We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”
Review of Rositas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rositas Hotel
Ranked #8 of 27 Hotels in San Juan del Sur
Certificate of Excellence
Killarney
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

If your looking for I quiet place in the middle of San Juan del sur this is the spot.
We had a small apartment even though we booked a room.
Ac, free water refills and cable for 30 dollars a night.
I found the staff ok but they seemed more interested in talking amongst themselves than answering a question if you went to reception. They make you feel like you are breaking up a serious conversation. The cleaners were all really friendly and nice.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    44
    17
    7
    1
See reviews for
12
60
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Rosita's is the best place to stay in SJDS. The price is right and the rooms are clean. Friendly staff, available late night. I'm going back this July 2014 and Rosita's will be where a lay my head. I've stayed at other hotels /motels/hostels in Nic and Costa and this place is all you need and they have very reasonable rates. 35 male from South Carolina USA.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

A friend and I spent 3 nights at Rosita's last week. The room was loaded with amenities - AC, a gas stove, refrigerator, microwave, kitchen sink, an armoir for our clothes, tv, a table and chairs. The bathroom was super clean, totally tiled and had a big fan in the window, which kept the bathroom fresh and dry. In addition, there was a small table with a 5 gallon jug of drinking water; the tap water was fine, but the water in the jug was even better. We really appreciated having it after coming in from the heat.

The room, which is "el dentro" and so does not have any street noise, faces a garden and courtyard with WIFI (which also worked in the room), tables and chairs and another kitchen with a stove, sink, plates and silverware, some skillets and pots, and coffee urn that always had fresh coffee.

John, who's in charge of keeping everything ship shape, monitors the area to make sure the noise level doesn't impact other guests. I've been in dozens of hotels and hostels in Central America, and this was the first one where the management actually intervened to keep noise down; this surprised and impressed me and is one of the reasons that I'll come back to Rosita's.

As if all the things I've mentioned weren't enough, there's a room with computers and internet adjoining the front office - the internet is fast its free.

I really enjoyed meeting Rosita who is friendly, has a great sense of humor and is very focused on providing quality for her guests.

The only part of my experience at Rosita's that was slightly less than excellent were the pillows, which were adequate but a little lumpy. This was a small blip in an otherwise really lovely experience of quality and caring at Rosita's Joxi Hotel.

Room Tip: The inside rooms, "el dentro," are quieter than those facing the street. In addition, ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariaAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tel aviv
1 review
Reviewed 27 March 2014

I have been to SJDS many times and stayed in quite a few hotels/hostels there. Rositas is undoubtedly by far the best option!!
Fully equipped, air conditioned rooms, free mineral water in your room, refrigerator, some rooms have a kitchen indoors.
and everything is in working order, which is pretty rare for town. Located a minute walk from the beach and close to everything. Super clean, great attitude from the staff, always welcoming, flexible and helpful.
The only place for me to stay in SJDS! !

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erezico1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2014

I've been staying at Rositas since 2010 on annual trips to San Juan. My first stay, I was a 27 year old needing an affordable room in downtown to stay in with my girlfriend (whom is more used to US amenities than myself). I searched a number of apartments around town because we were planning an extended stay (4.5 months it ended up being). Rositas was, and is, the best for central location, professional and friendly staff, excellent security, and a really great vibe between travelers and longer time stays.

They have GREAT internet, a back patio that is as quite and peaceful as any spot in the middle of town, and superb rooms for 2 to 6 people. English is spoken by Rosita and others.

As for the ever present concern for safety, your things are safe, and you are in a well lit part of town, so if one member of your party wants to leave the group and head home its a short walk, in a safe part of town, so accompanying them is easy, if even necessary.

I give Rosita my business every time I'm in town, and I recommend anyone else do the same!

Room Tip: The rooms in the back patio that do not face the street are the quietest. Their are a few dorms on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WreckingBaLLIan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

This place was cheap and met our needs of a place to sleep and nothing more. My friend and I stayed in their dorm room for one night, although the room was probably the stuffiest room I've ever stayed in. The dorm room had no windows and only a couple of wall fans to try to make the heat bearable. The beds were alright... not hard as bricks, but not super comfy either. The bathrooms were cleaner than other places that we stayed in Nicaragua, which was a refreshing change. The vibe of this place, though, was not the vibe of a hostel. There was no common area and hostel guests were not allowed to use the kitchen, so there really wasn't any gathering location for the travelers to congregate and share stories. There were some tables and chairs set up on the sidewalk in front of the hostel, though, which was a mice place to pass time since the dorm room was a little uncomfortable and cave-like.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmfrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rositas-Hotel, Public Relations Manager at Rositas Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank You for your very helpful review - We appreciate that.
Sometimes guests see problems that we miss or are unaware of.
To solve that problem and a noise problem we have eliminated our shared, dorm-style hostel room and only offer private rooms with private baths.
We are remodeling that room for better ventilation and converting it to be a large private room with private bath.
Thank you again for your help!
Rositas Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

Close to the beach and mid street of the goodness. And surprisingly quiet at night. Would most definately recommend ! We had a private bath and aircon. No complaints at all. Stayed 3 nights in room one and was fine !

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Merpcicl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
3.0 mi away
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
#4 of 4 in Playa Marsella
144 reviews
0.0 mi away
Barrio Cafe Hotel
Barrio Cafe Hotel
#5 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
223 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alcazar
Hotel Alcazar
#11 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
El Jardin Hotel
El Jardin Hotel
#9 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
231 reviews
4.9 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
2.0 mi away
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
#22 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rositas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rositas Hotel

Property: Rositas Hotel
Address: Market 1 & 1/2 Block west | 1/3 Block East From Beach, San Juan del Sur 48600, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 27 Hotels in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large economy hotel with 24 private rooms & suites for 1 to 10 persons all with private baths & warm showers. 1/3 Block from the beach in a quiet & safe location next to all the action. Open 24/7 with live on duty front desk reception for walk-in, check-in, customer service, and incoming phone calls. Hotel amenities include all linens & towels, daily housekeeping, WIFI & optional AC & free coffee 24 hours. No minimum stay requirements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Rositas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing