We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous Views, Great Kitchen, and a Wonderful Pool”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort
Ranked #10 of 27 Hotels in San Juan del Sur
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Santa Barbara, CA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Views, Great Kitchen, and a Wonderful Pool”
Reviewed 7 November 2009

This place is about a km out of the center of town, but is really nice and new and a wonderful place to relax or have a home base for exploring the area. They have a nice restaurant, great pool, and some of the best views I've ever seen. The kitchen has everything you need including a huge fridge and we had some great meals on our porch watching the sunsets. I had some work to do and was happy to have working wi-fi in my unit as well. The beds are comfortable, the bathrooms are clean and nice, and there is a zip-line canopy tour walking distance from the hotel as well as some nice hikes. i'll be back!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BIP_TK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    82
    24
    11
    9
See reviews for
118
88
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, AK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2009

Our family spent a week in VDP in Dec 2008, and were not sure what to expect in Nicaragua. The road from the airport was not the best, but once you arrive - wow! Big (1600 sq ft) villas with big bedrooms, kitchens, very clean kitchen and living room. We had a blast going into San Juan and walking along the beach. Since my "kids" are teenagers, we sat in a bar on the beach and watched the sun sink below the water. Probably the best sunsets I have ever seen, I saw during that week. From our villa (from all the villas) you can see the ocean and enjoy the sunsets. We loved going to the pool during the heat of the day. We also liked having the Wifi in our villa for keeping in touch. All in, a terrific introduction to Nicaragua in a super clean villa, yet able to enjoy the local life just outside the villa compound. We will be back.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mapleburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miami
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2009

we stayed there for two days it was wonderful, the villa was very clean with nice furniture, big rooms, very relaxing and quiet place I loved it and I will go back again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicia1Miami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicaragua
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2009

I stayed in one of the Villas for a week in June with a friend. We enjoyed the relaxing mood of this place. It's got a great pool and restaurant with a beautiful view. The rooms are fantastic for families or a group of friends to stay for cheap!! There are shuttles into town and Da Flying Frogs Canopy Tour and horseback riding is very close to the Villas. Would recommend to anyone. :)

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BryceZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
130 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2009

Was there just before Christmas 2008 - Very well designed villas w/two bedrooms - kitchen was up-to-date, pots & pans & coffee maker. The pool was very nice and relaxing on mountain with distant view of the Pacific. Pool bar is decent food and drinks are very inexpensive. Went fishing one day and brought catch back to hotel and the chef cooked it for us!! Lost power for about 8 hours one day, but we heard it's pretty normal for the area - Highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank temple1120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrojanBruin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2009

The first thing I noticed upon arrival was the diligent security (which I later learned is there 'round the clock). Next I was greeted and checked in at the beautiful commons center, which includes a fantastic restaurant and bar, both next to the incredible pool. I was shocked at how big the villas are when I was shown to mine and was directed to the master bedroom. Also, I knew it would be relatively nice for Nicaragua, but I think it was more nicely furnished than my own home! The patios both afforded a beautiful view of the town and bay, as does the restaurant and pool area. I set up shop next to the pool with my laptop and was able to make calls home with Skype using the highspeed wireless internet. The service is fantastic and friendly. Bosco is available throughout the day to take you into town and drive you back, free of charge. They staff will also arrange for a taxi after hours or for longer treks and will set you straight about proper cab fare. I could go on and on, but will end with a few words about the restaurant., since I'm something of a foodie.

The food on-site was absolutely delicious. The coffee was, without exaggeration, the best I've ever had. I started every morning enjoying the view while I sipped two cups (no sugar or cream necessary) and about half of my mornings with the juveos rancheros (though I didn't have a single menu item I didn't love). You should also order shrimp tacos (I don't believe they're on the menu, but the chef will make whatever you want). The corn tortillas are locally made and to die for.

Also, try the food at Pelican Eyes in town. Bosco will drive you there. It's much pricier to get a room at Pelican eyes, but they have a great happy hour and very reasonably priced fancier fare ($12 gigantic filet mignon with garlic mashed potatoes and fried onions). In town, there's plenty of nightlife and tons of tourists out for a good time. Things ramp up after 10PM or so.

Villas de Palermo is awesome. I'm absolutely going back.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TrojanBruin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2009

After traveling in Nicaragua for a week we came to Palermo with a recommendation from a friend. Quiet, clean and with an extremely helpful staff, we were able fully relax and enjoy the town of San Juan del Sur. Beautiful spacious villas, refreshing pool, and a restaurant with delicious food, made our stay all the better. The free shuttle to town was available to us when we wanted to explore the area or when we wanted to escape back to the villas. Taxis are easy to find after hours to enjoy the great nightlife. Palermo is a perfect spot to get away and the surfing town of San Juan del Sur is charming and hospitable.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joeytirabassi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
4.9 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
1.7 mi away
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
#22 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
2.9 mi away
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
#1 of 4 in Playa Marsella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
El Jardin Hotel
El Jardin Hotel
#9 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
3.1 mi away
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
#4 of 4 in Playa Marsella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Alcazar
Hotel Alcazar
#11 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort

Property: Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort
Address: Carreterra San Juan del Sur, km 139, San Juan del Sur 48600, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in San Juan del Sur
#4 Family Hotel in San Juan del Sur
#4 Green Hotel in San Juan del Sur
#8 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palermo Hotel and Resort is located in San Juan del Sur, a city that bridges Costa Rica and Nicaragua on the Pacific Ocean. The hotel features 50 villas, poolside spa, flexible in-room work spaces, full-kitchens and room service, wireless broadband connectivity throughout the property, as well as both large and small, air-conditioned conference and meeting spaces. Villas are for rent by the day, week or month, as well as for sale as vacation homes. Terraza de Palermo Restaurant and Bar offer a dramatic dining experience overlooking the tropical pool and sunsets into the Pacific Ocean. Locally sourced, vegetarian, vegan, healthy and Nicaraguan meal service available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas De Palermo Hotel San Juan Del Sur
Villas De Palermo Hotel And Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing