We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best spot to stay in San Juan del Sur” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Park Avenue Villas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Juan del Sur
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Park Avenue Villas
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
220 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“The best spot to stay in San Juan del Sur”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2009

My 16 year old daughter and I spent 9 days at Park Avenue Villas during spring break. I initially chose Park Avenue Villas solely as they were the only place that replied to all of my emails and the price was right. After visiting San Juan, I felt confident that I had chosen the best option in town based on our preferences.

We rarely stayed in our room when at the hotel, except when watching TV or movies, as the front viewing deck was such a pleasant place to be. Watching the sunset was a daily event. The view was fantastic and we often met other guests here. Internet reception was usually best on the deck as well.

The hosts, Ralph and Renda from Texas, were friendly and very knowledgeable on local restaurants and tourist attractions. The rest of the local staff were wonderful as well. All spoke English but to varying levels.

The rooms were like new and the whole facility was always totally spotless. We chose a junior suite which was perfect for us - a small kitchenette that we used mainly for heating up leftovers and for keeping drinks and snacks. There were plenty of electrical outlets.

The location was only about a block and a half from the beach and up on the hill slightly which gave us the wonderful views. It was very quiet and peaceful although at times there were children playing in the park below. There were numerous excellent restaurants nearby from a few minutes to about a 10 minute walk away.

The pool was adequate for the size of the place although the deck area was not that large or inviting. Much of the pool area was shaded being in the centre of the hotel. The pool didn't have too much chlorine and appeared to be very well maintained.

There was a watchman at the front door at all times. I felt perfectly comfortable with leaving valuables in my room and very secure at night as the front gate was locked and watched. Not that San Juan is a not a safe place to be however!

The price was right. As opposed to many of the other places in town no breakfast was served. Some days it might have been nice to have had breakfast prepared for me and to have eaten on the front deck but in general I appreciated the reduction in price compared to the other accommodation and the opportunity it gave us to try out all of the excellent and well priced breakfast locations in town.

The hotel has about 10 rooms and was the perfect size for us. The hotel was not full during our visit. While we missed out on meeting other travellers, we also received more personal attention and the atmosphere was closer to a smaller bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sixtysix66_66_66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    10
    1
    3
    3
See reviews for
28
66
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
doki8
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2009

There is no better place to stay in San Juan del Sur. The prices are very reasonable - each room is basically a mini apartment. We stayed in a midlevel suite with living room, tv, kitchen, 5 gallon water jug, air conditioning in every room, plentiful hot water, etc etc. There were dishes for us to use, and room service cleaned and put everything back for us. There is a nice pool in the middle of the hotel that is open to the sky, which is great to just float around in at night. At the time I went, we were the only people in the hotel since it was a slow time. Ralph and Renda, who stay in one of the larger suites, were amazing hosts - setting up zip lining tours, taking us around the town, and helping us in every way possible.

We considered some of the other hotels in the area (Pelican Eyes, Villa Isabella, etc) but we were so glad that we picked Park Avenue Villas. The other hotels were about the same price, if not more expensive, and they required a lot more walking up hills to get to. This hotel is located a block from the beach, right by the best restaurants (El Timon, Iguana), and there is a great atv rental spot ($20 for an hour, on your own, go wherever you want - awesome!).

San Juan del Sur is an extremely safe town (walking around at night was not a problem at all), and the Park Avenue Villas have a security guard at night with a locked gate, so safety was never an issue.

I'm definitely staying there again when I go back to Nica.

  • Liked — The hosts, free internet, clean, safe, etc.
  • Disliked — no issues
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank doki8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marble Falls, Tx
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2008

We recently spent a week at the Park Avenue Villas in San Juan Del Sur and had no expectations of what we would find. On a scale of 1 - 10 this hotel is a 20!! We went all around town and saw other hotels and none had the view of Park Avenue Villas. The accomodations are very nice and spacious and modern with a Central American flare. The owners Ralph and Renda helped us plan and schedule activities and have hired a wonderful staff that are more than willing to get you whatever you need. The beach was a very short walk from the hotel and there is no need for transportation while you are there because you can walk everywhere!! It gives you an opportunity to talk to the locals and see what this quaint little town has to offer. We were lucky to see 3 cruise ships come and go during our stay as well as a very expensive yacht!! I wouldn't stay anywhere else and am planning a return trip next year!!

  • Liked — The view of the bay and the Pacific Ocean
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank loushcu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Healdburg
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2008

We arrived in San Juan thinking we'd just stay for 2 - 3 days. But we just couldn't tear ourselves away from San Juan. The town was wonderful but our stay wouldn't have been the same if we didn't find Park Avenue Villas. The value of this hotel cannot be understated - we wanted to be comfortable and close to the beach. Ofcourse a view from the premises would be nice - and we found all that we wanted at this fine hotel. Ralph and Renda as the proprietors of this establishment are top notch. There may be other fine hotels in the area, but I believe you won't find a better value in all of San Juan Del Sur. And to not mention the friendly and helpful staff I couldn't forgive myself. Go ahead and stay awhile at the Park Ave Villas - you won't be sorry!!

Erik, Eileen & Kyle Bean
Healdsburg, CA

  • Liked — Great rooms, friendly staff, view from the covered patio, pool
  • Disliked — truly can't think of anything negative...
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Erikb1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2008

Like many travelers, I maniacly search the internet for THE place to stay when I go on vacation. Our trip to San Juan del Sur was no exception. So if you are like me and you HAVE to read a million tripadvisor reviews and exhaust every known search engine before you choose your lodging, go ahead....or you could work smart and not hard and follow the advice of everyone who has reviewed Park Avenue Villas. This is THE best place to stay in San Juan del Sur, without a doubt.

The hotel is immaculately clean, inside the rooms/suites and out. You get a kitchen, which is a huge bonus. The high end, tiled, outdoor pool is perfectly maintained and extremely refreshing. Safety is not an issue, because there is a friendly gentleman working the gate 24 hours a day. The rooms have great a/c, ceiling fans, and tons of cable tv channels. Everything is within walking distance...the market, the beach, every restaurant and bar, coffee shops, surf shops...everything...And maybe the best feature is the huge common area overlooking the town and the sea and perfect for sunset watching and reading.

Ralph and Renda, owners of Park Avenue Villas and Texas natives, make you feel at home immediately. They are as gracious as hosts can be. You feel like you are a guest in their home as opposed to their hotel. Not only do they run a great hotel, they are also extremely active in the community, which is another excellent reason to support them.

Book it!

  • Liked — the owners
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank GeorgiaMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
salt lake city, utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2008

Our stay the Park Avenue Villas was great. The view is amazing and the hosts and staff are helpful and gracious. We had a room with a kitchen that was well equipped and a view to die for. The building was very safe, clean and close to everything. A great place in San Juan del Sur.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank cmase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seatte, WA
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2008

We have recently returned from our week long Honeymoon visit to Nicaragua and our stay at the Park Avenue Villas in San Juan del Sur...and we cannot stop talking about it with everyone we know or encounter day to day.

Ralph and Renda were gracious hosts and the hotel was better than either of could have imagined. The view from our private deck from the “Ritz” was breathtaking and the amenities and staff at the hotel offered were top of the line. We didn't have to lift a finger, dishes were cleaned, bed was made, and fresh towels ready for our use each day when we returned to for a nightcap. Fresh Nica flowers were even placed out just for our visit as a warm welcome.

A special Thank you to the staff Jorge, Jenny, Alma, Dorothy, Ramon and Oscar for always being there to assist us in any way.

During our stay we met the friendly locals and even some other visitors from all over the world including Jerusalem, France, Norway and North Carolina. These folks joined us for a sunset or two at the villas and snacks over great conversation; most of them left wishing they would have stayed at the Park Ave Villas rather than return to their own rooms in other hotels.

Park Avenue Villas will be the only hotel we recommend to family and friends that are thinking of traveling to Nicaragua, and we will surely be returning for some more sunshine and hospitality like only Nica can offer.

Ralph and Renda, thank you again for a wonderful experience at the Park Avenue Villas! We will never forget it and will we be back soon!

  • Liked — View of the beach from the hotel and the staff
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennifercalvery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
0.0 mi away
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
#21 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.0 mi away
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
#4 of 4 in Playa Marsella
3.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.0 mi away
El Jardin Hotel
El Jardin Hotel
#9 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
0.0 mi away
Barrio Cafe Hotel
Barrio Cafe Hotel
#4 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
#1 of 4 in Playa Marsella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Park Avenue Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Park Avenue Villas

Property: Hotel Park Avenue Villas
Address: Park Avenue # 1 | From Rest. El Timon, 2 blocks north, 1 block east, San Juan del Sur 48600, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Avenue Villas is a condo hotel only a block from the beach within walking distance of restaurants, shopping, activities in the middle of town. The hotel is on a slight hill so you get a panaramic view of the bay with awesome sunsets from our second floor deck.We have long and short term rates and 4 selections of suites. Our motto, the longer you stay, the less you pay... We offer one and two bedroom suites with airconditioning, TV, DVD players, great selection of DVDs free...ceiling fans and hot water throughout the hotel. courtyard pool is on the lower floor. Call or email for pricing.In San Juan del Sur and Park Avenue Villas, there is truly No Bad Days. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing