We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an oasis in san juan del sur- a wonderful stay.”
Review of La Posada Azul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Posada Azul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 November 2010

i had read in trip advisor a favorable report of this place and the reason why i went but the review had felt short. it was just wonderful and a fantastic price/ quality ratio- i was also there at low season. Nevertheless beautifully decorated in a quiet and warm way. It has nothing to envie the better known b&b in europe or anywhere for that matter. different breakfast served at your liasure time every day. shot for room 6 if you can which is a separate cottage by the pool. prices are the same for all rooms.it has 7 rooms.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mamzanita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (361)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

266 - 272 of 361 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2010

My sisters and I stayed here for a weekend. It was very nice. They had good breakfast and the location was great! The staff was helpful and all spoke English. They have a pool on site. It was small, but we enjoyed hanging out there one afternoon because the beach was so dirty. I would recommend this place to anyone travelling to San Juan Del Sur.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stg4564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2010

excellent place to stay, happy with everything, room great, service great and breakfast great

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank osiorain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2010

We spent a night here at the end of our trip before heading back to Managua. It was very clean, with the most comfortable bed we found in all of Nicaragua. The breakfast (included) was delicious and fresh, and everyone that worked there was really friendly and helpful. There's a beautiful little pool in the courtyard, as well as a self-serve bar. They helped us book a taxi up to Managua at the end, which worked out really well. Definitely recommend this spot!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sftraveler3186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2010

My wife and I spent 7 nights at La Posada Azul while researching the possibility of opening a business in the area. We were very comfortable and really enjoyed the pleasant staff and great breakfasts. We spent a lot of time on the computer, so the free wi fi was definitely a plus. The small, but very attractive pool was an appreciated asset that we enjoyed every day. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a quality and reasonably priced small boutique experience.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MaximoWildblood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2010

I wasn't feeling all that great when I was staying here (I think I drank the water or something...?) and the staff helped my husband the BEST care of me. They made chicken soup, helped him with his spanish when we went out to get things, moved our rooms because of the street noise...everything. It was seriously great.

We traveled all across Nic & Costa Rica and this hotel has the best breakfast of them all!

I highly recommend this hotel for anything that might come up!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlotte_Mel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2010

Loved this little place! There were only 7 rooms, so it was quite an intimate boutique. Very clean rooms, lovely pool, and super courteous and accommodating staff, right near the beach and all the restaurants and nightlife (though far enough to be quiet!). Plus, the breakfasts were glorious. No continental thing here - full on breakfast meal. I was full half way through every morning! Fresh fruit, fresh fruit juice, filtered water, eggs, bacon, delicious muffins...

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank akat79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
1.6 mi away
El Jardin Hotel
El Jardin Hotel
#5 of 28 in San Juan del Sur
246 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barrio Cafe Hotel
Barrio Cafe Hotel
#7 of 28 in San Juan del Sur
243 reviews
7.9 mi away
Parque Maritimo el Coco
Parque Maritimo el Coco
#1 of 1 in Playa El Coco
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel & Resort Palermo
Hotel & Resort Palermo
#12 of 28 in San Juan del Sur
335 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Victoriano
Hotel Victoriano
#14 of 28 in San Juan del Sur
187 reviews
3 mi away
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
#4 of 4 in Playa Marsella
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Posada Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada Azul

Address: Avenida del Parque, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan del Sur
Price Range: £80 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Posada Azul 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Posada Azul is located just steps from the beach in a beautifully refurbished historic wood house in San Juan Del Sur, Nicaragua . Each elegantly appointed room has a private bath, hot water and air conditioning. Enjoy a cold drink in the palapa by our large pool in our garden that is filled with colorful bougainvillas. Our famous breakfasts are served on the porch and are included in the room rate.We are proud to announce the opening of our "little sister" Hotelito El Coco Azul located adjacent to our Posada. El Coco Azul offers a more moderate priced stay in San Juan del Sur, but with the same cleanliness and attention to detail as we are known for at La Posada Azul ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your La Posada Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Posada Azul Hotel San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing