We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst dining experience of my life”

Osteria di Casa Chianti
Ranked #1 of 58 Restaurants in Certaldo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$38
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, View, Child-friendly, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Worst dining experience of my life”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

This is a serious contender for the worst dining experience of my life. A place filled with mostly german tourists sweating under the unaviodable sun umbrellas which are so important at 9 o'clock in the evening to prevent you from seeing the wonderful star filled tuscan sky, ignorant service, disgusting food....

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Alexander A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
casachianti, Proprietario at Osteria di Casa Chianti, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Worst customer of my career.
It took me about 1 minute to understand your approach. You were annoyed and disgusted when I told you it was not possible to change your table with the one at the fence, which was too big and, most of all, already reserved.
You arrogantly asked the waitress to change the ice box (which keeps the bottle cold longer) with some real ice (which melted within 3 minutes) and she did exactly what you told her, but the best part of it was when the girl stepped out of the kitchen with the ice bucket and you were checking out what she was doing from the door…it looked a bit creepy.
I don’t know what kind of judgment you can give about the food, you didn’t even eat your meal, but if Tripadvisor’s not enough for you, you should have asked to all those sweaty german tourists (most of them are friends, not even customers) who come back to us every time they’re in Italy, and that’s why they got to know tuscan food and wines perfectly.
I reckon this review was really useful, because it assures me I won’t see you again and that’s why the staff, the german tourists and the beautiful sky of tuscan show their gratitude.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    555
    121
    19
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
2 reviews
“Great Views, Great Service, Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

We ate here two evenings. It loved it and would go back in a heart beat. Favorite dishes were pumpkin stuffed rabbit, a simple pasta with zucchini, carrot, and celery. I also tried the Fiorentina steak. It was a great cut of meat - but don't try to fool yourself, it is a beast - about 3.5 pounds. Also, the waiter had it cooked the traditional way, which is essentially rare. I was prepared for this and enjoyed it, but others might be surprised! Really good views.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bierbeek, Brabant, Belgium
Level Contributor
55 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very fine restaurant with friendly service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013 via mobile

Been here twice, food was very nice, different then in mostother places but excellent taste. Service was friendly and one of the girls was perfect in english. Absolutely recommended. I would make reservations because it gets quite busy and the outside places are limited. It would als be nice to have a little more choice for children. They do not serve pizza but a small one for the kids would be an advantage.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

Well prepared Tuscan dishes served admirably by a knowledgeable waitstaff. The food is some of the best we tasted in Tuscany. Order anything with truffles for a genuine treat! Highly recommended!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ashokanguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Food cooked and served with passion!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

This was by far the best restaurant we were at in our stay in Tuscany. Their passion and love to the food made the meal and evening an excellent experience. The owner gave us directions to nearby wineries and olive oil production. Try dishes with truffles!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CyclingPig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Osteria di Casa Chianti also viewed

Certaldo, Province of Florence
Certaldo, Province of Florence
 
Certaldo, Province of Florence
San Casciano in Val di Pesa, Province of Florence
 
Fiesole, Province of Florence
Certaldo, Province of Florence
 

Been to Osteria di Casa Chianti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing