We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet Get-A-Way in the Hills--Casa del Soul”
Review of Casa Del Soul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa Del Soul
Minneapolis, MN
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Quiet Get-A-Way in the Hills--Casa del Soul”
Reviewed 14 February 2010

Casa del Soul is located in the beautiful hills of San Juan del Sur. The pool was great, many hammocks in the shade to relax in, and a beautiful view of the ocean. Randy was very accommodating, lending us a cell phone, giving us a tour of town, and setting us up with a taxi driver, Carlos. Casa is very quiet and secluded--in its own private neighborhood. (Note: Randy has a large dog--Chucho is friendly, but also protective.)

Although Casa del Soul was a wonderful get-a-way, it did not fully match our needs as travelers. We were looking for a hotel where we are able to freely travel to and from town and hotel. If you do want to venture into town, it is either waiting for a taxi ($5 one way for a five minute drive) or a arduous 25 minute hike among steep hills and declines.

Although there is a private beach within a five minute walk, it is very rocky and not a swimming beach. It is a great little hike and a good chance that you will see monkeys.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UnkleTomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    293
    26
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
42
164
23
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2010

Casa del Soul was a highlight of our travels in Nicaragua. The location and views were outstanding. Randy worked hard to ensure everyone was happy and enjoying their stay. It was so nice to be able to enjoy the area without having to be right in town. The room was comfortable and extremely clean. It even had a quiet beach just a stroll away. The pool was clean and the perfect temperature. Thank you Randy and Brenda!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbuddies39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MI-USA
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 January 2010

My partner and I stayed here for 7 days in January and experienced the most relaxing and enjoyable place in Nicaragua. Yes, the house is gorgeous, the view is spectacular and the hospitality is exactly how all the reviews describe it. But the best part for me was the first-class environment in which time slows and you find yourself, trance-like, staring into the water - reflecting on your journey.

Reward yourself by staying at this beautiful, peaceful home - extend your stay if you can.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buttscol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
texas
1 review
Reviewed 30 January 2010

As a solo woman with minimal Spanish, I was a little worried to travel to Nicaragua alone. Randy was quick to respond to all of my emails, with plenty of knowledge and several suggestions, and I appreciated that. He arranged a car to pick me up in Managua, late at night, and bring me to the house.
In the mornings, Brenda hears your movements and meets you downstairs to inquire what you would like for breakfast. She cooks very well. The fruit, eggs, and coffee are always perfect. I had her prepare several of my meals at lunch and dinner, and they were much better than what was offered at the few restaurants I tried in town. The curried potatoes, steak, salads, and whole snapper were fantastic.
Brenda is efficient, she even did my laundry for me. When I got back to my room one evening it was all folded neatly on the bed. And Randy helped me plan my trips to Ometepe, Granada, and Madera by making phone calls for me and connecting me with competent drivers and guides. He actually dropped me off at the ferry terminal on my way to Ometepe, which was nice. I really felt like I was being looked after, and you will too. They know everyone in town. I went fishing a couple times on the sunset cruise. We brought our catches to the house and had them the next day. The dog is a total sweetie, and the views are spectacular.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hapykampir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 January 2010

My boyfriend Craig & I were thrilled with our stay at Casa del Soul. Randy is a great guy who welcomed us with open arms & an open heart. He really bent over backward trying to make sure that we were happy! Brenda was great as well. Chucho the dog is a sweetheart. The view from the house is incredible & having a "personal" beach so close by was priceless!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandraCraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 January 2010

The location is very peaceful and a beautiful view of a private bay.The owners go over the top to accomidate you.Can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank costabeachbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 January 2010

San Juan del Sur is one of many amazing places in Nicaragua. Staying at Casa del Soul made it even more amazing. Rooms are beautiful, clean and warm. Randy makes you feel at home 24/7. The view is magnificent. Casa del Soul is indeed the perfect place for your soul....

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicaraguense
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
3.6 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
1.8 mi away
Hotel & Resort Palermo
Hotel & Resort Palermo
#10 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
320 reviews
1.6 mi away
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
#3 of 4 in Playa Marsella
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
#1 of 4 in Playa Marsella
423 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Alcazar
Hotel Alcazar
#11 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
171 reviews
0.8 mi away
El Jardin Hotel
El Jardin Hotel
#8 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Del Soul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Del Soul

Property: Casa Del Soul
Address: Pacific Marlin N 34, San Juan del Sur 99513, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 67 Speciality Lodging in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Del Soul is an oceanfront, luxury 4,000 sq. ft. home. It is situated on Nacascolo Bay, 5 minutes from San Juan Del Sur. It has a large outdoor deck surrounding a 4 by 9 meter swimming pool. The big balcony off the 2nd floor bedrooms give it a commanding view of the ocean and the tropical forest. Cable TV, DVD, ipod music systems, refrigerator, coffee makers make your room very comfortable. A full breakfast is included. We give cell phones to our guests and I help you do anything you want to in Nicaragua. Transportation,tours,volcanos,surfing,fishing,shopping, REAL ESTATE, ATV's,zipline,horseback riding,etc... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Casa Del Soul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Soul Hotel San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing