We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too hot, not too cold, just right..... perfect!”
Review of Casa Del Soul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa Del Soul
Reviewed 17 July 2009

After a quick two hour drive from Managua, we (my wife and I and our four friends) were anxious to spend two nights away from our busy lives just outside of Managua. All we knew of this place were from the pictures on the internet and Randy's verbal kudos over the phone. But we were game and the fact that it had a pool, not a little wading or sitting pool but a pool you could actually swim in was good enough for us. It did seem a little weird to think that we would actually be staying in someones house but Randy said that it was set up so that the guests would hardly know that he was there.

We arrived around noon after a stop in San Juan del Sur to pick up my favorite coffee drink at El Gato Negro, an Aztec Mocha.... mmmm good with just a hint of cinnamon. (Rob and Kelly do a super job there) We were greeted by Randy's dog, Chawco, or Coco or Choo-choo or whatever his name is. I think one of the other reviews has the name right but not this spanglish speaking Gringo. Anyways, the dog is a delight and very quickly will become your friend. (Loves to be petted on the lower neck, upper chest)

Our bags were wisked out of our van to the appropriate rooms as we stood in awe of the beautiful view off to the west, with the sun sparkling off the gentle waves in the not to distant bay. That was a great beginning....

Our room was adequate for the two of us. We had the smaller but more private room on the main floor back in the corner. The other two couples had the larger two rooms on the second floor where they shared a large common balcony. Our bathroom was sufficient, the shower was large and had hot water, if you wanted it. We used the hot water a couple of times. The normal temperature of the water is usually just fine, especially if you've been walking around at any length. Our bed was quite comfortable and we used the air conditioning in our room one night and a floor fan the other nights.

We brought a boat load of snacks and homemade goodies with us, pop and iced tea mix. Randy's maid made us breakfasts of pancakes, french toast and scrambled eggs on three different mornings. Plus of course, there was fresh coffeeand fresh fruit ready shortly after we were up in the morning. The kitchen has all you need to prepare your own lunches and dinners if you so please. The house is secure during the day and night with either Randy and the dog there, plus the maid and her husband, who maintains the pool and the grounds during the day and then head home in the late afternoon. The whole development has a guarded main gate that one has to drive through to get to the house. So, we always felt secure during our stay.

We had so much fun the first two nights, that we ended up staying a third. It was a very relaxing time. The beach is about a six minute walk away and really fun to explore and to fish off of. Randy has a pole that he let me use and I brought my own tackle. Nope, didn't catch anything, but enjoyed trying.

Randy really hits on this next part, but it really is true, You are a hop, skip and a jump away from San Juan del Sur proper but there at his house, one would never know it. That's the beauty of the place. You can enjoy all that SJDS has to offer and then head back to your own place and enjoy the view, the trees, the pool and the....... quiet.SJDS can be noisyat night, with mortars and bottle rockets going off for who knows what celebration, honking cars and motorcycles with little or no mufflers and kids and drunk adults hooting and hollering as they meander the streets. You are a world away from all that at Casa del Soul.

Thanks Randy, Halle and Kathy

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Halle01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (326)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

284 - 290 of 326 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2009

Casa Del Soul was referred to us by some friends who stayed there last year. Without this recommendation, we never would have found this slice of paradise. Everything that has been said in previous reviews of this place is true, and even with high expectations, we we're blown away by the actual experience. Traveling to Nicaragua is an adventure we'll never forget, and you simply can't do this trip better than heading to San Juan del Sur and staying at Casa Del Soul.

Casa Del Soul
Casa Del Soul is a beautiful mansion overlooking a bay on the Pacific ocean. Your day starts with a view of a spectacular rocky shore being pounded by huge waves. There are only a handful of guest suites, and during our stay we were the only guests in the home. After a breakfast of fresh fruit, and banana pancakes, we would enjoy a cup of amazing Nicaraguan coffee in the poolside cabana. The pool is amazing and refreshing all day long. After getting sun-burned on the first day (a tradition for Wisconsin folks), it was nice to swim in a pool which has shaded sections for most of the day. Lunch and dinners are up to you, but you have access to a beautiful full kitchen and dinning room area with views of the ocean and pool. We made quite a few lunches in the kitchen, which had all amenities, and opted to eat out for dinner most nights. Our guest room was beautiful, and quite romantic. While there is no air condition, you don't need it at Casa Del Soul, due to the almost constant breezes and multiple fans available to guests. I'm a hot-body by nature, and even I was comfortable. When I needed to check my email, Randy provided us with a laptop, which worked great on the high speed wireless connection at Casa Del Soul.

San Juan del Sur
I don't know anything about surfing, but this is definitely a surfing destination. As far as I could tell, my fiancée and I were the only non-surfing Americans in town. You can walk to town from Casa Del Soul, but we usually just caught a ride in with Randy when he ran errands. In town you can do everything. There is fine dining, transportation to nearby surfing beaches, atv rentals, shopping, internet cafe's, fishing tours, and bars. The best part is that Randy knows the best places in town, and has connections with all the proprietors. I always got the sense on our trip that we we're getting extra special care just because we we're "Randy's guests".

While we were there, the weather was absolutely perfect. It was sunny all week, and twice we had spectacular thunderstorms at night. We checked the forecast before coming to Nicaragua and it said the temps would be in the mid 90's all week with rain every day (I guess their meteorologists are as accurate as ours back home). With our close proximity to the ocean, I bet it never once got above 90 degrees while we were there, and the high humidity we expected was also absent. San Juan del Sur is located on a small strip of land between Lake Nicaragua and the ocean, so apparently this moderates the temps well and keeps the humidity very comfortable. All you need is shorts and tank tops (direct quote from Randy).

During our stay we did numerous touristy activities. Every day Randy asked us what we wanted to do, and when we answered he made all the calls to setup what we wanted. When we asked to tour the country, he got us a driver named Fabio who took us to Grenada, Katarina, and Masaya. We shopped in markets, and saw many historical sites. We also went up to the Masaya volcano, which was an awesome experience. Another day we zip-lined in the canopy, and on a different day we took a tour bus to Maderas beach... which has some of the most impressive waves I've ever seen.

We can't wait to return to Casa Del Soul, and next time we're going to bring our parents as well to share the experience with them.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Therbsts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2009

This is a great comfortable place hidden away from San Juan del Sur but with all the best that that area offers - fantastic views, incredible sunsets, beach access. We went with family and friends and even took our 20 month old - she loved it!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amandechon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2009

We had 3 wonderful weeks at Casa Del Soul with our host Randy Harvey and girlfriend Brenda and of course Chucho the house dog. This place is absolutely the most relaxing, tranquil vacation we have had in a long time. The bed and breakfast is beautiful and the staff Alex and Gabby are absolutely wonderful people. The beakfast everyday was the freshest fruit and anything else you wanted with it. There was always a breeze that kept you cool and the swimming pool was the perfect temperature. We walked to town a couple of times and also had Randy drive us which he had no problem doing its only 5 - 8 min to town. The beach in front of the house is quite interesting and a great walk in the mornings.....many shells and things to look at while walking the bay. This location has the best sunsets anywhere and every picture I have is different. Well worth going to this bed and breakfast to enjoy a real unique vacation in a beautiful friendly country.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank totwanows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2009

We are from Wisconsin and couldn't wait to get away from the cold winter. We stayed at Casa del Soul located in San Juan del Sur in Nicaragua. It was a beautiful place. We woke each morning to a beautiful view of the bay and the sound of the water slapping against the shore. We even saw the monkeys one morning - a large family of them. It was pretty cool! Randy Harvey is the owner of Casa del Soul and he is a wonderful host. He went out of his way to drive us wherever we wanted to go. He arranged for our travel from the airport to Casa del Soul as well as transportation to our next destination. Breakfast was always wonderful. And Brenda, Randy's girlfriend, made us a fish dinner one night that was out of this world. Being able to take a dip in his refreshing pool was welcoming after being gone all day in the hot sun. Our stay at Casa del Soul was very, very nice, and we definitely would recommend it as a second honeymoon! Chuchu, Randy's dog, was also a great protector of the guests, and loves the attention! The only downside we found was that although breakfast was served daily (and, again, extremely tasty), it would be nice for the hotel to serve lunch and dinner for their guests. Although you can ask Randy to drive you into town to bring dinner back to be cooked, it's always a nice feeling to have someone do the cooking for you when you are on vacation. Other than that, we very much enjoyed our stay and are seriously thinking of going back again next year. The friendly atmosphere and amazing view are well worth another trip.

Dave and Debbie
Milwaukee, Wisconsin

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Milwaukee_WIGizmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2009

Treat yourself and go here.....the view and home will take your breathe away.......if you have ever sat and seen photos of houses in the back of those airline magazines....this is one of them.............4000 sq ft of tile, views, views etc.........Great host, very accomadating, lovely and friendly staff..........a very, very memorable setting and place...thank you


Neil and Joe

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pgo120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2009

We just returned from Casa Del Soul after spending 8 wonderful days in Nicaragua. After doing some extensive research, we decided to stay with Randy after reading the reviews on TripAdvisor. Since Nicaragua is not a popular tourist destination, we were not sure what to expect but were completely blown away when we got there.

One of our concerns was that we did not speak any Spanish and would have problems communicating. Randy arranged everything for us. We had someone waiting to pick us up at the airport and bring us to Casa Del Soul. The house is beautiful, clean and relaxing. Our room had a bathroom with a hot water shower, air conditioning, TV and DVD player and Randy provided us with a cellphone and laptop with internet.

The drive to town is approx. 20 mins and costs $15 USD, there are some very nice restaraunts and bars. At no point did we feel unsafe or uncomfortable. The locals are very friendly and we managed to communicate without knowing any Spanish.

I cannot say enough positive things about Casa Del Soul. When I first contacted Randy, he responded the very next day and answered all my questions. I highly recommend it!! It is a fabulous vacation spot if you are looking for something romantic and different.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AkuraToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
0.8 mi away
El Jardin Hotel
El Jardin Hotel
#9 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
236 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel & Resort Palermo
Hotel & Resort Palermo
#10 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
326 reviews
1.9 mi away
Casa Bahia Hotel
Casa Bahia Hotel
#3 of 4 in Playa Marsella
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
2.1 mi away
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
#1 of 4 in Playa Marsella
429 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa
#7 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Del Soul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Del Soul

Address: Pacific Marlin N 34, San Juan del Sur 99513, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 71 Speciality Lodging in San Juan del Sur
Price Range: £85 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Del Soul is an oceanfront, luxury 4,000 sq. ft. home. It is situated on Nacascolo Bay, 5 minutes from San Juan Del Sur. It has a large outdoor deck surrounding a 4 by 9 meter swimming pool. The big balcony off the 2nd floor bedrooms give it a commanding view of the ocean and the tropical forest. Cable TV, DVD, ipod music systems, refrigerator, coffee makers make your room very comfortable. A full breakfast is included. We give cell phones to our guests and I help you do anything you want to in Nicaragua. Transportation,tours,volcanos,surfing,fishing,shopping, REAL ESTATE, ATV's,zipline,horseback riding,etc... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Casa Del Soul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Soul Hotel San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing