We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic and charming - a joyful evening!”
Review of Osteria La Saletta

Osteria La Saletta
Ranked #8 of 57 Restaurants in Certaldo
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 3 August 2016 via mobile

This restaurant adjoins one of the best pasticceria in Certaldo. If only we had found it sooner - we would have come back for much more!

The menu is bought to life by the owner, who details every entry on this diverse menu: from local meats to giant prawns and lovingly prepared fresh pasta - it has something for everyone, locals and tourists alike.

Whatever you do, save room for dessert - the plated semifreddo are to die for!

By the way, the coffee shop was our regular haunt and freshly baked rice tarts are amazing!

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank Tasteblaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (681)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 76 of 681 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2016 via mobile

Our last night in Tuscany and we were recommended this place by the Hotel Certaldo staff.
The wine selection, all from Tuscany, was exceptional.
The food was excellent with a Tuscan menu.
The owner/waiter was trying hard , with bad english, to get us to try more traditional Tuscan dishes and we did and they were excellent .

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Ken T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 July 2016

Restaurant has good service, but the service is very poor. Waiter has an unfriendly attitude. they forgot my order, but offered nothing to make up for their mistake. would not go back again.

Date of visit: July 2016
1  Thank Ray T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 July 2016

La Saletta is a true authentic Tuscan restaurant. We got married in Certaldo 2 years ago & stumbled on this restaurant by accident; We immediately fell in love thanks to the great signature dishes (try the bruschetta's with liver, the onion soup (Certaldo is famous for its onions!), the rabbit stew, tonno del chianti,... - try everything!)
The owner really adds to the atmosphere. We could immediately tell that he is really passionate about true Italian food & wines.
Maybe a bit more expensive, but high quality food made with love.
Never ever disappoints!

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lore_0U
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 July 2016

We were staying at a villa about 9Km from Certaldo. The Villa owner suggested this restaurant. The restaurant is owned by an elderly man and the chef is his mother!

The restaurant is small and probably has 10 tables. Service was elegant and the food we had was wonderfully prepared.

All four of us enjoyed the meal and visited the restaurant another time.

A visit to this restaurant will be a memorable experience. Since it is only a short walk from the Certaldo train station, it makes for a great end to a visit to Florence.

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Osteria La Saletta also viewed

Certaldo, Province of Florence
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
 
Certaldo, Province of Florence
Certaldo, Province of Florence
 

Been to Osteria La Saletta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.