We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Casa Del Soul
Nearby Hotels
Hotel & Resort Palermo(San Juan del Sur)(Great Value!)
US$128
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$123
US$114
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Victoriano(San Juan del Sur)(Great Value!)
US$123
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort(San Juan del Sur)
US$49
US$48
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Alcazar(San Juan del Sur)(Great Value!)
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
El Jardin Hotel and Restaurant(San Juan del Sur)(Great Value!)
US$74
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barrio Cafe Hotel(San Juan del Sur)(Great Value!)
US$76
US$74
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Casa Bahia Hotel(Playa Marsella)
US$74
US$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Costa Dulce(San Juan del Sur)(Great Value!)
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa(San Juan del Sur)
US$360
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (327)
Filter reviews
327 results
Traveller rating
295
26
3
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
295
26
3
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsevery morningprivate beachperfect temperaturehowler monkeysjesus statuebanana pancakeslow tidebreathtaking viewsgreat poolshrimplocal beachescentral americasurf lessonsrandybaytaxitown
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
114 - 119 of 327 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2013

My boyfreind and I stayed at Casa Del Soul for three nights on July 2013 and we really enjoyed our stay. Randi is a great host. He set up a taxi tranfer for us from Granada to San Juan Del Sur for a really good price that took us to the house up on the hill. The views are spectacular from the house and it is really quiet and peaceful. The room had large windows facing the ocean and featured access to a balcony with a hammock where we enjoyed the sunset our first day. Randi was really helpful and can provide information and contacts for the many activities available at San Juan Del Sur. Hopefuly we can be back soon.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Ana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Everything was wonderful! The views were magnificent and the hospitality was top-notch. Randy, the host, was very knowledgeable of the area and offered great accommodations. The optional chef was also a lovely addition to our stay. The only thing missing was a safe in the room. Although we did not come across any compromising situations, we did have some things of value (ie. passports) that we would have preferred to place in a safe.

We recommend staying at Casa Del Soul. The property offers several lounging areas that are conducive for relaxing and enjoying the magnificent views. We had a great time! Thank you Randy.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cynthia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randyman54, Owner at Casa Del Soul, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Thank you for the nice review. I do have safes or locking units in each room. It is in the closet of room 2. Because there wasn't anybody in Room 2 during the time the couple in Room was there,the guest took the lock box from Room 2 and used it for the 4 nights they were there. They put it the locking cabinet they had..So it is back in room and it is "Bolted Down" now in the closet. Thanks, Randy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

I visit Nicaragua 2-3 times a year and over the years have been trying to find a place inviting enough to return to again and again...I found that place at Casa Del Soul. The house is located on a beautiful bluff overlooking a gorgeous bay with a nice sand beach within a 5 minute walk from your room. The whole time I was there only 2 other people were on the beach and they were local fishermen...it could not have been more peaceful with a feeling of absolute remoteness. The key element of Casa Del Soul is although you feel remote, you are only a 10 minute taxi ride into San Juan del Sur. Randy and Brenda have two excellent taxi drivers who will take you in/pick you up from town at any hour of the day. OR during the day, you can walk into town which took us about 25 minutes, a nice way to start the day.
Randy is an excellent host and will arrange tours, drop off/pick off at the border...even having a pizza delivered to us so we could spend the rainy evening in bed watching movies. It was like staying at your good buddies home. Another benefit of staying at the house, is Randy gives you a local cell phone to use. The phone has the two taxi drivers in it as well as Casa Del Soul. An excellent idea and very much appreciated.
With all the attractions found in San Juan Del Sur, we found ourselves staying at the home, wandering down to the beach with Chucho, and lounging by the pool. Always with binoculars in hand as the property just south of the house and out onto the bay headlands is secondary forest government land (won't be developed) with see a good amount of bird activity. For dinners, we hired the fabulous Fabiola to make a couple of our favorite dinners, one of which is Churrasco with chimichurri sauce..Fabiola nailed it..absolutely nailed it. The cut of meat she bought was tender and we used butter knives to cut the meat with...she prepared rosemary potatoes, string beans, and a delicious salad to accompany the dinner. AND for dessert she made my favorite, Flan. Needless to say, with an awesome cook like Fabiola we had dinners covered. Breakfast, cooked by Yami, was hearty enough to get us through the afternoon (accompanied by snacks) to get us to Fabiola's dinner. Breakfast was a choice of omelettes, banana pancakes or eggs your way..each included juice, toast, gallo pinto, and fruit.
We were fortunate enough to have the house to ourselves the majority of the time which was great. We felt safe and secure with Randy and his family and especially with Chucho who is an excellent guard dog. I would take him to the beach with me, and being a solo female, felt completely secure with Chucho by my side. HE HAS YOUR BACK.
I recommend Room #1..yes, it is a bit more money but the view is stunning. You feel like your on a boat with the huge windows looking out onto this beautiful bay and headlands. Many an hour was spent lounging on the bed taking in the marine life activity and bird life.
As my friend and I discussed, it felt like we were visiting our buddy. Randy is a cool guy with a lot of travel stories..he is easy to hang with and invites you into his home in earnest. Good people.
If you are looking for a place to rage and party until all hours of the night, this is not your place. If you are looking for a place to get away from it all, but still be close enough to bar and restaurants then Casa del Soul fits the bill. I recommend for women travellers, close friends and couples.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ManaNina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We just returned from 3 nights at Casa del Soul. As others have stated, Randy is incredibly helpful and accommodating. He helped us arrange a private driver from Granada, and then to Managua for our return flight. You should make use of this service for transport. The cell phone that Randy lends comes in very handy for when you want to explore San Juan del Sur or the local beaches, as do the two taxi drivers that service Casa del Soul (no other taxi drivers will be able to find the house!) Randy took us to the fish market at the south end of the beach and brought our fish back to the house while we stayed in town, and Yami (the housekeeper) cleaned the fish for us.
The view is great, and the private chef, Fabiola, was great! She is a super nice woman and cooked a delicious meal, and we enjoyed talking to her about life in Nicaragua and getting a local's perspective. We had the house to ourselves while we were there, but this place would be great for a group of friends or a family that wants to come down. You can purchase amazing seafood at amazingly low prices and cheap beer/liquor and cook your own meal in the awesome outdoor kitchen...all while overlooking the bay.
The seafood in SJDS is so fresh and tasty, beer is cheaper than water on the beach, and the beaches are undeveloped compared to other resort destinations. What more could you ask for?
There is no AC, but there are plenty of fans and a nice breeze. However, I get very warm when I sleep, so woke up hot every morning. But that comes with being in the tropics, so just go hop in the pool when you need to cool down.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Casa del Soul is a pristine beach getaway! It offers a stunning view of the bay in a peaceful and quiet setting. We had the most relaxing and romantic honeymoon staying in the beautiful premier suite. Randy and Brenda were extremely helpful and friendly, we loved getting to know them. The staff was also very helpful and welcoming. The kitchen access was particularly nice because we love to cook and were able to cook often. We enjoyed the walk to town each day, it provided magnificent views of San Juan del Sur. We hope to stay at Casa del Soul again! The dog Chucho is very cute and sweet.
Waverly and Reid

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Waverly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews