We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“amazing setting” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Jardin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
El Jardin Hotel
Ranked #9 of 27 Hotels in San Juan del Sur
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
1 review
“amazing setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2011

My husband and I passed through this place and thought the hotel was astounding. We loved the view and the pool whilst enjoying drinks on the patio. Simply breathtaking. The colors of the buildings and the lush gardens set the tone for our vacation. The chef working there looked like he was dripping sweat in our meals so I couldn't eat. But all in all a paradise of a place.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank orlandajeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    39
    12
    8
    5
See reviews for
34
112
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2011

The hosts, the rooms, the scenery and the food are just great. There is absolutely nothing to whinge about and it would be a crying shame not to stay at El Jardin Hotel.
If you don't plan to stay overnight in San Juan del Sur you still have to stop by to have dinner at the Restaurant - you'll get probably the best food on this side of the planet.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SamKrieg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zürich, Schweiz
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2011

Delphine and Timothy are wonderful hosts. They took great care of us and we spent a lovely evening with them on the restaurant patio, with interesting stories from the Kongo, where they've lived before, good spirits, a beautiful view and divine food made by Mauro. He's Italian, which needs no further explanation! Best ingredients mixed with a passion for slow food.
Being the only guests, we were lucky enough to have all their attention and the pool to ourselves. The rooms are colourful and very clean and have a charming private bathroom, very comfortable matresses and a shady terrace or balcony.
If you appreciate high-quality food and are looking for a special place for a romantic stay, this is where you have to go!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OliviaTanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alamo, CA
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2011

My buddy and I ate here one evening and it was excellent. It wasn't just a meal, it was an experience. If you want fast food, this is not the place. We chilled on the patio overlooking the ocean, had 5 courses of excellent to very excellent food, and didn't feel rushed at all. It was nice to get out of downtown SJDS and enjoy a meal on a gorgeous patio. The owners are the nicest people and Mauro the chef is one of the few chefs still around who thoroughly enjoys cooking great food for good people. I can't wait to roll back through SJDS and have a similar experience. CHEERS!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bbpolo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2011

We stayed in San Juan del Sur for a month over Jan/Feb this year and had a fantastic time. One of the absolute highlights of our trip was our visit to this gorgeous hotel and restaurant a few minutes drive north of the town. We arrived just before sunset and had drinks on the terrace watching the sun go down over the stunning bay and followed that with a leisurely and wonderful three course meal. The food was excellent, the service was prompt and personal (Mauro the chef visited our table personally to confirm our choices and make suggestions, the owner Timothy also welcomed us warmly and checked in to see that we were enjoying ourselves - we were!). What with the great food, the spectacular sunset and dinner under the stars it really was one of our best nights in Nicaragua. We'll be back - and next time we'll book into the hotel and make it our homebase for our stay!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mytraveldelight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2011

Although I did not stay at the hotel, my friend and I decided to eat at the restaurant and it was by far the best meal we've had in a very long time. The owners are extremely nice and accommodating, and Mauro, the Italian chef, is incredible. Every bite was like little fairies blowing on my tongue. The bruschetta, eggplant parmesan, fettucini alfredo, tenderloin, and the chef's special desert were all extremely delicious. I highly recommend having dinner here if you are looking for some good eating.

Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank jstawiski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2011

A friend and I stayed for 2 nights at El Jardin, and had a lovely time. The setting is absolutely gorgeous, and the owners, Timothy and Delphine, went out of their way to make sure our stay was comfortable and pleasant. The restaurant serves amazing food- (best we had in Nicaragua), and the Chef, Mauro, is lots of fun too! (Breakfast is included, and the restaurant is open for dinner). I would highly recommend this setting. You may want to consider renting a car as it is a bit out of town and a short drive from the beach. Otherwise it is a $5-10 taxi ride, which is a small price to pay for such a beautiful setting. Go stay at El Jardin- you'll be glad you did!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gatasalada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
3.5 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
1.7 mi away
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
#4 of 4 in Playa Marsella
3.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
1.7 mi away
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
#1 of 4 in Playa Marsella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Alcazar
Hotel Alcazar
#12 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
3.0 mi away
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
#21 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
1.4 mi away
Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort
Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort
#10 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Jardin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Jardin Hotel

Property: El Jardin Hotel
Address: Bahia Nacascolo | PO Box 68, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — El Jardin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Jardin is the perfect place to relax while enjoying amazing views on Nicaragua's Emerald Coast. The hotel is located up a hill, 4 km (2,4 miles) North from San Juan del Sur. The access road has been repaired in December 2016. All types of vehicles can go up. We offer free shuttles to town once a day. Our guests can also spend the day by the outdoor pool where they can enjoy stunning views on Nagascolo bay. Each room has a private bathroom and features charming decor with cheerful colors. Some of them have a private terrace overlooking the ocean which is the perfect spot to watch the sunset. El Jardin's bar & restaurant features both an indoor and an open-air dining area with views on the bay. We serve international food (for example, burgers and tacos) and are also very proud to offer European inspired options (including Beef Bourguignon, Shrimp bisque, Homemade lasagna and many more). The bar is open all day with a good selection of cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your El Jardin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Jardin Hotel San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing