We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall Good experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel & Resort Palermo
Ranked #10 of 27 Hotels in San Juan del Sur
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Stayed @ Palermo for a month in Jan. Very nice villa. Windows had screens, but beautiful large doors did not, but I had no real problem with insects. Talked to three couples at the pool who reported scorpions in their room. I had door open late at night, every night, never saw a scorpion the entire time I was there. Mionkey outside my villa as well as geckos in my room which was very cool. I did not have a phone with me that worked in SJDC so no phone in the room was a concern if there was an emergency.
I found the staff excellent, I liked the restauraunt, used it foiur times for dinner, steak was excellent and I thought the prices were reasonable. Pool was very nice. Onc piece of advice: to check what the wind conditions are like for the month you want to visit. In Jan the winds were relentless, every day gusting 20-40mph, making the beaches pretty unusable. The winds made it necessary to shim every window and door the rattling was so bad. Nonetheless, I would highly recommend and hope to return next year. Appreciated free shuttle to town.

Room Tip: Highest rooms have beautiful views near the rainforest but a steep walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathyey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (329)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 329 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2013

We stayed in unit #20. In terms of the complex as a whole, it is well maintained and clean and the staff is friendly and helpful. The pool is nice, with a view out to the ocean. It is built on a hillside, so depending on your location, you may have quite a hill to walk up from the pool/restaurant area. The pool chairs are quite hard, there are not enough pads to go around, and the ones they have a pretty thin. If you are in the water all the time this won't bother you. There is also not much shade around the pool and it gets very hot. The complex offers a shuttle into town on the hour, which takes about 8 minutes. They stop running at 6 PM, however, so you will have to taxi back in the evening. The shuttle driver told us to expect to pay about $8 to taxi back, however, we were able to negotiate between $2 & $4 depending on the driver. Set the deal before you get in the car!
Unit #20 is spacious, clean and sparsely furnished. It was disappointing to see how poorly stocked the kitchen is. With very little expense on the owner's part this unit could be SO much better. They literally had 4 sets of dishes and cutlery, which meant you were doing dishes constantly. Old aluminum pots and pans had seen better days. Each bedroom has a large walk-in closet but only 4 hangers between them. I hope the owners read this because if they added a few little things it would make a big difference to travelers. For example, 20 hangers in each closet, and: an iron (travelers get wrinkled!), a toaster, a kettle, kitchen towels, and a broom. We spilled stuff on the floor and had to call housekeeping to clean it up...seriously??? Put a darn broom in the room so people can keep it tidy. And more sets of dishes so people don't keep running out. Other things you should be aware of: You pay extra for drinking water, albeit only $5.00 for an office-sized bottle. Also, the power goes out frequently, sometimes hours at a time. Bring a flashlight and candles. Booking staff were great, and on-site staff was responsive with any concerns we had. We would stay there again, however, we would research specific units first.

Room Tip: Some rooms have view and others do not. Check out the reviews for specific units...some are much bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leslie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

The kitchen supplies were sparse, not even a strainer. The restaurant was overpriced and the food mediocre. Maria is fantastic! She was able to arrange for a taxi to the Dr. office when my daughter developed a seafood allergy, they were ready and waiting for us when we arrived.
The shuttle service was not reliable and one day we waited 45 minutes to go into town.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tamara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

I must agree that semicolon1 has hit the nail on the head. Your experience at Villas de Palermo will in great part be determined by the furnishings provided by the owner of the unit you are renting. This is not a reason to hesitate renting there, however. The staff is outstanding and really is dedicated to providing a satisfying experience for all guests. Maria Louisa in particular speaks fluent English and has an extensive knowledge of the whole country of Nicaragua, as well as the SJDS area. She can arrange everything from hikes to in-room massages and will iron out all the wrinkles you encounter.

The restaurant, while of course quite convenient to the resort, is very high-priced compared to other SJDS dining options and the food quality was just average. They were unable to provide several dishes that I ordered, claiming on one evening that they had no limes, avocados, or crabmeat. The crabmeat I can understand since it's imported, but I had just bought limes and avocados myself at the local grocery. How could a full-service LatAm restaurant fail to have these items on hand? Unless you're really wedded to the view, go downtown and sample the wonderful restaurants in SJDS. You'll eat better (at El Colibri, for example) and spend less.

All in all, we had a great time here and are strongly considering renting for a full month next winter. We will, however, call ahead to make sure there are more than two worn-out pots in the kitchen cupboard.

Room Tip: There are 50 villas. The higher the number, the higher up the [steep] mountain you are, but all 50...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gdstuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

As I understand it, even though the fifty villas are structural duplicates (or near duplicates) of each other, what you get at Villas de Palermo depends partly on whom you are renting from. That is, some come with well-equipped kitchens, more advanced electronics, better and more plentiful outdoor furniture (hammocks, for instance), ceiling fans, and the like.

If you have specific needs, therefore, I very much suggest that you get a detailed rundown from the owner of the specific unit with whom you may find yourself negotiating. (We used VRBO to make our arrangements with an individual owner--who in turn dealt with the on-sight management company.)

As for our unit: not perfect for a couple who love to market, cook, and dine in-house: scant few dishes, truly horrible, old (and toxic, teflon-coated) cookware, blunt knives, no strainer, etc. That's a shame, of course, as there was a solid workable kitchen in the joint. In the end, it was more a tease than anything else.

As for other stuff:

1) The pool area is fine; although it offers very little shade, the pool itself is missing many tiles, is an odd shape (making lap-swimming odd), and doesn't open until 8:00 a.m. (Don't they know that 8:00 a.m. is the afternoon for old folks?!)
2) The restaurant is not inexpensive--relatively speaking--but serves tasty food.
3) In general, the staff is plentiful and accommodating.
4) The free shuttle is almost always in the form of a motorized tricycle (tuk-tuk). Getting into town is not problematic. Getting picked up, however, can be hit and miss. (The walk into town, by the way, is fully side-walked, safe, and easily done--day or night.
5) The DVD loaner library is a joke. Lots of empty cases. Few DVDs.

Taken as a whole, I'd recommend Palermo; however, it is a work-in-progress.

Room Tip: If you have specific needs, get a detailed rundown from the owner of the specific unit with whom you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank semicolon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillasdePalermo, Director of Sales at Hotel & Resort Palermo, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2013

Thanks for your detailed freed back on your recent stay. We have a new chef and have been working on improving our food and service at the restaurant so I am pleased to hear that you thought the food was tasty. We are constantly working on improving the quality of our amenities in each of the villas and the common area of the resort. The pool is scheduled to be re-finished within the next year which should address your concerns regarding the pool. We are constantly trying to improve the quality of the community, the rooms and the service as a whole so thanks for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2012 via mobile

The staff was exceptional, especially Maria. "My pleasure" and " of course" we're her answers for almost everything we requested.

The free shuttle to town from 7-6pm (on the hour) was very convenient but taxis were only about 4 or 5 dollars to get back from town.

The breakfasts were terrific as was the one dinner we had there. We enjoyed the happy hour and the sunsets!

The helped us get shuttles to the beaches, held our bags for a late check out and also helped us by making a call to our transportation company.

The staff was terrific, the grounds well maintained and a high quality restaurant.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cheryl p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillasdePalermo, Director of Sales at Hotel & Resort Palermo, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2012

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the food at Villas de Palermo. We hope that you keep us in mind if you ever return to Nicaragua. Thanks for sharing your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2012

We were here for 8 days and loved every moment. The food was awesome. We ate fresh everything; it was cooked to perfection. The hotel, bar and restaurant staff were really friendly. It wasn't a stuffy feel at all. Super relaxed and authentic. The Villas were comfortable and clean. The accommodations were perfect for resting after a day in the sun. We loved it and would recommend it to anyone wanting to get away from it all.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eohallor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillasdePalermo, Director of Sales at Hotel & Resort Palermo, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2012

Thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the food. We have a new chef and are working on expanding restaurant options and seafood specials. We hope that you enjoyed it and visit again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan del Sur
4.9 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
1.7 mi away
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
#23 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
302 reviews
1.4 mi away
El Jardin Hotel
El Jardin Hotel
#9 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.8 mi away
La Jolla Hotel
La Jolla Hotel
#1 of 1 in Popoyo
43 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Alcazar
Hotel Alcazar
#12 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
173 reviews
3.1 mi away
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
#4 of 4 in Playa Marsella
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel & Resort Palermo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Resort Palermo

Address: Carreterra San Juan del Sur, km 139, San Juan del Sur 48600, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in San Juan del Sur
#4 Family Hotel in San Juan del Sur
#4 Green Hotel in San Juan del Sur
#8 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan del Sur
Price Range: £82 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel & Resort Palermo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palermo Hotel and Resort is located in San Juan del Sur, a city that bridges Costa Rica and Nicaragua on the Pacific Ocean. The hotel features 50 villas, poolside spa, flexible in-room work spaces, full-kitchens and room service, wireless broadband connectivity throughout the property, as well as both large and small, air-conditioned conference and meeting spaces. Villas are for rent by the day, week or month, as well as for sale as vacation homes. Terraza de Palermo Restaurant and Bar offer a dramatic dining experience overlooking the tropical pool and sunsets into the Pacific Ocean. Locally sourced, vegetarian, vegan, healthy and Nicaraguan meal service available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel & Resort Palermo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas De Palermo Hotel And Resort
Villas De Palermo Hotel San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing