We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Spot” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Alcazar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Alcazar
Ranked #11 of 27 Hotels in San Juan del Sur
Certificate of Excellence
San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

Very nice hotel. More expensive than most in San Juan del Sir but still a good value. Rooms large and clean. Furnishings nice. Staff extremely friendly and helpful. Right across from the beach in town. You can walk to all.the restaurants and bars.

Room Tip: Room 3 is nice. Great view of beach from balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wphenckel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    45
    7
    6
    6
See reviews for
20
71
25
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

I was in San Del sur Nicaragua over Thanksgiving weekend. There was a bit of remodeling being done, but everything was in order. I imagine they are done remodelling by now. They really have a nice thing going for a small quaint luxury hotel in SJdS.
The pricing is awesome for a hotel of this class. You would expect to pay 250-300$ in Costa Rica for the same amenities...and probably wouldn't be as close to the beach.

All the little architectural details and styling in the room is awesome. They are not huge, but certainly comfortable. Each room has a nice size balcony with chairs, plants and a great view of ocean. You can sit there and people watch or go downstairs and in no less then 30 steps you are in the sand. Beautiful sunsets can be seen from the terrace each and every day.

The staff is very helpful. Nelie really went out of her way to make us feel comfortable and all the staff always had a smile on their face.

Great restaurants are all within a 1-5 minute walk. Great location, beautiful amenities and a great staff. hotelalcazarnicaragua.com

Room Tip: Feel free to bring some food. They have a large communal fridge downstairs for food, beer, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

Our money has been stolen within 1 hour after arriving in this bright new hotel. The receptionist accompanied us to our room as we needed our creditcard to check-in. When looking for our creditcard the receptionist saw where we had hidden our valuebles. After a quick lunch we noticed our money had been stolen out of our bag. When informing the hotel their reaction was unacceptable as they didn't looked surprised, they were not looking for a solution and did not even appologise. We left the hotel instantly and reported the theft to the police.

This is a shame for any hotel and if I was the owner of this hotel, I would find the thief and fire her immediatly as this will ruin your place.

Kind Regards

Olivier Waaijer from Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Olivierwaaijer@hotmail.com

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Malaika V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GteHotelAlcazar, General Manager at Hotel Alcazar, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear Olivier,
In response to your comment, please be aware that we did called the police right away in order to solve this terrible inconvenient and ask you to please wait for them to get to the hotel to take your complaint. It was our surprise when you decided just to take your belongings and leave right away before the police arrive. Once the police got to the hotel, we informed them of the situation, but since you were no longer at the hotel they could not do much to clarify the situation.

However in order to provide a better service to our guests, we are now working on getting a security camera system so we can have a better control of the people who entered the rooms.

In the meantime, we will be on track of the police investigation as it is very important to us to find the responsible of this inconvenient.

Regards,

Management Hotel Alcazar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pacifica, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

I was truly impressed by the design, comfort and service at Hotel Alcazar in San Juan! It was our first time visiting San Juan so naturally I was a little worried about the accommodations, but the pics on the website for this hotel are right on. It truly is a beautiful place that is located in the center of all the action of San Juan. Be prepared for a lively place with a lot of action at night time. All the great restaurants, bars and dance spots are right across the street along with the amazing ocean front. I would definitely recommend this hotel! The management and team are great as well. As a frequent traveler to Nicaragua, its hard to find great service, but this place has it all! The great management makes a big difference!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarhus, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

I stayed at hotel Alcazar for 4 nights in November of 2013 and had a marvelous staying. Upon arriving I found myself in a bay of smiles.
The rooms, were clean and quiet. The bathrooms were nice and very clean. The bed was comfortable and the A\C in my bedroom felt so good....they serve excellent coffee and fresh fruit juice , while I was delighted with the marvelous view to the Pacific Ocean. The prices are affordable for what you get, theses things made me enjoy the staying at this hotel.
But my warmest congratulations to the hotel, for their choice of personnel. The manager Nelie Mora, knows how to really make you feel at home, and if you need anything it is like asking a family member. Congratulations from the heart, you were fantastic Nelie!!

The hotel is under contruction and they are about to finish the work, but its only on the first floor...

I will defenately comeback and stay here with my husband.


Laura Gry Steffensen
(Denmark)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura Gry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

Loved the place, loved the service!! Great staff!!

I just stayed at Alcazar with my partner and though there is some remodeling still going, the service and the smiles of the staff made our stay rocked. The place looks amazing, even when not finish (though construction it is only on the first floor), bad that I could not use the pool, but it didn’t really bother me as the ocean is less than a 5 minutes’ walk. Every morning we had coffee delivery to our room by the staff without even having to request it, service really impress me as you don’t really find this in many places in Nicaragua.
Staff was always smiling which is nice if you stay for a few days, they were always helpful and friendly, they help us with reservations for activities, dinner and all they recommended was top notch.
It is a very charming hotel, nice setting, great staff and the place to be if you want to be near the lively zone.

Hope they finish remodeling soon to come back!!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
louisville,colorado
Level Contributor
109 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here two nights and for the money I would have picked another hotel. It's still under construction so if you have breathing problems, look elsewhere. Power is on and off, woke up to no water. Can't use the toilet. And across the street is a club that spills into the street and is a very loud party all night long . They give you earplugs to use, so that's a sign...
Staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and the balcony very nice.
To make up for the inconveniences they gave us a free manicure and pedicure.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ljc65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GteHotelAlcazar, General Manager at Hotel Alcazar, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Dear ljc65,

Greetings from San Juan del Sur. We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We appreciate your constructive feedback as well as to point out the friendliness and helpfulness of our staff. We apologize for the fact that you had clearly not enjoyed your time here. However there are things that are out of our control as it is our noisy neighbors or the fact that there is a construction to improve the public water system in town causing troubles with water supply. We are sorry that your stay with us did not fulfill your expectations – we are continually trying to improve our performance and make our guests stay the best possible which is why we were having the remodeling which will be finish in two weeks.

Your review has made us work even harder and try to make things much better as well as communicate all details to our guests before arrival.

Once again, we thank you for your feedback and pointing out the great things about us and we hope to have you here once we are completely done with the remodeling.

All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
4.7 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
3.1 mi away
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
#1 of 4 in Playa Marsella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
1.4 mi away
El Jardin Hotel
El Jardin Hotel
#9 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort
Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort
#10 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
2.1 mi away
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
#21 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.2 mi away
Barrio Cafe Hotel
Barrio Cafe Hotel
#5 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alcazar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alcazar

Property: Hotel Alcazar
Address: Calle El Paseo Del Rey. Del Restaurante El Timon 150 Mts Al Norte | Del Restaurante El Timon 150 Mts Al Norte, San Juan del Sur 48600, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 27 Hotels in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Alcazar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alcazar is a beautiful boutique hotel featuring nine custom designed suites, each with its own unique personality. Totally renovated and updated in 2012, we are located just steps from the Pacific Ocean in the charming fishing village of San Juan Del Sur. Enjoy the aromas of the tropical off shore breezes and famous Latin American sunsets, unbelievable!Step back in time as you travel to San Juan Del Sur about two hours from Managua's international airport. You will pass through small villages, fields of sugar cane, groves of papaya and plantain trees and pass ox carts carrying products to local markets as they have done for hundreds of years. ALCAZARING-Al-ca'-zahr-ing(al-kuh-zahr-ing) verb: indulgent relaxation on our open air balconies or beaches while enjoying your favorite beverage as the sun slow sets. Nestle into the comfort of your suite with generous ocean view balconies furnished for comfort, conversation and total relaxation. Our staff is local and attentive to helping you enjoy your stay in as relaxed or as adventurous mode as you desire. Alcazar features stone graced walls accented with exotic woods from the local surroundings. Baths are detailed with handmade ceramic tiles, basins and fixtures. Services and facilities include: Swimming pool, laundry service, in room spa services, bi-lingual staff, full concierge services and tour organization. Lose yourself in a hideaway world of first-class comfort and service set within classic, sophisticated architecture graced with state of the art comforts, artfully nestled among beautiful features, handmade from nothing but the finest materials that Nicaragua has to offer. Please come stay with us...You will return with your friends! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Alcazar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing