We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A culinary oasis”
Review of El Jardin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
El Jardin Hotel
Ranked #9 of 27 Hotels in San Juan del Sur
Certificate of Excellence
Zürich, Schweiz
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A culinary oasis”
Reviewed 13 March 2011

Delphine and Timothy are wonderful hosts. They took great care of us and we spent a lovely evening with them on the restaurant patio, with interesting stories from the Kongo, where they've lived before, good spirits, a beautiful view and divine food made by Mauro. He's Italian, which needs no further explanation! Best ingredients mixed with a passion for slow food.
Being the only guests, we were lucky enough to have all their attention and the pool to ourselves. The rooms are colourful and very clean and have a charming private bathroom, very comfortable matresses and a shady terrace or balcony.
If you appreciate high-quality food and are looking for a special place for a romantic stay, this is where you have to go!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OliviaTanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    40
    13
    8
    4
See reviews for
33
115
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alamo, CA
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2011

My buddy and I ate here one evening and it was excellent. It wasn't just a meal, it was an experience. If you want fast food, this is not the place. We chilled on the patio overlooking the ocean, had 5 courses of excellent to very excellent food, and didn't feel rushed at all. It was nice to get out of downtown SJDS and enjoy a meal on a gorgeous patio. The owners are the nicest people and Mauro the chef is one of the few chefs still around who thoroughly enjoys cooking great food for good people. I can't wait to roll back through SJDS and have a similar experience. CHEERS!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bbpolo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed 5 March 2011

We stayed in San Juan del Sur for a month over Jan/Feb this year and had a fantastic time. One of the absolute highlights of our trip was our visit to this gorgeous hotel and restaurant a few minutes drive north of the town. We arrived just before sunset and had drinks on the terrace watching the sun go down over the stunning bay and followed that with a leisurely and wonderful three course meal. The food was excellent, the service was prompt and personal (Mauro the chef visited our table personally to confirm our choices and make suggestions, the owner Timothy also welcomed us warmly and checked in to see that we were enjoying ourselves - we were!). What with the great food, the spectacular sunset and dinner under the stars it really was one of our best nights in Nicaragua. We'll be back - and next time we'll book into the hotel and make it our homebase for our stay!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mytraveldelight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2011

Although I did not stay at the hotel, my friend and I decided to eat at the restaurant and it was by far the best meal we've had in a very long time. The owners are extremely nice and accommodating, and Mauro, the Italian chef, is incredible. Every bite was like little fairies blowing on my tongue. The bruschetta, eggplant parmesan, fettucini alfredo, tenderloin, and the chef's special desert were all extremely delicious. I highly recommend having dinner here if you are looking for some good eating.

Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank jstawiski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2011

A friend and I stayed for 2 nights at El Jardin, and had a lovely time. The setting is absolutely gorgeous, and the owners, Timothy and Delphine, went out of their way to make sure our stay was comfortable and pleasant. The restaurant serves amazing food- (best we had in Nicaragua), and the Chef, Mauro, is lots of fun too! (Breakfast is included, and the restaurant is open for dinner). I would highly recommend this setting. You may want to consider renting a car as it is a bit out of town and a short drive from the beach. Otherwise it is a $5-10 taxi ride, which is a small price to pay for such a beautiful setting. Go stay at El Jardin- you'll be glad you did!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gatasalada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Depoe Bay, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed 3 February 2010

Tranquility is the word that comes to mind when I remember my stay at El Jardin in San Juan del Sur. The location, views, architecture and colors schemes all worked together to give one a sense of calmness and serenity which was highly desirable after a week or so spent in the noisy, busy cities of Nicaragua.

April and her family were attentive to our every need and assisted with making reliable travel arrangements both to and from the hotel from Managua as well as getting around to see the local sites.

El Jardin is definitely a place I would highly recommend to any one seeking a relaxing environment, enjoys originality, good food and good company. I hope to visit again soon.

Cherie Melton

Depoe Bay, Oregon

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meltch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham, al
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2010

My husband and I along with another couple spent 5 wonderful days at El Jardin in December. Location: El Jardin is located about 5 minutes by car from the town center of San Juan del Sur. We were so happy to be in this location and not in town. Very peaceful and clean, yet still close to everything. Look & Feel: The architecture of El Jardin is beautiful, its a series of small buildings centered around the pool. With only 11 guest rooms, you feel like the place is all yours. One of the highlights of staying at El Jardin is getting to know the owners - truly special folks who do everything possible to make your stay enjoyable. We miss the family as much as we miss Nicaragua! Food: As many others on this page have said, April is a great chef! All of our meals had the freshed of ingredients, were simple, elegant, and delicious. Recommendations: 1. Be sure to ask April about the hiking trails near the property. Great views! 2. Take the hour walk down to Plaza Maderas, spend the day at the beach, then cab back to El Jardin. 3. Ask April to set up a day fishing and boating trip. It's a great way to see the coastline and many secluded bays.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simpson7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
3.5 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
3.0 mi away
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
#22 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
1.7 mi away
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
#4 of 4 in Playa Marsella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
#1 of 4 in Playa Marsella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Alcazar
Hotel Alcazar
#11 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
1.4 mi away
Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort
Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort
#10 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Jardin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Jardin Hotel

Property: El Jardin Hotel
Address: Bahia Nacascolo | PO Box 68, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — El Jardin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Jardin is the perfect place to relax while enjoying amazing views on the Pacific Ocean. The hotel is located up a hill, 4 km (2,4 miles) North from San Juan del Sur. We offer free shuttles to town once a day. Our guests can also spend the day by the outdoor pool where they can enjoy stunning views on Nacascolo bay. Each room has a private bathroom and features charming decor with cheerful colors. Some of them have a private terrace overlooking the ocean which is the perfect spot to watch the sunset. El Jardin's bar & restaurant features both an indoor and an open-air dining area with views on the bay. We serve international food (for example, burgers and tacos) and are also very proud to offer European inspired options (including Beef Bourguignon, Shrimp bisque, Homemade lasagna and many more). The bar is open all day with a good selection of cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your El Jardin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Jardin Hotel San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing