We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totaly cool”
Review of La Posada Azul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Posada Azul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 February 2011

I loved everything about this wonderful boutique hotel, conveniently situated near a beach, lined up with about dozen palapa restaurants. The owners and the staff are all very professional. The place radiates with hospitality, friendly and relaxing energy and atmosphere. Clean, clean, clean. The rooms are tastefully furnished and comfortable. Delicious breakfast, beginning with a large plate of fresh fruit. I would highly recommend it to anyone traveling to San Juan del Sur.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loiue_AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (355)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

245 - 251 of 356 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2011

This little gem has what we were looking for in San Juan del Sur. We liked the blue color decor tones throughout the hotel. The place has superb staff. We had a warm welcome and check in was very easy. We had a bunch of clothes needing cleaning and staff took their time to do this for us even though we did not give them enough notice when we requested the service. There's a little shop where you can buy art from local artisans. The interior patio is very inviting to sitting down and relaxing by the pool. The swimming pool is not that big but that was not important for us. At night, San Juan del Sur becomes loud with locals and tourists partying. Although we heard some noise coming from another hotel next to Posada, its was not disturbing and people did not make noise once it got late at night. In addition to the affordable room price, we stayed here because it was centrally located. There's ample street parking right in front and restaurants, internet cafes, and other venues are close by.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorenzo17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2011

What a great place to get away from it all. The rooms were clean and the breakfasts were excellent. Couldn't have found a better place. Across the road from the beach and close to everything the town has to offer. They even offered to have a breakfast for us early as we had an early departure planned. Had a great stay there and will return.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigjelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2011

Words can't express how much we enjoyed this place! Breakfast, location, pool all top notch. Thanks expecially to the staff, wow, talk about going above and beyond our expectations. (especially Glenda, thanks for treating Maya like a rock star!)

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BradI_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2011

I love the whole laid back feeling I got from this place. It was small enough that you knew your neighbors, the rooms were super cute and well designed, the bed was actually very comfortable, amenities were also great such as hot water, clean pool, drinking water, room cleaning service was always on time, at nights there is a security guard always present and lucks the door. This was the closet hotel to the main pier and the beach so it really is a convenient place to stay in :)

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank duduke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2011

If this is your splurge vacation and you want a "spa" resort, this is not the place. But, if you want a clean and roomy accommodation with great service and a genuine SJDS vibe, this place serves well. The breakfast is stellar, even good coffee ready early on the patio. Good, though intermittent (a SJDS issue, not the hotel's) internet connection if you need it and a helpful knowledgeable staff who will print up your boarding passes if you ask. The pool looked inviting and there is plenty of comfortable seating in the common areas. No complaints, but it's a modest place, not luxurious or romantic.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeanneT059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2011

I heard about this place from many people in Santa Fe, NM! I have never felt better treated, totally relaxed, and so well fed! This place treats you like you are a special guest in their home. The conceirge service is beyond perfect! The food was so incredible! The rooms are simple but utterly clean and inviting. Great shower for NICA! Perfect location, not too noisy but interesting people gather poolside! All we want to do is go back there and hang for years! Kudos!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karenghunsicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
0.1 mi away
Barrio Cafe Hotel
Barrio Cafe Hotel
#5 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
235 reviews
1.6 mi away
El Jardin Hotel
El Jardin Hotel
#9 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
236 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Victoriano
Hotel Victoriano
#13 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alcazar
Hotel Alcazar
#11 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
172 reviews
4.9 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
2.0 mi away
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
#23 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Posada Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada Azul

Address: Avenida del Parque, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan del Sur
Price Range: £83 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Posada Azul 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Posada Azul is located just steps from the beach in a beautifully refurbished historic wood house in San Juan Del Sur, Nicaragua . Each elegantly appointed room has a private bath, hot water and air conditioning. Enjoy a cold drink in the palapa by our large pool in our garden that is filled with colorful bougainvillas. Our famous breakfasts are served on the porch and are included in the room rate.We are proud to announce the opening of our "little sister" Hotelito El Coco Azul located adjacent to our Posada. El Coco Azul offers a more moderate priced stay in San Juan del Sur, but with the same cleanliness and attention to detail as we are known for at La Posada Azul ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your La Posada Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Posada Azul Hotel San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing