We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best House We ever Rented”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa Del Soul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Del Soul
Certificate of Excellence
Colonia, NJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best House We ever Rented”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2009

We travel with another couple and have renting houses for several years now. Casa del Soul more than met all our requirements. Randy and Brenda were great hosts and provided us with information galore and points of interest we should see. Although the walk into town looked daunting, just take your time and it's fine (this comes from someone who does not exercise). There were lots of time Randy would pick us up in town so that we didn't have to call for a taxi. There is even a wonderful, friendly, charming dog attached to the house (we wanted to take him home, but Randy wouldn't let us). The kitchen had every thing you could possibly want, we packed steaks in our check-on luggage and used the grill. Breakfast was always lots of fresh fruit, which tasted so much better than what we get a home, eggs, pancakes, whatever you want. San Juan is a small, clean town with numerous restaurants which have very cheap and excellent food. We rented for 10 days and only had a car for the last 4. We found that taxis are an excellent way to get around - share the cab and you can go to other towns/market places for only $2.00/pp. We even tried our luck at the brand new casino in town and had lots of fun. The house has lots of games to pay in the evening so if you stay at home, there is plenty to keep everyone happy. Everyone is friendly and willing to help in Nicaragua. You'll love Casa del Soul as much as we did!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cats4dog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    26
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
41
163
23
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vermont
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2009

We were 2 middle aged couples who rented out two bedrooms, sharing a common balcony overlooking the sea. The house was in a pristine location away from crowds and noise. At first I wondered how we were going to get in and out of town but found that the beautiful hilly walk was good for our bodies and if our strength just couldn't do another hill or if we were out late at night, we had the use of a cell phone and Randy (the owner) would pick us up.

The cook (Gabi) made us breakfast everyday and we did our own evening meals about 6 out of the 10 nights we were there. The kitchen was better equipped than my own. The open floor plan on the main level (like no walls) allowed us to enjoy those meals (and happy hours) with full unobstructed views.

Randy, the owner, was around but not in our faces at all. It was nice to have him to pick his brain on sightseeing ideas or best way to get from place to place when we took off for the day. We also had use of his laptop computer while we were there.

I would highly recommend this place and would return there again without a second thought.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank biketravel50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2009

My wife and I stayed at casa del soul for 4 nights in december 2008 on a short vacation to nicaragua that we spent in san juan del sur and ometepe. The conveniences of the hotel far outweigh the distance from town, which was a concern for us when we booked it. It is too far to walk into town, so it isn't the best place to stay if you're the type of traveler that wants to stay out late every night. But they give you a cell phone and have a driver that will take you into town and pick you up whenever you call him. We went to town once or twice a day for our entire stay and it was very convenient. What you get for being 20 minutes outside of town is amazing views, wonderful privacy and seclusion, and a private beach. The breakfasts were excellent, and gabi cooked several lunches and dinners for us too. We just picked up some groceries and she did the rest. The room was nice, we were in the slightly smaller of the two premium rooms on the second floor. An air conditioner would have been nice, because even when it cooled off at night it was still a little warmer in the room that I'm used to sleeping (probably got down to about 75 at night, and december in nicaragua is a time when the weather and traveling is perfect). The satellite TV was much better than expected, with every major US network and premium channel available, and the dvd player and ipod speakers were awesome added bonuses. The bathroom was beautiful, and the hot water was piping hot. Overall, the convenience of being at a place with more staff than the number of guest rooms, a great pool, nice quiet area with hammocks, a private beach, amenities such as a provided cell phone and driver, far far FAR FAR outweighed the fact that it was a little bit outside of town. The price was perfect as well. Also I should mention that Randy arranged to pick us up at the border as we had flown into liberia costa rica, and they were there waiting for us when we got there. They also drove us to the dock at san jorge the morning we left to go to ometepe. Top notch service without the tourist tax and price gouging that you get from some of the bigger resorts. Would stay here again in a heartbeat! Thanks Randy for such a wonderful vacation!!!

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mattunc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2009

I had never tried a B&B before but after reading many of the reports on TripAdvisor and all the info on the Casa del Soul website, decided to give it a try. This property exceeds its advertisements (and exceeded my expectations)! Truly a taste of luxury that we very much needed after our rustic accommodations in other parts of Nicaragua. Casa del Soul was impeccably clean, nice and quiet, and offered incredible views of the Pacific Ocean right from our guest room. The owner, Randy, and his assistant Brenda went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. Brenda's delicious food was a welcome change from the bland, unappetizing food we'd experienced for most of our trip previous to our stay at Casa del Soul. The B&B is located in an upscale, executive neighborhood in the hills overlooking San Juan del Sur. Randy offers transportation into town (a 5-10 minute trip) and has taxi service available, even as far as to the Managua Airport. The personal service and spacious facilities made us feel as though we owned the place. We stayed 4 days. I'm glad we saved Casa del Soul until the end of our Nicaragua vacation. It would have been very difficult to stay at some of our other hotels in Nicaragua after experiencing the luxury of Casa del Soul.

  • Liked — the views
  • Disliked — there was nothing that I disliked
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank airlinepro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco Bay Area
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2008

Casa del Soul is a slice of heaven, in a gorgeous spot. The proprietor, Randy, goes out of his way to make sure guests are comfortable and have whatever they need to make their stay memorable.

You can cook your meals, have them cooked to order, or eat your meals out, in town. Arrangements for transportation and excursions are available for the asking.

The rooms are luxurious, by Nica standards, with unforgettable views. The house is built with the beautiful surroundings paramount. Sunset swims with cocktails poolside are not to be missed.

  • Liked — The proprietor was very accommodating.
  • Disliked — There was not enough privacy between our room and the neighboring room.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MsMindyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2008

My girlfriend and I stayed there for a week and just like everyone else who has reviewed Casa del Soul, our stay there was perfect.

The house is amazing and the views of Nacascolo Bay are spectacular. Randy is a great host and will do everything he can to make your stay and enjoyable one.

If you are passing through San Juan del Sur, make it a point to stay at least a couple of days at Casa del Soul. Though be careful, you won't want to ever leave.

  • Liked — The house
  • Disliked — Its just a bit outside of town (very, very small gripe)
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Toronto-PatrickB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2008

My wife and I had a wonderful stay at Casa del Soul. We orginally booked for 3 nights and end up staying for 6. Randy and his staff took excellent care of us the entire time. The house is beautiful and after traveling the country for 3 weeks on chicken buses and rough roads, Casa del Soul was luxurious! Our mornings started out with fresh, hot coffee and a full breakfast of whatever we desired was prepared for us. I stil miss these breakfasts. Most days we headed to town and then went to one of the amazing beaches both north and south of San Juan. Once we arrived back in town a quick phone call (yes, Randy provides his guests with a cell phone) was all it took for Alex to come pick us up and take us back to the serenity of Casa del Soul. The house isn't far from town, but you have to cross a fairly large hill to get there. No worries, because the staff provided rides pretty much whenever we wanted. We cooked our dinners in the kitchen almost every night which is fully equipped with every kitchen appliance and tool necessary as well as a gas BBQ grill. We enjoyed exploring the area, but in all honesty, you could spend several days at Casa del Soul and never leave the house. The views are magnificent, the pool is refreshing, the multiple hammocks are relaxing, the music (yes, Randy lends you his iPod) is wonderful, and you can even take a short walk to a rocky beach that is gorgeous. All in all, a great place to recharge your batteries!

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jtrips123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
1.6 mi away
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
#4 of 4 in Playa Marsella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
3.6 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
3.1 mi away
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
#22 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
#1 of 4 in Playa Marsella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Alcazar
Hotel Alcazar
#11 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
1.8 mi away
Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort
Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort
#10 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Del Soul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Del Soul

Property: Casa Del Soul
Address: Pacific Marlin N 34, San Juan del Sur 99513, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 73 Speciality Lodging in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Del Soul is an oceanfront, luxury 4,000 sq. ft. home. It is situated on Nacascolo Bay, 5 minutes from San Juan Del Sur. It has a large outdoor deck surrounding a 4 by 9 meter swimming pool. The big balcony off the 2nd floor bedrooms give it a commanding view of the ocean and the tropical forest. Cable TV, DVD, ipod music systems, refrigerator, coffee makers make your room very comfortable. A full breakfast is included. We give cell phones to our guests and I help you do anything you want to in Nicaragua. Transportation,tours,volcanos,surfing,fishing,shopping, REAL ESTATE, ATV's,zipline,horseback riding,etc... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Casa Del Soul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Soul Hotel San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing