We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We blew in and got lucky!”
Review of La Posada Azul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Posada Azul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We like to wing it and not make reservations when we arrive in an unknown place.
Risky, as sometimes you have to tramp around looking for a decent vacancy, and it can eat time out of your holiday. This was the first place we checked out in San Juan Del Sur, and liked it so much that we iimmediatly booked 2 nights, but ended up changing our travel plans so we could stay for 5 (the last 2 nights were in room 2, closest to the front, but our sleep was not troubled by street noise, or any noise whatsoever). La Posada Azul was pretty damn perfect in every way. Big, airy, spotlessly clean rooms with AC, comfy beds with crisp linens, and really nice showers. It was totally quiet (there’s under 10 rooms, and it’s not a party place), and has a lovely, verdant garden with lots of shade, comfy chairs and a really nice, clean pool which we used every day. The beach and tons of dining options are all a short walk away, and it was a welcome oasis to look forward to after walking around in the heat. The best part was the breakfasts – a different item every day, all delicious, and beautifully presented with a big fruit platter garnished with flowers that grew around the pool. Served with a smile, by the loveliest ladies who took great pride in their work. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: they all looked good, but, if you have a choice, take one from 5 up, just because they're closer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malbecvancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (358)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 358 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2014

As attested to by over 200 reviewers, this hotel is an oasis! The rooms are comfortable and the staff is outstanding. I would also testify that the hotel - hands down - serves the best (and largest) breakfast in Nicaragua. One word of caution, if you are at all sensitive to loud neighbors while trying to sleep, bring earplugs. The downside to being an historic property are thin walls. The first night, one of our neighbors decided to have very vocal sex and the last night we were treated to a loud door slamming from one of the two teenage girls next door to us every 1-5 minutes for about two hours.

Room Tip: Avoid room 1 (on the street) and try for room 6 (in the back with cross ventilation)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IxChel3300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

La Posada Azul is small well appointed and gracious. We were welcomed and stayed in room 6 which was next to the pool, very quiet with a porch and rocking chairs. There are nopi televisions in the rooms but in a comfortable sitting room a large TV is available for anyone to use. We watched the Saints get beaten by the Seahawks. The breakfast included was delicious and typically Nicaraguan.

We were half a block from the beach and the waterfront restaurants. I highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Magwa66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Room number 2 was lovely until we tried to sleep in it. Foul smelling water from bathroom drains and our smoke detector way up high chirped loudly all night. (a battery and some water in the traps are easy cures) Great location and would recommend if they paid more attention to such details.

Room Tip: Room #1 is closest to the street, may want to avoid that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank westlakeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

After many months of searching and researching our trip to San Juan Del Sur, I kept coming back to La Posada Azul as our home base. I am so glad we chose this "Bonita" location as it made our trip !! Not only does it put you in a great location for everything in the town, but it also gives you a home away from home feeling and allows you to get off the street and rest in a courtyard style setting when you truly want to relax. The staff went above and beyond to make you feel at home and the owners were great with local information. We are planning our next trip for the spring and we will definitely be staying here. As far as San Juan Del Sur goes, with all the negative things you may read online, it truly was an oasis and great people.

John & Christine

Room Tip: The Casita in the back is the best location !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We spent 3 nights here. Because we no longer had a car, we moved from El Jardin (which I highly recommend). The common areas for indoor sitting/TV watching, veranda, breakfast, pool, and sitting area around the outside bar were exceptional for San Juan del Sur - definitely a 5 star setting. Location was excellent; steps from the beach and near bars & restaurants (of course everything in SJDS is close to everything else). The challenge is the rooms (hence the 4 stars) - we saw #1: spacious, double bed with bunks and 2 windows unfortunately right on the street. #2-5 open onto the lobby hall, veranda, & kitchen/breakfast room. #6 probably is the best: 2 windows for cross ventilation and far from the street noise. We had #7: twin beds, small, far from the street, across from the pool; stiffling hot as there is no cross ventilation. We didn't want to use the available AC so we were HOT. Breakfast was good, nonrepetitive, and diverse. The honor bar was very useful. We did a day trip to Playa Hermosa - nice, quiet, not crowded. I did enjoy the folk art but it didn't make up for the bad nights' sleep.

Room Tip: #6 probably is the best for quiet location and cross ventilation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuzanneLaX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We happened upon this hotel and what a little slice of pleasure in what is a grungy beach town. Very lovely staff and the most adorable back garden. Our room was spacious with two comfy beds and a totally fine bathroom. We sat by the cute pool and felt miles away from the grungy ness of town.
Delicious breakfast!
Good security at night - and overall a pleasure. Prime location if you want something in town.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank CdninLondon05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
0.1 mi away
Barrio Cafe Hotel
Barrio Cafe Hotel
#5 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
236 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Victoriano
Hotel Victoriano
#13 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
183 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alcazar
Hotel Alcazar
#12 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
El Jardin Hotel
El Jardin Hotel
#9 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
238 reviews
4.9 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
2 mi away
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
#23 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Posada Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada Azul

Address: Avenida del Parque, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan del Sur
Price Range: £83 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Posada Azul 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Posada Azul is located just steps from the beach in a beautifully refurbished historic wood house in San Juan Del Sur, Nicaragua . Each elegantly appointed room has a private bath, hot water and air conditioning. Enjoy a cold drink in the palapa by our large pool in our garden that is filled with colorful bougainvillas. Our famous breakfasts are served on the porch and are included in the room rate.We are proud to announce the opening of our "little sister" Hotelito El Coco Azul located adjacent to our Posada. El Coco Azul offers a more moderate priced stay in San Juan del Sur, but with the same cleanliness and attention to detail as we are known for at La Posada Azul ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your La Posada Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Posada Azul Hotel San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing