We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Day tour with Giacomo” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ghibellina Tours

Ghibellina Tours
Ranked #1 of 4 Tours in Certaldo
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Ghibellina Tours is a family run business. We're specialized in private organic food and wine tours. Giacomo and Fabio are two young yet knowledgeable driving guides fluent in English, Spanish and French. We can arrange pick up at almost any location in Tuscany.
Wodonga, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Day tour with Giacomo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2012

It was recommended to me by a friend to do a day tour with Giacomo whilst staying in Florence, and what a great recommendation it was. Giacomo was very organised with his communication and the planning of the tour a month or so before our visit, and on the day was at our hotel right on time. On the day we visited a number of different places in the Chianti region which had been planned with Giacomo previously. It was great to spend the day with someone so passionate and knowledgable about the area, and throw in a sensational lunch and the day was complete! Thanks Giacomo for one of the highlight days of my visit to Italy.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Norway
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A perfect way to see Chianti while tasting a little wine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

This were a perfect day for us. Very professional guide with an excellent knowledge of the geography and history of the area.

Since my girlfriend had a broken foot, we weren't quite sure what we could or couldn't do before we booked the tour.
On short notice, Ghibellina Tours recommended a nice 4hrs trip for us which would include a winery, castle and the city of Castellina.
After the first visit to a winery we asked if we could continue with a couple of more wineries. The guide took a few phone calls and fixed a tasting on a couple of more wineries which matched our criteria.

All together a recommended tour were the guide adapted himself in order to give us the perfect day.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Forland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
49 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best Tour in Tuscany”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

This is a wonderful tour company and their luxurious and air conditioned Mercedes van will customize the perfect tour through Tuscany. We had a great guide Giocamo who knew all the out of the way special places that will make your trip to the Tuscan region fabulous.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank DiscerningTraveler66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naperville, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Experience Tuscan Village and Wine Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

My husband and I spent two weeks exploring various parts of Italy. The entire trip was wonderful but one of the most memorable and pleasant days of our trip was the day spent with Giacomo exploring the Tuscan countryside. Giacomo picked us up at our hotel in Florence and drove us to two walled villages in Tuscany. We visited two wineries and had lunch at a local restaurant where were happy to try dishes recommended by Giacamo as truly reflective of the Tuscan cuisine. Giacomo's love and knowledge of his native countryside were reflected in his informative descriptions and explanations of the things we were experiencing and seeing. We were truly impressed with his knowledge of wines and the process of production. We highly recommend using Giacomo for your next visit to the Tuscan countryside.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank SueMorganGoldstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
258 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“The Real Tuscany”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

Wanting to learn more about Tuscan food and agriculture, I sought Giacomo's assistance. I had previously been impressed by his knowledge and enthusiasm for organic and local foods, and he more than fulfilled my expectations. He designed a tour especially for me that included a visit to a goat farm and chance to assist in production, followed by the opportunity to taste 9 cheeses and discuss the process for making each with the master cheese maker. The rest of the day was equally good. We visited and talked with owners of a fine organic winery, dined on some of the best homemade pasta (think truffles and zucchini blossoms for starters) in a beautiful setting, and still managed a lovely stop at a farm producing flavored olive oils in their own mill. What made this tour great was that I learned so much about the production of delicious food from people who clearly care about achieving the highest quality. I highly recommend this trip with Giacomo. Not only does he have great connections, he enhanced our experience with his own wealth of knowledge.

In addition, he speaks English fluently and is a skillful, careful driver. Whatever your interest, I feel confident he will make your day enjoyable.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ghibellina Tours also viewed

Certaldo, Province of Florence
Certaldo, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Ghibellina Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing