We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil oasis over San Juan del Sur”
Review of El Jardin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Jardin Hotel
Ranked #9 of 27 Hotels in San Juan del Sur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 April 2013

We just returned from Nicaragua and had an amazing trip! We started at El Jardin (pronounced El Hardeen). The owners at this property were wonderful and accommodating, The food was excellent! The view is stunning and the rooms comfortable. We loved coming back and having a swim in the cool pool each day. The shade of the roofed deck with tables allowed you to still be outside in the heat of the day without getting too much sun. Each day we walked into town - about 25 minutes to the center of town and then if we were too tired to walk back we caught a cab up. There are awesome beaches to the north and south of town and you can catch a cab or arrange a day with one of the tour companies in town to go there. We loved El Gato Negro bookstore and coffee shop. We picked up snacks at Pali - the grocery store in town. If you stay here, be sure and eat a dinner early in your stay at the restaurant at El Jardin. We ended up having a second meal in our short stay as the food here was the best we had in San Juan del Sur. We highly recommend this place. San Juan del Sur can get busy and noisy so staying a bit out of the center of town allowed us to get into the action when we wanted to and then to escape to a tranquil oasis when we were done!!! Perfect spot to start our Nicaraguan adventure!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank The_Kraken777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (234)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 234 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2013

The hotel is small but so confortable, the staff is so special, the breakfast delicious and the view is amazing.
We expend just to nights, a short time to be in that place...
Every thing was just perfect.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArqJCastillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

This is a very nice place to stay. The rooms are simple, functional--but very clean, and all with balconies that allow customers to sit and admire the beautiful view of the bay below. Bright tropical colors provide character to the buildings. Nice size pool. The couple who own the place also attend to all tasks and details--taking pride in providing customers with a personalized quality experience. The breakfast (included) is excellent--lots of fresh fruit, eggs, fresh bread and preserves, juice, etc. In addition, the restaurant (dinner only, no lunch) serves local and french-infused dishes that were definitely some of the best meals we'd eaten in Central America. It is located about 10 mins drive (30 mins walk) from town at the top of a steep-ish dirt road--but that's exactly what gives it a getaway feel. It is a welcome contrast to the hustle and bustle of San Juan's intense parade of beach goers and vendors. There's nothing like sitting on your balcony and watching the flocks of green parrots swoop by.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NEWYORKPROF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

First, we are a little older than the surfers. We want to be in the midst of things, but at the end of the day we want calm beauty and wonderful food. We found all that at the delightful El Jardin Hotel. About a 10 minute drive from the heart of San Juan del Sur (on mostly paved roads, but about a kilometer or so unpaved - our compact Toyota had no problem), El Jardin was a beautiful resting place with interesting architecture, gorgeous ocean views, and comfortable rooms - and very reasonable prices. The European couple who own and operate it (he's Belgian and she's French) are extremely hospitable. And the food is excellent and plentiful. In fact, we were chiding them for giving us too much. My wife and I heartily recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

If you are looking for a fun, unique yet relaxing, quiet place to stay in San Juan del Sur, this is it! It is a totally different experience than staying in the main town. It is quite a drive to get to though. $30 taxi from the Costa Rica border. And $6-$12 (day or night) taxi to downtown. Despite the other posts I really do not feel it is possible to walk to the beach or to town, unless you are in amazing athletic shape. The hotel is literally on top of a small mountain. Excellent views but the taxi barely made it up the steep road so I know I would never make it on foot. But since there is a pool and a restaurant there is no problem just staying there all day.

Rooms were large and clean. Nice bathrooms. We put 3 in a room with no problem as Room #3 and Room #4 have nice third beds. There is a nice balcony/terrace to eat breakfast or play games. Some of the rooms have a private balcony.

One thing I thought was nice during our stay was the quiet and tranquility. There were a few other guests but everyone seemed to just be relaxing.

Most of the other posts mentioned how wonderfully friendly the hosts/owners were. We did not have this experience. In fact, we felt so uncomfortable by how we were treated by Delphine that we decided not to stay at the hotel for dinner as she was so obviously annoyed with us even though we tried our best to be kind. This was disappointing since the food had such rave reviews. However, I do believe that everyone is entitled to a bad day. I am sorry it put a damper on our stay, but hopefully was an isolated incident. We are guessing she did not have enough help that day and was overwhelmed.

Breakfast, served outside on the terrace was excellent.

We paid approx $80US plus $10 extra for third person. More than accommodations in main town BUT well worth it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ACMC75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013 via mobile

Somehow I booked at El Jardin for the price, not wanting to suffer SJDS again. My previous hotel during three visits had had remarkable food. Not this visit
Quelle surprise that El Jardin, that I feared would be sterile, was instead an encounter with an loving extended family. And , as compensation, the cuisine was varied and outstanding. I will dream forever of the locally sourced bacon. And I will return for more.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanielBethlehem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at this beautiful hotel. After booking online we had made a mistake and not booked enough rooms, the owners were super accommodating and helped us out to make sure we all got rooms. Tim and Delphine are fabulous hosts and the food out of this world! Yes the location is a little remote but it's worth it for the view and taxis are cheap and easy to find.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank enski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
3.5 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
1.4 mi away
Hotel & Resort Palermo
Hotel & Resort Palermo
#10 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
322 reviews
3.0 mi away
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
#23 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
#1 of 4 in Playa Marsella
427 reviews
1.7 mi away
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
#4 of 4 in Playa Marsella
152 reviews
2.0 mi away
HulaKai Hotel
HulaKai Hotel
#1 of 3 in Playa Maderas
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Jardin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Jardin Hotel

Address: Bahia Nacascolo | PO Box 68, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Juan del Sur
Price Range: £45 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — El Jardin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Jardin is the perfect place to relax while enjoying amazing views on the Pacific Ocean. The hotel is located up a hill, 4 km (2,4 miles) North from San Juan del Sur. We offer free shuttles to town once a day. Our guests can also spend the day by the outdoor pool where they can enjoy stunning views on Nacascolo bay. Each room has a private bathroom and features charming decor with cheerful colors. Some of them have a private terrace overlooking the ocean which is the perfect spot to watch the sunset. El Jardin's bar & restaurant features both an indoor and an open-air dining area with views on the bay. We serve international food (for example, burgers and tacos) and are also very proud to offer European inspired options (including Beef Bourguignon, Shrimp bisque, Homemade lasagna and many more). The bar is open all day with a good selection of cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your El Jardin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Jardin Hotel San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing