We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (176)
Filter reviews
176 results
Traveller rating
100
49
18
7
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
100
49
18
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews air con great location seconds walk an upgrade filtered water clean rooms fresh towels excellent stay excellent hotel hot shower traveling alone per night awesome staff communal kitchen stayed here for nights microwave fans
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 176 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2018

Words cannot express how idyllic it is to visit San Juan del Sur in general and the Rositas Hotel specifically. Imagine getting in a time machine and going back to surf culture in Oceanside California in 1964! Super clean, super nice staff. You will see a few tiny lizards (they eat insects) in the courtyard, which is part a tropical experience.

Room Tip: Nicer rooms around the courtyard
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davekogden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2018 via mobile

When arriving we were met both by the owner Rosita and her front desk staff and they all spoke English which made our stay so much easier. Our room was spacious enough with chairs on a wooden balcony that was a great place for people and street watching!!! We enjoyed their cooked breakfast one morning in the upstairs seating area while we the other mornings made our own breakfast in the well-equipped communal kitchen. Free water and coffee all day. Nice bagels and other baked goods for sale in the reception. The staff was constantly dusting, sweeping and mopping. Our room was immaculately cleaned every day. It was a great location to shops, to the many beech shuttles and to the strip with sunsets, happy hour and music. If ever again in SJDS I will definitely stay there again!!!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lottie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rositas-Hotel, Owner at Rositas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2018

Lottie E - Thanks for the reservation.
The staff were thrilled with your comments since they worked very hard to learn English.
We just installed High Speed Fiber internet and DSL internet. 30mbps and five access points to cover the whole hotel area.
If one provider fails the other takes over
And added 50% to our backup water for a total of 7,500 liters.
We also have our Superior rooms with the extras & features of much more expensive hotels. For a few more dollars all have a fridge, microwave & in room unlimited filtered purified water.. Most are kitchenettes & two have full kitchens.
Thanks again we hope you return,
Rosita & 4 bi-lingual reception staff.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018

We stayed 3 nights and paid $35 per night. Didn't use the kitchen which was sparse but clean but appreciated the free coffee and water. At bit of a parlaver getting in with the key through the gate and the common area is one long table and some seating which, if occupied, makes it difficult for passers by. We were awakened two mornings to a European guest baying on his mobile phone (What's App) at 6.30am. However it did get quiet at night time as we crept in after 10pm quietly.

Met some other guests there (mainly mature couples) and I know that for some snowbirds who stay several months deals in rooms are to be had. Came back to the area after a week but decided to stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: We only saw ours, which was small but it had a TV which worked! and was ensuite.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Healix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rositas-Hotel, Owner at Rositas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2018

Healix - Thanks for the reservation.
For future guests we are in the best location in SJDS 1/3 block from the beach around other hotels that are at least twice our price. We have our patio area locked for security. Additional cooking supplies and tables - Just ask the offce. Quiet rules 10:30 PM until 7:00 AM but sorry we slipped up 6:30 AM
For $35 you receive a room with a kitchenette, microwave, refrigerator, sink, counter top & storage.
We are the only hotel in our price range with both electrical power and water backup for frequent city outages.
We now have High Speed Fiber and DSL internet 30mbps and five access points to cover the whole hotel area.
If one provider fails the other takes over.
Thanks again,
Rosita & 4 bi-lingual reception staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018

My favourite accommodation on a 3 week backpacking trip around Nicaragua. Friendly, easy-going, quiet, comfortable and clean with quirky old school rooms. The owner knows what she's doing, and that's just giving great value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 762forbesey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rositas-Hotel, Owner at Rositas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2018

Thanks for the reservation we enjoy happy guests like you,
We have a room for all budgets. Our basic & standard rooms are very economical. All private baths & warm showers.
Our Superior rooms have the extras & features of much more expensive hotels. For a few more dollars all have a fridge, microwave & in room unlimited filtered purified water.. Most are kitchenettes & two have full kitchens.
Thanks again, Rosita & 4 bi-lingual reception staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2018 via mobile

We moved to Nicaragua and found this place walking around town. The crew is amazingly polite and professional. We ended up staying 4 nights. It is super safe , super clean hot shower and kitchen area we used to eat our meals. Just down the street from the beach. Perfect! Rooms have excellent cleanliness and we had new sheets and towels every day. Rosita, he owner, runs a tight ship very friendly and courteous. Bilingual staff all smiles ! Just what Nicaragua is all about , great people! We also had a really nice guy guard our car at night. We enjoyed our stay here we will definitely be back. Made us feel at home.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Thank Aly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rositas-Hotel, Owner at Rositas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2018

THANKS Aly C for your reservation & nice evaluation.
As always our standard rooms are for those on a budget to save money to spend in San Juan del Sur.
We recommend our Superior rooms/suites with kitchenettes or full kitchen if you want the extras of expensive hotels at twice our price.
All rooms offer free WIFI, free coffee 24 hours & optional AC. $6 for 12 hours at night, slightly more for 24 hours.
Thanks again & we hope you return.
Rosita & 4 bi-lingual reception staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews