We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our 4th Visit & Counting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 27 Hotels in San Juan del Sur
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our 4th Visit & Counting”
Reviewed 31 March 2007

This is our 4th stay at Piedras y Olas and we feel as though we are part of the family they have created there. While we stayed on this trip there was a flurry of talk about a recently posted review by folks that were not so happy. Suddenly it seemed prudent to share our experience.

As you will read in other review "perhaps" this wonderful place isn't for everybody. There ARE animals about the premises and they are treated with quite a bit of reverence. One can learn (we found out) about the vet clinic they support which is part of the foundation which is the base of their project. We didn't know this.

But what everyone will enjoy and recognize is the attention to detail, the warm and friendly staff that makes you feel like an honored guest, the great food, and general fun property. Over our four years of visits, we have watched the resort grow and we look forward to the surprises and improvements.

We have stayed in bungalows and in villas and have been very, very impressed with both. We learned early on that we were visiting the largest stairmaster in that part of the world so that is no longer a challenge for us. Our kids don't seem to notice but we did!

The last two years the construction has been noticeable and we were grateful to be warned by the staff as well as offerred an incentive to stay near to it of 20% (I think). As long as we knew, we were prepared.

We love this place and recommend it to everyone. I see the owner's name bantered about in other reviews and that is the only reason we'll say, Thanks Chris, for a job well done. You have a wonderful place with a warm and loving staff.

  • Liked — Pools, Food and Staff
  • Disliked — Construction (but we were warned)
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank NuevaVista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    393
    189
    68
    48
    30
See reviews for
180
263
29
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Asian-Pacific
1 review
Reviewed 22 March 2007

In general our 3 day stay was very enjoyable. The layout of the resort is excellent as well as the archtecture of the villas.
The fact that the cats were jumping on our laps several times during dinner and breakfast is unbearable. And the way the lady manager then was carrying the cats on her arms and loving them didn't seem the right reaction either. In our beautiful villa we had hundreds of ants ( big ones ). Even after spraying twice they were still there in all the closets and drawers.
The service and the food in the restaurant were very good.
Taking in consideration that the standards of hotels in Nicaragua are not comparable to US standards there is still a lot of room for improvement in the hotel's management.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — Cleanliness
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roseAsian-Pacific
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Va.
1 review
Reviewed 11 March 2007

Great place to stay!! I just came back from Nicaragua, and spent the last three days at Pelican Eyes,and it was wonderful! We had the two story two bedroom casa and it was beautiful,with a great view of the town and ocean. The food was great and the staff wonderful. I could go on and on about the layout and the the beauty of this resort,but I'll just say that in most places this type of resort would run $1,000 a night!

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
Thank paul14Va
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
central california
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2007

We have stayed at Piedras y Olas twice over the last year for several days each time. It is wonderfully conceived and executed as a low key, relatively small, definitely Central American resort with an emphasis on both visitor comfort and local community well-being. In our experience the hotel's setting is gorgeous, rooms are spectacular in design, house-keeping has been exemplary, pools fabulous, and restaurant terrific (especially for breakfast).

Keep in mind that electrical power comes and goes across the entire country on a pretty regular basis, there is a building boom in beach areas that goes on almost constantly and many of the local folks, although quite friendly and helpful, have not quite tuned into the quirky requirements of non-Spanish speaking tourists.

I was moved to write because of one particularly negative review posted here. Yes, there ARE bugs and there are bugs everywhere in Central America. This, and some of the other complaints registered, seem to fall in the category of things people need to accept and get over when traveling in the second-poorest nation in the Western Hemisphere. At any rate, when the disgruntled guest complained to Chris, the owner, he says he was given a refund for all four nights!!! That is, in my view, pretty darn generous - just about unprecedented for an inn-keeper.

Piedras y Olas is a great resort with great management.

  • Liked — overall ambience
  • Disliked — beach access
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank nicatourista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2007

We stayed for three nights in December 06. It was a fantastic hotel with brilliant facilites. We hired a small villa which I would highly recommend. The restaurant was excellent and a great breakfast was included. It was a short walk down a steep driveway into San Juan del Sur but worth it.

  • Liked — Luxury, chilled and relaxing.
  • Disliked — There were a collection of naimals which were very noisy behind our villa.
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MBLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
5.1 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
1.2 mi away
Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort
Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort
#10 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
314 reviews
1.7 mi away
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
#22 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
#1 of 4 in Playa Marsella
418 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alcazar
Hotel Alcazar
#11 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
169 reviews
1.7 mi away
El Jardin Hotel
El Jardin Hotel
#9 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa

Property: Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa
Address: De la Parroquia 1 1/2 cuadras al este, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in San Juan del Sur
#3 Green Hotel in San Juan del Sur
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Juan del Sur
#6 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa offers a stunning hillside location and panoramic views of San Juan del Sur and the ocean beyond. Our infinity pools, spacious accommodations, romantically lush gardens, wonderful restaurants, open air bars, and one-of-a-kind San Juan Del Sur coastline sailing adventure are a unique experience.A visit to our Tranquila Day Spa is an experience of sheer indulgence. We offer a menu of massage and body treatments to ensure that you truly relax on your romantic Nicaraguan getaway. Experience more of Nicaragua with day trips to Granada or the artisan markets in Masaya. Here at the resort, open air yoga classes, water aerobics, and active local excursions (arranged by our concierge) help keep you fit while visiting paradise. Even our brick stairs—winding up the hillside — contribute to the cause!Our San Juan del Sur hotel’s mission is to provide a unique and memorable Nicaragua vacation experience in every aspect of your stay. Our friendly staff endeavors to fulfill every possible need or special request (and to predict those wishes perhaps not yet even realized!)No request is too big or too small. Let us know what we can do to enhance your stay in paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Preferred Hotels, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Eyes Hotel San Juan Del Sur
Hotel Pelican Eyes
Resort Pelican Eyes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing