We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The view is Great !”
Review of El Jardin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
El Jardin Hotel
Ranked #9 of 27 Hotels in San Juan del Sur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

We were there 2 nights and it was great ! The rooms are so nice and practical. Service is very good.

You have a nice quiet beach just 15 minutes walking from the hotel. The owners are nice friendly people. The breakfast is outstanding and included in the room price. The pool is refreshing !

The road to get there is a little bumpy but it's not a big problem : the View is worth it !

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarinaBello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (238)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 238 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Just spent a week at Hotel Jardin with best friends and their kids. Staff was wonderful, room clean and cool. This is a true escape with beautiful views and quiet nights. And only a short cab ride from heart of town. Breakfast and dinner service were high quality with great variety. Great for singles, couples or families.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank FlyEatRepeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

great hotel-peaceful
great food made by husband-wife team that own the place. Very friendly. Only drawback is that it is a bit of a hike to the beach-but can maybe bum a ride into town with the owners. generally much nicer place than found down on the water

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RKHosey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I stayed at the El Jardin for 5 nights, and had a great time! The hosts, Delphine and Timote, were warm and welcoming, the location and the views from the hotel were spectacular, and it was one of the best values I had while in Nicaragua. The dirt road leading up to the hotel is a little daunting on the first ascent, but my rental car managed it just fine. I would recommend that you either have a car or plan to spend a large amount of your time at the hotel, because cab fares into town are $10, but I saw the owners offering rides into town on more than one occasion.
There is a virtually private lagoon just a 10 minutes' walk down the hill, where I spent many an hour soaking in the refreshing water and watching the birds soar overhead. There are even a couple of friendly dogs in the house just down the hill from the hotel who will accompany you to and from the lagoon, and keep an eye on your things while you are in the water. (I'm serious!)
The views of the lagoon and surrounding hillsides are beautiful from the common terrace, and I never tired of watching the sunsets while sipping on a cold beer and listening to the bird calls in the surrounding trees. The food is quite good, and I highly recommend the tenderloin of beef and the boeuf Bourguignon. The complimentary breakfast was fresh and plentiful, and the wait staff were very friendly. There is a great 45 minute long zip line on the way back to town, and a supermarket just as you get back onto the main road into town.
Another one of the great things about this hotel is that given its distance from the party zone of the town, I met some great people with whom I took day trips, and with whom I am still in contact. The caliber of people I met here was very good, and I had many hours' worth of good conversations with the hosts and other guests as we drank a beer or glass of wine after dinner.
If you are looking for a clean, well-appointed hotel within easy driving distance of the town of San Juan del Sur, with a great kitchen and stunning views, go to the El Jardin. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nyingma13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

I found myself back in San Juan del Sur for some business in February and once again stayed at El Jardin. What a fantastic place! For location, hotel accommodations, price and excellent food you just can't beat it.

There is nothing better than hanging out on the pool deck and watching the sun set and then walking 50 feet to have an amazing dinner. No wonder I never made it into town for dinner - despite my best intentions.

So not much else to add from a previous review (and other travelers reviews) Just nice to have a go-to place in NIcaragua.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank seaoutdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful experience at El Jardin! I liked how it wasn't in the middle of town...it was extremely peaceful and had exceptional views of the ocean. It is located about 15 minute to town so you will need a cab when you go. The owners, Delphine and Tim, are extremely accommodating and will take you to town if they are going. Hotel is so clean and the pool is very nice! We will definitely come back here!!!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Kellynicole87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

If you have a car or if you want to stay without moving around too much then This small family run hotel close to San Juan del Sur is excellent. The popular areas in San Juan are becoming tacky and the beautiful location of El Jardin just fifeteen to twenty minutes from the {"action" takes you into another world. The design and decor are authentic and funcionable, a small pool and a view to enjoy, Simplicity is taken to extreme, I would have liked a chair in the room. There are no distractions like tv but the internet works well. I had not time to enjoy the obvious effort of the chef to provide some Europeab favorites like chicken curry, duck pate, and boef borginogne but when I return I shall plan my mealtimes carefully because my rada is giving off good signsls and it never fails. The owners "live over the shop" to see that details are taken seriously. I hope to do another review with emphasis on the gourmet cooking and wine selection next trip

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chefgeraldManagua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel & Resort Palermo
Hotel & Resort Palermo
#11 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
329 reviews
3.5 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
3 mi away
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
#23 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
#4 of 4 in Playa Marsella
152 reviews
2 mi away
HulaKai Hotel
HulaKai Hotel
#1 of 3 in Playa Maderas
129 reviews
8.6 mi away
Costa Dulce
Costa Dulce
#4 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Jardin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Jardin Hotel

Address: Bahia Nacascolo | PO Box 68, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Juan del Sur
Price Range: £49 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — El Jardin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Jardin is the perfect place to relax while enjoying amazing views on the Pacific Ocean. The hotel is located up a hill, 4 km (2,4 miles) North from San Juan del Sur. We offer free shuttles to town once a day. Our guests can also spend the day by the outdoor pool where they can enjoy stunning views on Nacascolo bay. Each room has a private bathroom and features charming decor with cheerful colors. Some of them have a private terrace overlooking the ocean which is the perfect spot to watch the sunset. El Jardin's bar & restaurant features both an indoor and an open-air dining area with views on the bay. We serve international food (for example, burgers and tacos) and are also very proud to offer European inspired options (including Beef Bourguignon, Shrimp bisque, Homemade lasagna and many more). The bar is open all day with a good selection of cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your El Jardin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Jardin Hotel San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing