We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we needed.....”
Review of Casa Del Soul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa Del Soul
Reviewed 12 January 2014

One word: LOVED it! Ok, that's 2 words, but you get the point.
This was the first time my husband and I traveled to Central America and we weren't disappointed. Waking up in our suite at Casa Del Soul was exactly as we expected, beautiful. Warm breeze flowing through the room with a view facing the bay in front of the villa, which is peaceful, quiet and completely private.
Every day we woke up early to a healthy breakfast and a cup of delicious Nicaragua coffee (we didn't need cream or sugar, but never let the Bailey's go to waste). We spent our days visiting the town of San Juan Del Sur, traveling from beach to beach, meeting local people and ex-pats, lounging by the pool, chilling in the shade, and thinking up ways we could spend the rest of our lives there.
Besides the glorious environment, the best part of the trip was hanging at the Casa, sipping beer, petting ChuCho the loveable and protective watch dog, and being entertained by Randy (the Casa's charismatic owner) listening to stories of times gone by.
To sum it up the trip was amazing and we couldn't ask for anything more (except to go back as soon as possible!). Muchas gracias Randy!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tammy I I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (326)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 326 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2014

This was our first trip to San Juan del Sur and staying at Casa del Soul was a highlight. It has a million dollar view, peace and quiet, fresh made breakfast, kayaks, beautiful pool, wifi, binoculars for whale watching, easy walking access to several secluded and beautiful beaches. Getting to town is a short but steep hike and is not an issue if you are in shape, otherwise it is a 5-10 min taxi ride. Leaving noisy San Juan del Sur behind at night is important if you plan to sleep since the beach town has an active late night bar scene.

The owner, Randy, is excellent at assisting travel arrangements ranging from transportation from the airport to surf lessons to suggestions for dinner. He and his staff attended to all the details that make for a stress-free vacation. Ater a red eye flight and mulitple plane changes, we arranged to have a local woman cook dinner for us on our first night at the B&B. It was so good, we asked her to cook for us an additional night. Fish tacos (Dorado) shrimp, lobster, rice and salad.

We thought about day trips to other destinations, but found the view and the pool hard to,leave! This is a perfect spot to relax, meet new friends and take in the beauty of Nicaragua.

Room Tip: We stayed in the master suite with a full ocean view. Stunning and wonderful breezes at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gloria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I had a wonderful stay at Casa del Soul; I can't say enough good things about the service, amazing view from our bedroom, and relaxing atmosphere! It is located close enough to town for an easy taxi ride (provided) or a good walk (or run!). Breakfast is served every morning by wonderful Yami who cooks up a nice Nicaraguan breakfast or banana pancakes. Amazing, isolated beaches a 20 minute walk away and easily accessible surfing beaches made for quite the vacation! The pool and hammocks were also enjoyable, you don't need to leave the casa to have an incredibly relaxing day!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maya H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

I cannot say enough about Casa del Soul. If you are looking for incredible views, a peaceful atmosphere and a friendly, knowledgable owner, stay here.

Randy is the owner and he made sure we were armed with information before each day trip we took.

We spent four nights in the room in the back - and it was perfect for us. The bed was comfortable, there was cable tv (though we didn't use it), A/C (we didn't need it), a large bathroom, safe, good size closet and private patio area.

And - a kitchen to use in the evenings if we chose to make dinner. We never made dinner - but it was very handy to keep our refreshments cold.

We day-tripped to playas Hermosa and Maderas over two days. We simply stayed at this paradise one day to totally relax. Another day we walked down the hill to the beach, turned right, and walked 45 minutes over rocks to reach a private beach code. (-Note- only possible at low tide.) It was fantastic.

And another day we walked up to the Jesus statue, and then down into town.

It was our first time in Nicaragua, so we had always planned to leave after five days to see Ometepe. However, on our next trip, I could see us staying at Casa del Soul the entire time.

Breakfast was amazing. Fueled us up for day trips. We sometimes skipped lunch until an early dinner.

Two more points - one is Chucho, the house dog. He is an outdoor, happy, damn smart canine! I kinda fell in love with him. (Only pet him when you are sitting down.)

Last point - the cabs. To get from Randy's to town or vice versa, you can walk - about an hour up and downhill - or call a cab. It's roughly $6.50 to town or to Randy's during the day (we always tipped a dollar or two), and $8 at night (we always tipped then, too).

Randy gave us a cell phone with the cab's number preprogrammed. We never waited more than 10-15 minutes, and the drivers were wonderful. **My partner's wallet was left behind in a cab one night - and the next morning - we got it back with every dollar and credit card. The card numbers have not been abused.

To show our thanks, we hired the same driver to take us to the ferry to Ometepe, and gave him a great tip on top of the fare.

Peace and serenity were my goals on this trip. I work in the crazy TV news industry - and went to Nicaragua with no phone, computer or tablet to really unplug. Casa del Soul was the perfect place for achieving this.

Thanks Randy & Chucho! We will be back!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ellie_mae_36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Randy was very helpful from the very beginning when I contacted him, h even arranged a desk for me in the room, with view to the ocean (I was working on a desk review). Casa Del Soul is a beautiful place and located at an excellent point, it´s not that far away from town, I walked every evening to have dinner in San Juan del Sur, you just need to be a little bit in shape because ot the hills, but it doesn´t take more than 30 minutes. Randy´s place is clean, comfortable, quiet and beautiful designed. I would go back with pleasure and no doubt. Walter

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank walter07101960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Casa Del Soul is a beautiful and a serene place to stay. The view is breath taking! Far from the noise and crowd. Breckfast was wonderful! The owner Randy was full of great information about the area, people and places to go and see. As a world traveler, he was very entertaining and very informative with his past experiance's. The place itself was amazing! The dog is a treat for anyone who loves animals. San Juan Del Sur and beaches is a great place to stay or visit for all people old and young who love the water. It has something for everyone!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Siegrid T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We concur with the former reviews...peaceful and quiet with nature sounds putting us to sleep and waking us up. But close by is the lively beach town with great restaurants, things to do and experience. Our group took up three rooms and each was different but each well appointed. The main rooms don't have air but at night you don't need it and Randy provided us with two fans which we did use. Two of the smaller rooms on the back of the house did have air due to location and lack of cross breezes like our rooms had but all were nicely decorated and appointed.
Yammi and Moses were very helpful and Yammi was a great breakfast cook. One night we hired Fabiola (I think was her name) to cook our Dorado that we caught and it was an amazing meal. Randy was the ultimate host...yes he lives there with his wife and they come and go but always very unobtrusively. He always made sure our phone still had minutes on it (the one he provides) and offered to assist in activity planning...we rented five ATV four wheelers and took off to many of the area beaches! (Amazing day!!) We also went fishing that Randy helped set up...fishing wasn't so great but thats why its "fishing" not catching! We did get the Dorado (mahi mahi) and that was more than worth it!

Yes, we would stay there again with no hesitations! Yes, getting to town can be seen as a bit inconvenient (and $6 for the carful to get there) but it is all part of the adventure. The younger guests walk to town but that was not even an option for us...based on what we saw for lodging in town and the noise level of town...we had the best of San Juan Del Sur at Casa Del Soul.

Room Tip: We had the bigger main room that you could see the Pacific Ocean while laying in bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AshRiverGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
1.8 mi away
Hotel & Resort Palermo
Hotel & Resort Palermo
#10 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
322 reviews
3.6 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
0.8 mi away
El Jardin Hotel
El Jardin Hotel
#9 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
#4 of 4 in Playa Marsella
152 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
#1 of 4 in Playa Marsella
427 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa
#7 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Del Soul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Del Soul

Address: Pacific Marlin N 34, San Juan del Sur 99513, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 71 Speciality Lodging in San Juan del Sur
Price Range: £58 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Del Soul is an oceanfront, luxury 4,000 sq. ft. home. It is situated on Nacascolo Bay, 5 minutes from San Juan Del Sur. It has a large outdoor deck surrounding a 4 by 9 meter swimming pool. The big balcony off the 2nd floor bedrooms give it a commanding view of the ocean and the tropical forest. Cable TV, DVD, ipod music systems, refrigerator, coffee makers make your room very comfortable. A full breakfast is included. We give cell phones to our guests and I help you do anything you want to in Nicaragua. Transportation,tours,volcanos,surfing,fishing,shopping, REAL ESTATE, ATV's,zipline,horseback riding,etc... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Casa Del Soul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Soul Hotel San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing