We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A room with a View”
Review of El Jardin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
El Jardin Hotel
Ranked #9 of 27 Hotels in San Juan del Sur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 April 2012

I stayed here for a week and i cannot reccomend this little oasis enough. I was a solo traveller without a car and even though its a little out of town, not a problem. A taxi is only a call away and they cost nothing, i walked one evening should have done it more. Delfine , Timothey and charlotte the owners made me feel so at home and went out of their way to make my trip so memorable. the view is just out of this world. It was everything i want from my stay. A wonderful pool to lie by, a bar with wonderful wines and beer. I would reccomend anyone in San juan even if not staying to go to the restaurant here. The food is out of this world..try the carrpaccio of beef to die for...I would dearly love to return here ..thank you for great time..

Room Tip: Loved my room...so Im sure all other rooms are equally as good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denis O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (238)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 238 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2012

A great value for your money. The couple who run this hotel are the nicest people you will ever meet. The couple who own the property are extremely hands on, handling everything from cooking, cleaning, and all other guest needs. It is very personal service, thereby being very authentic, warm, friendly, and efficient. The rooms are simple, neat, clean, and comfortable. A breakfast feast large enough for an army is served every morning which is included in the price of your room. The breakfast is not only plentiful but also top quality in ingredients and flavor. The view of the bay and surrounding mountains is spectacular and best enjoyed on the deck while having breakfast. There is a beach down the hill which is maybe a 5 minute walk with a small stretch on the dirt road and then a trek through a small forest. The beach is amazing, we were the only people on it for miles around. The property is a little bit outside of town, but is only a 5-10 dollar cab ride. I cant say enough good things about this hotel, from its location, views, customer service, and charm. Amazing property, if you do not book it you are missing out.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcaughell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

GREAT boutique hotel,
Set up on a hill overlooking San Juan Del Sur; beautiful vista a couple of miles outside the town.
The owners are extremely accommodating and genuinely terrific people. Also, a great "value". Extremely clean rooms with a nice pool just outside the front of the hotel.
The cuisine? Typically French, but, not "imitation", rather the "real thing"; VERY authentic.
I would recommend it to all who visit!
Happy travels!!

Room Tip: Best rooms overlook the bay, beautiful and quiet, a good idea to choose a room with air conditioning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

This family run business was a diamond in the rough. It's a bit of a trek to the beach but well worth the taxi ride into town. We were treated like family and enjoyed every minute of our stay. The food was fantastic, from the complementary breakfast to the succulent entrees. The crepes should not be missed! We really enjoyed the day of sailing and will definitely stay here again when we come to Nicaragua! Next time we'll rent a car so we can enjoy the local beaches and explore the area.

Room Tip: Choose a room with air conditioning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Pics of hotel and location very deceiving, very disappointed, would have not stay even for FREE!!!!! Location for its price is very outrages, no nearby beach; you have to drive thru dirt roads to get to civilization, when we arrive we were told our room was out of service, and was given another room, 1 very small fan for 2 beds, the worst experience we have ever had with a hotel, will never again stay at this hotel nor I would refer it to any friend.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank romeo v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

We stayed for two nights but wished we could've stayed longer. The food at breakfast and in the restaurant was the best we've eaten in central America. The room was a good size and we made good use of the pool.

The hotel is a few miles out of SJDS but I would recommend staying here and getting taxis to the town.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sfergus1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

What a great view. The room was very nice and clean. Breakfast and coffee were top notch and the advice on getting to the bay was fantastic.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caveman10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel & Resort Palermo
Hotel & Resort Palermo
#10 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
329 reviews
3.5 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
3 mi away
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
#23 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
#4 of 4 in Playa Marsella
152 reviews
2 mi away
HulaKai Hotel
HulaKai Hotel
#1 of 3 in Playa Maderas
129 reviews
8.6 mi away
Costa Dulce
Costa Dulce
#4 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Jardin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Jardin Hotel

Address: Bahia Nacascolo | PO Box 68, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Juan del Sur
Price Range: £49 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — El Jardin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Jardin is the perfect place to relax while enjoying amazing views on the Pacific Ocean. The hotel is located up a hill, 4 km (2,4 miles) North from San Juan del Sur. We offer free shuttles to town once a day. Our guests can also spend the day by the outdoor pool where they can enjoy stunning views on Nacascolo bay. Each room has a private bathroom and features charming decor with cheerful colors. Some of them have a private terrace overlooking the ocean which is the perfect spot to watch the sunset. El Jardin's bar & restaurant features both an indoor and an open-air dining area with views on the bay. We serve international food (for example, burgers and tacos) and are also very proud to offer European inspired options (including Beef Bourguignon, Shrimp bisque, Homemade lasagna and many more). The bar is open all day with a good selection of cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your El Jardin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Jardin Hotel San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing