We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bellisimo”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Albergo Il Castello
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Certaldo
Certificate of Excellence
Temecula, California
Level Contributor
261 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Bellisimo”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

It’s a lovely quiet historic hotel with very simple decor and a fantastic modern bathroom. Not huge, but it had a nice rain shower and it appeared to be very new remodeled. Just steps away from the funicolor, it was very easy to get to. I also loved the piano bar below as the music drifted up to our room. The breakfast was also simple and had lovely views of the Tuscan hillside. The only downside is that the A/C could have been a little bit better since the room never completely cooled down to due to the heat and the humidity.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rkashmere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    32
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
35
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sierra Madre, California
Level Contributor
301 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Certaldo is an amazing hill town to experience. From friend's recommendations, we stayed 5 nights at Albergo Il Castello. I am trying to find the best words to describe this beautiful hotel. It is what we dream of when we are back home. The views from the room at sunset are mythical across the valley. In the distance you can see the towers of San Gimignano and below the church and main square. The hotel is step back in time. The paintings and furnishings are subtle but rich. From what I know of woodworking and antiques, many of the pieces in hotel are from the 17-1800's. The fireplace in the breakfast room, the tables outside to watch the sunset, and the bar are beautiful. The ride on the little tram is fun, but also just try and walk to the lower town. Alfredo is a wonderful host. I had some car problems and he solved them. He made us restaurtant reservations and even helped us with the GPS. Then I lost the car keys. Not good. Alfredo got on the phone and worked to get a solution when my wife found my keys! So everything ended well. I hope we will be fortunate to visit this awesome place again.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the lower town below and the sunset
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynndds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Alfredo is so nice and welcoming . It is a huge castle with a huge space .. very otentic. Alfredo has a good tips which make our stay the best we could ever imagine . With no doubt this is the only place to be.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ifat_Israel_2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

I love staying here at Il Castello! The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. The owner can speak English, Italian, German, french, Swiss,and even Portuguese. The location and scenery is truly indescribable. The castle has a very cozy and intimate feel, i highly recommend staying here if you come to Italy.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas84H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Lovely little hotel well situated within walking distance of small bars and a few restaurants. There is free parking a short walk away and you can bring your car up to the hotel to drop bags off but must park in the car park. The car park/hotel are quite difficult to find at first, so it's wise to try to plan your route and figure out where the car park is. We ended up in the New Town at the bottom of the hill, trying to find our way up to the Old Town but one we found the hotel (by foot) the lady on reception gave us a map and explained the route to take with the car.

The rooms were comfortable, although our bathroom was a little dated. We heard from other guests that they are undertaking refurbishments to the rooms, although it will be gradual. So unfortunately we had one of the rooms in need of a little TLC.

Breakfast was included and there was bread and meat on offer, along with cereals, cakes and the usual items.

Would recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sister_elizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

We stayed two nights in Certaldo while attending Guiseppina's Cucina cooking class, and wanted to stay somewhere authentic in the old town. Albergo Il Castello is located just 20metres from the top of the funicular access to the old town. The owner was most helpful and friendly even driving us to the station when we left. The room was very comfortable, and nothing like opening the shutters to see the old town below. All rooms are on the first floor and as with most authentic
accommodation accessed via stairs, (again the owner helped with the cases). Beds were very comfortable and the town so peaceful, woke up to the sound of birds singing.
Breakfast was included and was an extensive continental buffet, good coffee and tea. We sat out on the outdoor terrace, with a view over Tuscany to San Gimignano, amazing!
Free wifi throughout and it worked well.
If we planned the trip again would have stayed another couple of nights and visited Sienna and Florence from here, both easily reached by train.
Certaldo was the highlight of our trip to Italy.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

Went there for one night and ended up staying two nights. Alfredo runs a great place. We were guests at a jazz concert that was held in hotel and at a rehearsal that was held in an enoteca up the street.

Nice place, great view. Very friendly

Only complaint was no screens in bedroom windows (as in 99 % of Italian hotels) and mosquitoes were a nuisance.

I would go there again.

Room Tip: one with view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daddiov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Certaldo
0.5 mi away
Hotel Certaldo
Hotel Certaldo
#1 of 5 in Certaldo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
0.8 mi away
Latini Hotel
Latini Hotel
#4 of 5 in Certaldo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
1.4 mi away
Podere Benintendi
Podere Benintendi
#2 of 5 in Certaldo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Casagrande
Hotel Villa Casagrande
#2 of 6 in Figline e Incisa Valdarno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
#1 of 1 in Ulignano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
0.1 mi away
Osteria del Vicario
Osteria del Vicario
#4 of 16 in Certaldo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Il Castello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Il Castello

Property: Albergo Il Castello
Address: Via della Rena 6, 50052, Certaldo, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Certaldo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Certaldo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Albergo Il Castello 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This small family run hotel is situated in the historic centre of Certaldo, one of the most beautiful and well preserved old towns in Tuscany. It offers the comforts of a three star hotel and its location in one of the ancient residential palaces makes a stay turn into a relaxed time travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Albergo Il Castello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing