We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magical eco-lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Il Paluffo - Main House B&B
Ranked #1 of 17 Certaldo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
London
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Magical eco-lodge”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

How do you choose a rural boutique hotel in Tuscany when they are all so beautiful? I spent hours browsing and comparing…. in the end, we chose Paluffo, because of its ecological ethos; in particular, we were curious to try the bio-pool… and the result was absolutely awesome , as the other 5 star reviewers attest. We just wished we had more time! Liana recommended a fabulous restaurant, too, the Osteria Casa Chianti, where we had an excellent meal. Our weekend was a total success.

We had the Liberty room with the round bath ( not so practical really, but fun to see). There is an honesty bar in the lounge , from where you can pick up a bottle of local wine or micro-brewery beer and enjoy the dusk falling over the Tuscan Hills…. Bliss! Bring your own crisps, though!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Syrianoloukoumi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    18
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
49
98
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

My wife and I recently spent two weeks covering most of Italy from Rome all the way up to Venice. Most people would thinks the historic sights of Rome or the uniqueness of Venice would be out favorites, but we both easily agree our favorite part of the trip BY FAR was our stay at Il Paluffo.

First, getting their was an amazing (and quite easy) adventure in itself. We took the quick bus to Siena and then rented a car and drove to the B&B. The drive was extremely easy and went through a number of amazing towns including San Gimignano. One we got to Il Paluffo we were amazed with its beauty and authenticity. Unlike most hotels, the pictures online do not do this place justice. The buildings have a great sense of history yet still include those modern amenities we all need. The grounds were just as amazing with a very unique natural pools and great walking path through the vineyards and olive trees.

The accommodations were beyond stellar, but what this place the best was its amazing staff. Federica was there for us from the second we arrived to the second we departed. I could go on and on with all of the amazing things she did for us throughout our short stay. She arranged dinner reservations at the amazing La Sosta on a Monday night (which is difficult considering everything is closed), planned 2 private winery tours and tastings at local wineries with an amazing lunch inside a castle, gave us great suggestions for other tours and sights in Chianti, and coordinated our favorite part, a private cooking class with Chef Wilma at the B&B. It was honestly like having our own personal assistant, and we were so thankful for everything she did for us!

Quick note on the accommodations, we stayed in the "yellow room" and it was PERFECT for two people. It is a part of the B&B so has a large living room area to share, and then this room has its own private sitting room great to keep luggage and everything in. The room is a great size and the bathroom is completely updated with modern fixtures. It was just as nice as any expensive hotel in the country and had the most amazing views of the Tuscany countryside.

In summary, when we plan our next trip back to Italy we have already decided we will ONLY stay at Il Paluffo. You cannot beat the amazing service and accommodations for such a reasonable price. And being so close to Florence, Siena, Chianti, and the coast you can easily use this as a home base for your adventures!

THANK YOU FREDERICA AND LIANA! We cannot wait to come back soon! And this time with the new addition to the family!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bburesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abergavenny
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Spent a wonderful 2 days here. Took part in a couple of great activities (pasta making and wine tasting) which were perfect. The hotel isn't 'cheap' but it shouldn't be, it was just what we were looking for in Tuscany, great views and genuine, friendly people plus fantastic food & drink. Highly recommended.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank G and B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagle River, Alaska
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 17 May 2014

I have never stayed anywhere that was so magical and wonderful. It was the perfect place (our family of four all agreed) on vacation. The only downside is we stayed two days, and wished it was two weeks (ok...months) Everything was beyond words from the kindness and friendliness of the staff and owners, to the decor of the rooms, the spectacular setting and view..and the frogs croaking by the lily pads was icing on the cake. I was totally in awe of this wonderful place, and would recommend it to anyone ( and everyone) who wants the most wonderful, relaxing stay that is beyond their expectations.

Room Tip: I'm sure ANY room is a good room. Everything is first class, beautifully decorated, clean. I ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stardusty001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schwarzach, Austria
1 review
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Our stay was wonderful in that Hotel. The stuff was very friendly and we felt welcomed.
We were in the yellow room and loved it. The swimmingpool is nature pure.
Also it is very close to Florence and other sightseeings.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gabriela_1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monza, Italy
1 review
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Last month my girlfriend had a wonderful weekend at Il Paluffo. The atmosphere and the energy in their idyllic setting is wonderful. The staff genuinely was interested in us, who we were, where we came from, and why we were there. I highly recommend it!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

My fiancee and I recently stayed at Il Paluffo during a trip to plan our upcoming wedding at the nearby Tenuta di Sticciano. We wanted a quiet, relaxing base, and one which was close to our wedding venue. Il Paluffo fulfilled everything that we wanted. We chose the Blue room, which is decorated in a classic Tuscan style and has a vast blue bathroom with a fantastic shower.
What sets Il Paluffo apart is their wonderful service. Prior to our stay we were sent several emails to clarify our arrival details, and offer services for our stay. Having followed the useful driving instructions (using a car to get here is essential) we arrived and were greeted by Federica, the Hospitality manager. She gave us a tour of the building and gave us a mini iPad with lots of useful information. Throughout our stay, Federica was able to give lots of help, and (despite her claims otherwise) her English was excellent!
There was a nice selection of wine available to buy, although we noted that one particular chianti was 'fizzy' when we tried it (twice!)- however, Federica kindly refunded us for these.
The room was comfortable, homely and very quiet and allowed us a chance to catch up on some well needed sleep.
My overall mark would probably be 4.5/5- with only breakfast being a slight let down. The choice is slightly limited, and maybe something to go with the freshly cooked eggs would be nice?
Overall though, it was a lovely stay and we plan to stay again immediately prior to our wedding.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oli A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Certaldo
4.7 mi away
Hotel Certaldo
Hotel Certaldo
#1 of 5 in Certaldo
358 reviews
9.1 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
515 reviews
4.2 mi away
Albergo Il Castello
Albergo Il Castello
#3 of 5 in Certaldo
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Villa Le Barone
Villa Le Barone
#1 of 5 in Panzano in Chianti
449 reviews
13.4 mi away
Il Borgo di Vescine - Relais del Chianti
Il Borgo di Vescine - Relais del...
#5 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
269 reviews
6.1 mi away
Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica
Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica
#1 of 5 in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Paluffo - Main House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Paluffo - Main House B&B

Property: Il Paluffo - Main House B&B
Address: Via Citerna, 144, 50052, Certaldo, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Certaldo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Certaldo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic building has been restored, conserving its original structure and design. Paluffo features four independent apartments, each of them with a private garden – Torre, Stillo, Forno and Frantoio -, and the owner’s house, with four rooms available for B&B. The housing estate includes the historical mill, completed with a millstone and a press for the pressing of olives, a fermentation room used in the past for the production of wine, a wine cellar dug in the tufa rock, a bread oven and two wells. The fermentation room and the wine cellar are now at the disposal of guests as common spaces, and can be used for meetings and courses.. A laundry area is also available to guests. Paluffo is surrounded by six hectares of land on which olive trees and grape vines are cultivated. Guests can taste and buy the extra virgin olive oil produced in the estate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Il Paluffo - Main House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing