We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (350)
Filter reviews
350 results
Traveller rating
204
93
27
14
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
204
93
27
14
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsindividual villasdownstairs bedroomfull kitchenin townfree shuttlebedroom villaequipped kitchensan juanstaff was very friendly and helpfula great place to stayrocking chairsshuttle servicepool area isgreat poolwater pressureview of the oceanants
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 350 reviews
Reviewed 25 November 2017

We read reviews here on Tripadvisor regarding this hotel before our trip to San Juan del Sur. Many of those reviews characterized it as a housing community who rents villas while the owners are away. We did not get that impression from our stay.

The establishment has 50 of what appear to be nearly identical two-bedroom, two-bath villas. From the outside all of the villas appear to be the same configuration. Since we rented four different villas, we can definitely report that all four were constructed nearly identically inside as well. The only difference is that two of the four had the second (downstairs) bedroom locked, presumably for guests who want connecting rooms. If wouldn't be appropriate for someone only wanting to rent one bedroom, because the living area and upstairs bedroom are not locked (except for the main door and outside patio door, of course.) We booked four one-bedroom villas on the web site with one of the four to include two beds. What we received was MUCH better than that. Two of the four villas had two accessible bedrooms, so the party of two who needed separate beds were actually accommodated with separate bedrooms. Furnishings in all four villas were similar - again, if this were a housing community with different owners, there would be more variety in the furnishings. Furthermore, the furnishings are more than ample for a traveler's stay but far less than one would expect in a home owned by someone else.

The villas are generously spacious. In addition to the two bedrooms with two bathrooms, there is a large living area with seating for seven, a nice sized kitchen and a small table in the kitchen. From an outdoor patio with rocking chairs, you can enjoy the view of San Juan del Sur and the ocean.

The villas, and especially the bathrooms, were very clean, and it was the first time we had warm water for a shower since coming to Nicaragua eight days ago. It was also the first time for us to have air conditioning, so that was a welcome change of pace for the warm evenings.

I read reviewers calling the villas terribly expensive. That may be the case for the locals, but for a tourist hotel, we thought the prices were very reasonable.

It is too long a walk from here to downtown San Juan del Sur, so it would be preferable to have your own transportation. The property offers a free shuttle to downtown on the hour, but that does not allow for much flexibility.

Overall, a very good place to stay in San Juan del Sur!!!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank hsbvim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaspar G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel & Resort Palermo, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Thanks a lot for your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2017

Went here to spend the day at the pool and restaurant. The pool is very nice and a good size and clean. There were plenty of lounge chairs but none that you could lay on your stomach as they are curved for laying only on your back. Good selection on the menu but a bit pricey but it was good. Staff service was good and they are friendly.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sue V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2017 via mobile

We recently stayed here for three nights on our first trip to Nicaragua and were pleasantly surprised at the lovely accommodation in a 2 bedroom villa.

The reception staff spoke English but not many other staff did, which is fair enough, and I should learn Spanish if I come again.

The hotel had a great pool and a bar and restaurant, which is a bit pricey. There is an hourly shuttle into San Juan Del Sue for free, which is great, and will pick you up straight from whatever restaurant you have been to if you ask.

We were really lucky one day as a member of staff got on the bus and heard we were going to Rivas to catch the ferry to Ometope and offered us a lift as he was heading that way. In the end he took us right to the port.

Overall a great place but a good bit of Spanish would come in useful. The staff were very helpful indeed.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017 via mobile

Restaraunt:
- Shrimp scampi was very watery and wasn't tasty. Sub par at best.
- Shrimp cocktail was just ok. Small.
- Ceviche was the best item ordered.

Room:
- First room (25) didn't have hot water. Maintenance came, spent 1/2 he, felt hot water once, showed us super fast and left. It wasn't fixed. Hot water returned once for a few seconds and it was scalding. We had gotten a couples massage and were completely oily. Called front desk and asked to change rooms. Finally, after 1 hr and 15 minutes (we had to call the front desk 2 times for updates as she dis n it call us back "quickly" as promised.
- Hundreds of ants.
- Coffee machine was broken in new room and we waited for over an hour, before finally giving up and just heading down to the beach area for some food and coffee.

Pros:
- View
- Bed was comfy

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Joseph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017

We stayed here for two nights. Let's be clear, this is not a hotel. It is a housing community that rents homes while the owners are away. It is a private community with security 24 hours and very exclusive. Most units are two bedroom units with the ability to lock out one of the bedrooms. Each home is individually decorated by the owner as they please. You may get lucky and get one from an owner with great taste or you may be stuck with something that is absolutely horrible. When we checked in we were assigned one of the units and after getting settled in we had problems with the lock on the main door. We called reception and they offered us another unit since they could not fix the lock as it was already late. We went to the other unit and the decoration was interesting to say the least. Definitely not our taste. On top of it, it smelled bad. We asked to get another unit and they were accommodating and showed us another unit. This new unit was not as good as the first we got, but acceptable and we stayed here. There is a pool area and a restaurant. We have breakfast there one day and the food was OK. Another reviewer mentioned the check out process being a hassle. I was asked wait for someone to check the room. Since I know what we do when we stay in places, it was not necessary for me to stay. I left them my phone number and asked them to call me if they had any issues. No call ever came.

When we go back to SJDS, we will definitely consider staying here again.

Room Tip: the higher the number of unit, the better the view.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank msmxtoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews