice. The pool area is a great place to get some work done and slip in for a dip every now and then or even tan as there are both open and shaded areas. I would highly recommend Alcazar to any friends, family or acquaintances heading to San Juan because whether they are on a vacation, surf trip, romantic escape, or just plain need to relax Alcazar offers a great little sanctuary of comfort with all of San Juan right at your fingertips.

Room Tip: Room 5 has an excellent view of the harbor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Noelani A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

We stayed here for a few days as absolutely loved it! Great location in the beachfront right in the center of town and so nice to stay in a place where someone has really put a lot of efforts into the finishing and the style of the place..I would describe it as modern tropical style..lots of locally made nicaraguan hard wood pieces in a very European style.

The staff were great, especially the manager who is a girl from France who is will ing to bend over backwards for us and knows the country so well..really nice to talk to someone so passionate about the country!

Highly recomended!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Seandennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

We stayed for several days on our way back to Costa Rica and this hotel exceeded our expectations! Very clean and comfortable rooms within minutes to the beach and our favorite restaurant was directly across the street. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Thank you again for a memorable experience!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank dayboat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at the Alcazar Hotel for two nights in April 2013. The amenities were lovely, the staff was very helpful and it felt like a sanctuary from the hustle and bustle outside. The manager was extremely attentive and courteous. I felt very safe with a guard on duty. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. Oh and the view and location are spectacular, best in San Juan del Sur by far.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

Initially I was planning on staying in this hotel for 3 days but ended up staying for a week. One of the best things is that the rooms are spaacious and the bed is cooomfy and you have a little terrace that looks out to the town´s main street (but not the busy part, so is quiet) and the beach. Has a nice pool and the people are extremely nice and helpful. I went out at night and got back quite late (everyday) and there was always someone ready to open the door for me. Its also very safe (impooortant). Also, walking distance (couple of minutes) to awesome nightlife. Awesome.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobertoVK80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013 via mobile

Alcazar is amazing! The rooms are quite stunning in appearance - wonderfully decorated, spacious and clean, each with a lovely balcony overlooking the Pacific and the main strip of SJDS. Marion (manager) and Daniel (GSA) were both very friendly and helpful. The location of the hotel is fantastic, but does give way to my only criticism: the noise is almost unbearable. Screaming and loud music from the street until almost 2am and hammering and banging at 6am from within the hotel itself. While totally gorgeous and I would definitely stay again, next time I would undoubtedly bring earplugs.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sivartyad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GteHotelAlcazar, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Alcazar, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your opinion about the features of our facilities and your view about our level of guest service quality.

We are glad that you liked the hotel and that you found the service and attention of our staff to be very good.

In regards with the inconvenience that you experienced with the construction noise, unfortunately it is beyond our will and control because it comes from another building next to us
that is still under construction and it seems as far as we know it will be finished in a couple of months.

As for the noise from across the street or from the nearby bars and restaurants on the beach, it is a normal and usual situation on the weekends or days like fridays, saturdays, sundays and, sometimes even thursdays, the ambience becomes very festive and, again is beyond our control and will.

For all of our customers with light sleep and noise sensitive ears we can offer ear plugs for their convenience, next time you stay with us please mention that you would like to get a pair or two if you are staying with us over the weekend so we can give this to you at the fron desk.

We hope to host you again in a near future.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
4.7 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
1.2 mi away
Hotel & Resort Palermo
Hotel & Resort Palermo
#12 of 28 in San Juan del Sur
335 reviews
1.4 mi away
El Jardin Hotel
El Jardin Hotel
#5 of 28 in San Juan del Sur
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
HulaKai Hotel
HulaKai Hotel
#1 of 3 in Playa Maderas
135 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Victoriano
Hotel Victoriano
#14 of 28 in San Juan del Sur
186 reviews
3.1 mi away
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
#1 of 4 in Playa Marsella
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alcazar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alcazar

Address: Calle El Paseo Del Rey. Del Restaurante El Timon 150 Mts Al Norte | Del Restaurante El Timon 150 Mts Al Norte, San Juan del Sur 48600, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in San Juan del Sur
Price Range: £82 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Alcazar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alcazar is a beautiful boutique hotel featuring nine custom designed suites, each with its own unique personality. Totally renovated and updated in 2012, we are located just steps from the Pacific Ocean in the charming fishing village of San Juan Del Sur. Enjoy the aromas of the tropical off shore breezes and famous Latin American sunsets, unbelievable!Step back in time as you travel to San Juan Del Sur about two hours from Managua's international airport. You will pass through small villages, fields of sugar cane, groves of papaya and plantain trees and pass ox carts carrying products to local markets as they have done for hundreds of years. ALCAZARING-Al-ca'-zahr-ing(al-kuh-zahr-ing) verb: indulgent relaxation on our open air balconies or beaches while enjoying your favorite beverage as the sun slow sets. Nestle into the comfort of your suite with generous ocean view balconies furnished for comfort, conversation and total relaxation. Our staff is local and attentive to helping you enjoy your stay in as relaxed or as adventurous mode as you desire. Alcazar features stone graced walls accented with exotic woods from the local surroundings. Baths are detailed with handmade ceramic tiles, basins and fixtures. Services and facilities include: Swimming pool, laundry service, in room spa services, bi-lingual staff, full concierge services and tour organization. Lose yourself in a hideaway world of first-class comfort and service set within classic, sophisticated architecture graced with state of the art comforts, artfully nestled among beautiful features, handmade from nothing but the finest materials that Nicaragua has to offer. Please come stay with us...You will return with your friends! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Alcazar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing