We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth to it's price”
Review of Hotel Casablanca

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Juan del Sur
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Casablanca
Ranked #24 of 27 Hotels in San Juan del Sur
Reviewed 5 January 2010

We stayed 3 nights, room was very very small, Once we open the door, bed is just in the front of us. No space at all, we couldn't open the refrigirator without moving our luggage(we just brought small trolley).Only bath towel provided, no face towel nor small towel. Every morning we were asked if room require cleaned up. If it's the "hotel", every day cleaning and linen change should be mandatory. One day, althoujgh we requested room to be cleaned up, house keeper did nothing but just put new bath towel on the bed. Beds have not made up, floor and bath not cleaned up.
Front person could not provide necessary information about tour or taxi rates. They leave before 7pm, after it, only security guy left and couldn't help anything about travel advise.
Breakfast was advised to start from 7:30, but at 7:30 is the time kitchen staff start to arrive, taken more time until breakfast served.
Very noisy in the night because bar along with the beach road kept making big sounds of music.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Penguin55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (76)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Casablanca
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2009

We stayed 3 nights at Casablanca in January 2009.

While the hotel was very convenient to the beach attractions, the bathrooms, pool, etc. were very dirty. See the pictures attached.

The rooms were definitely not worth the rate they charged.

Reception staff was friendly, but did not know the bus schedule to take a side trip to Granada.

Free breakfast was bland, with same food every day.

The hotel has a small, but beautiful atrium with trees, where the staff served breakfast.

The hotel had WIFI, but intermittent and very slow.

The air conditioners cooled the room to an acceptable level. The showers had heated shower-head for hot water (called "suicide shower-heads"), which is very dangerous.

Both Friday and Saturday nights were noisy because the music thumping from the bars - although that is not because of the fault of the hotel.

In general, the hotel is acceptable, but there are many other cheaper, cleaner options available in town.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2009

Arrived in San Juan Del Sur with no reservations, checked out other hotels and decided to stay at the Casa Blanca. The receptionist showed us a room that was available on the second floor for $80.00 a night. It was clean, had a/c,safe,refer,and decent size bathroom. After going down stairs to check in, I realized my cell phone was not working. The nice lady behind the counter let me borrow her personal cell phone so I could call back to States and let my wife I arrived safely. The next morning they had a free home cooked breakfest. We had only booked the room for one night, but we stayed another 2 nights because of the room and location. They have a great outside patio for relaxing and to people watch. I would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RIVERYETI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2009

Second the former review of "nasty bathrooms" and the room we stayed in had no view. Beds were uncomfortable.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank lizzybeth17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2009

We reserved the suite at the hotel for one night. We arrived early from Granada and the room was not ready, which was understandable. We were told it would be ready in half an hour. 40 minutes later, it was another 10 minutes, then after 10 minutes, we were told it would be another five... Finally she came to tell us the room was ready. I was totally sympathetic that we were there early and not her only concern. The room smelled fresh when we arrived, like it had just been polished. The ceiling was raised and covered in wood; very charming. When we stepped into the bathroom, we could not help but notice all the crumbs of something on the floor and overall how dirty it seemed. We were desperate to hit the beach by this time and left it. Since we did not complain and ask to have the bathroom cleaned again, we suffered through it. Those who chose to shower anyway wore their flip flops.

The front area of Hotel Casablanca was beautiful. There are hammocks and rocking chairs, etc. It is right across the street from the beach and right in the middle of everything. We spent the day at the beach and ate lunch and dinner in the restaurants along the beach. We took the tour to La Flor that evening to see the baby turtles hatching. We returned around midnight and pulled back the sheets on the king size bed, only to find they were covered in blood (stains??) These were little dots of blood all over the sheets, which set in paranoia about bed bugs... The two sleeping in that bed chose to sleep on the covers vs in the bed. After an uncomfortable night, we were relieved not to be covered in bites the next morning.

Breakfast was included, but not very good. We walked to the Espresso bar for some good coffee and a muffin afterwards.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank bassgirl73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2009

So my family and some friends came down to visit and we when down to spend a few days on the most beautiful beach in Nicaragua. We made reservations from Granada by phone and we were set. Off to San Juan, knowing it was high season we knew it was necessary to make reservation. I had read the Trip Advisor comments and thought the place looked decent. We got there tired after traveling and went to check in and we found out that our reservation had been given away. We spent the next three hours finding somewhere to stay. We found that four other tourists had the same experience with Casa Blanca. Avoid the place if you can. If you get lucky and find room there it may be nice, but dont trust the reception when you make reservations and surely dont count on have reservations when you get there. There are many beautiful place for cheaper and they treat you like human. Find somewhere else....

  • Stayed: December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank csmaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2008

My friend and I stayed here for 3 nights during the Easter holidays. We weren't aware of the popularity of the SJDS during the holy week, and thankful they had reserved our room with just an email. The location is central to the town and bars and restaurants. I am not sure if it was just for holy week, but the hotel also had security.

The free breakfast was fresh and good, and they were generous to allow free use of their computer. The pool in the courtyard is quite small, but refreshing on a hot day. The people at front desk didn't speak English but still helped us set up a canopy tour and took messages for us.

The rooms are a bit noisy, but since it is small their aren't too many guests to make noise. The aforementioned guards also watch some questionable programming late at night.

Overall, a good experience and worth the price.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank tinxycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
7.0 mi away
La Estacion
La Estacion
#27 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
51 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Victoriano
Hotel Victoriano
#12 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
180 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Dolce Vita
Hotel La Dolce Vita
#21 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Barrio Cafe Hotel
Barrio Cafe Hotel
#5 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
229 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rositas Hotel
Rositas Hotel
#8 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
163 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Encanto del Sur
Hotel Encanto del Sur
#22 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casablanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casablanca

Address: Paseo Maritimo, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 27 Hotels in San Juan del Sur
Price Range: £37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing